Accessibility statement

Academic Ethics Compliance Committee

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference

Committee Remit:

The University's Academic Ethics and Compliance Committee (AECC) is a sub-committee of Senate.

The AECC has oversight of the ethics policy and governance relating to academic activity, including but going beyond research ethics. The AECC also oversees research-related compliance issues such as clinical trials and sponsorship.

The AECC maintains oversight of the departmental/subject level ethics committees and provides a first point of referral for complex issues raised by the latter. It also considers ethical issues arising in relation to the activities of professional services.

Committee function:

These are the AECC agreed Terms of Reference:

  1. To make decisions on ethical issues raised by local committees as appropriate or pass these on to the Ethics Frameworks and Governance Committee where necessary (such as in the case of high risk research or risks to the university reputation), in line with an agreed framework of principles. 
  2. To receive, consider and approve annual reports from local committees and to ensure that matters raised are resolved. 
  3. To have oversight of training provision for staff in relation to ethics and research related compliance and in particular members of local committees. 
  4. To have oversight of the processes, operation and management of local committees and to review and audit as required, and to consider ethical issues that arise in relation to the activities of professional services. 
  5. To have ownership of the Code of Practice on Ethics and other related policies (such as clinical trials) and to recommend changes as required.
  6. To receive, consider and approve reports from the Clinical Trials and Sponsorship Committee and to ensure that matters raised are resolved.
  7. To report to Senate and to provide an annual report on ethical and compliance issues that have arisen to teaching (UTC), research (URC) and partnership (UPEC) committees as appropriate.
  8. To undertake reviews where a breach of the Code of Practice on Ethics has been identified or concerns have been raised. 
  9. To commission reports and other work, such as guidance on strengthening and reviewing the ethical framework as required.

Reports to:

Senate, as a sub-committee of it, through:

  1. an executive summary of the Minutes of each of its meetings, reported to the next scheduled meeting of Senate.
  2. an annual report to the Ethics Framework and Governance Committee, alongside reports on relevant issues to University Teaching Committee, University Research Committee and University Partnerships and Enterprise Committee.
  3. ad hoc reports requiring or meriting escalation to EFGC or to the appropriate Pro-Vice-Chancellor as appropriate.


Approved by Senate  June 2019


Committee membership


  •  Dr Keith Allen, Philosophy  (Chair)

Academic membership

Three members, one from each Faculty, currently on a subject level/departmental Ethics Committee, nominated by the Dean 

  • Dr Will Brackenbury, Deputy Chair, Biology Ethics Committee
  • Dr Anna Bramwell-Dicks, Chair, TFTI Ethics Committee
  • Professor Bryony Beresford, Chair, SPSW Ethics Committee


Three members, one from each Faculty, with ethics experience, nominated by the Dean

  • Professor Gareth Gaskell, Psychology and Chair, YnIC Ethics Committee
  • Professor Jon Finch, Archaeology and Deputy Director, Humanities Research Centre
  • Dr Anna Einarsdottir, Management

No two academic members should be from the same department. 


Lay members

  •  Two members TBC


Student representation 

  • One undergraduate and one postgraduate representative  TBC


In attendance 

  • Ms Jennifer Gilmartin  Acting Director of Research & Enterprise and Head of Research Services and Associate Director  (ex officio)
  • Ms Amanda Selvaratnam   Head of Enterprise Services and Associate Director of Research & Enterprise (ex officio) 
  • Mr Richard Fuller  Assistant Director of IT (ex officio)
  • Dr Duncan Jackson, Head of Academic Practice and PGCAP Programme Director (Academic Support Office)
  • Ms Jen Mayne  Research Strategy and Policy Officer (Secretary)


Meeting Dates

Frequency of Meetings

Not less than 4 occasions each calendar year. Committee business may be considered by correspondence and in order to make written resolutions where theeris and urgent need to do so.


  • Friday 6 November 2020, 10-11:30am, by Zoom
  • Friday 26 February 2021, 9.30-11am by Zoom
  • Tuesday 11 May 2021, 2-4pm By Zoom
  • Tuesday 17 August 2021, 2-3.30pm pm By Zoom

Departmental Ethics Committees

Departmental and Subject Ethics Committees

Information on requirements for membership and terms of reference can be found in the Ethics Code of Practice.

  • Animal Welfare and Ethical Rview Body

Chair: Dr Marika Kullberg

  • Archaeology

Chair: Dr James Taylor

  • Arts and Humanities - comprising Archaeology, English, History of Art, History, Music and Philosophy

Chair: Professor Jonathan Finch

Chair: Professor Dawn Coverley

Chair: Professor Tony Royle

  • Education

Chair: Professor Carole Torgerson

Chair: Dr Colin McLean

Chair: Professor Stephen Holland

  • HYMS

Chair: Professor Thozhuzat Sathyapalan

  • Languages and Linguistics

Chair: Eytan Zweig

  • Physical Sciences - comprising Chemistry, Computer Science, Electronics, Mathematics and Physics

Chair: Dr Kanapathippillai Cumanan

  • Psychology

Chair: Dr Philip Quinlan

  • Social Policy and Social Work

Chair: Professor Bryony Beresford

  • Theatre, Film, Television and Interactive Media

Chair: Professor David Barnett

Chair: Dr Daniel Kaiser