Accessibility statement

Academic Staff

 NameKey research interests

Tim Andrews
Professor
Head of Department

01904 324356
HoD email: psychology-hod@york.ac.uk /
timothy.andrews@york.ac.uk

 

Daniel Baker
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322887
daniel.baker@york.ac.uk

Human visual perception

Nick Barraclough
Senior Lecturer

01904 323141
nick.barraclough@york.ac.uk

Social perception

Heidi Baseler
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322862
heidi.baseler@york.ac.uk

Visual system plasticity, vision loss, hearing loss, peripheral vision

 

Alex Benjamin
Lecturer

01904 324367
alex.benjamin@york.ac.uk

 

Paul Bishop
Professor
Director of Teaching & Learning

01904 322915
paul.bishop@york.ac.uk

 

Mike Burton
Professor

01904 323140
mike.burton@york.ac.uk

Face recognition

Scott Cairney
MRC Fellow
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322863
scott.cairney@york.ac.uk

Sleep, memory, emotion
 

Thomas Davies
Associate Lecturer

01904 322861
thomas.davies@york.ac.uk

 

Angela De Bruin
Lecturer

01904 322868
angela.debruin@york.ac.uk

 
 

Robert Dudley
Professor

01904 32         
rob.dudley@york.ac.uk     

 

Karla Evans
Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)

01904 324601
karla.evans@york.ac.uk

Visual awareness, attention, crossmodal perception, medical image perception, visual episodic memory
 

Melanie Forster
Associate Lecturer

01904 323295
melanie.forster@york.ac.uk

 

Gareth Gaskell
Professor

01904 323187
gareth.gaskell@york.ac.uk

Language, memory, sleep, consolidation
 

Nicoleta Gavrila
Tutor in Psychology

nicoleta.gavrila@york.ac.uk

 

Elena Geangu
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322865
elena.geangu@york.ac.uk

Infancy, emotion, social development

Silvia Gennari
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322877
silvia.gennari@york.ac.uk

Language, cognition, cognitive neuroscience
 

Karisha George
Associate Lecturer

karisha.k.george@york.ac.uk 

 

Silke Göbel
Reader

01904 322872
silke.goebel@york.ac.uk

Numerical cognition

Tom Hartley
Senior Lecturer

01904 322903
tom.hartley@york.ac.uk

Spatial cognition including navigation, memory and scene processing, short-term verbal memory, models of neural representation, functional magnetic resonance imaging

Emma Hayiou-Thomas
Senior Lecturer

01904 324360
emma.hayiou-thomas@york.ac.uk

Language development, literacy, disorders

Lisa Henderson
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)
Deputy Head of Department

01904 324362
lisa-marie.henderson@york.ac.uk

Language learning, sleep, childhood and adolescent development, neurodevelopmental disorders (including autism, dyslexia, developmental language disorder, ADHD)

Amanda Hickey
Associate Lecturer /
PhD Research Student

01904 322909
ajh650@york.ac.uk

 

Hannah Hobson
Lecturer

01904 323142
hannah.hobson@york.ac.uk

 
 

Aidan Horner 
Senior Lecturer

01904 324603
aidan.horner@york.ac.uk

Memory, decision-making

Bailey House
Lecturer

01904 322879
bailey.house@york.ac.uk

 

 

Clara Humpston
Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Mental Health

01904 321042
clara.humpston@york.ac.uk

Phenomenological psychopathology, Cognitive neuropsychiatry, Computational psychiatry, Belief formation, Psychopharmacology, Novel therapies 
 

Becky Jackson
Lecturer

01904 32
rebecca.jackson@york.ac.uk

 

Beth Jefferies
Professor

01904 324368
beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk

Memory, semantic cognition, aphasia

Rob Jenkins
Professor

01904 323144
rob.jenkins@york.ac.uk

 

 

Maria Khan
Tutor in Psychology

maria.khan@york.ac.uk

 

Sven Mattys 
Professor

01904 323145
sven.mattys@york.ac.uk

Language, speech, hearing

Cade McCall 
Lecturer
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322866
cade.mccall@york.ac.uk

Emotion, social interaction, psychophysiology

Fiona McNab
Lecturer

01904 322874
fiona.mcnab@york.ac.uk

Working memory, attention, distraction, cognitive ageing, cognitive training

 

Elizabeth Meins
Professor

01904 324602
elizabeth.meins@york.ac.uk

Mind-mindedness, predicting children's development

Tony Morland
Professor

01904 322860
antony.morland@york.ac.uk

 

Harriet Over 
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322906
harriet.over@york.ac.uk

 

Gavin Phillips
Reader

01904 323174
gavin.phillips@york.ac.uk

 
 

Alex Pike
Lecturer

01904 323578
alex.pike@york.ac.uk

 

David Pitcher
Senior Lecturer

01904 322864
david.pitcher@york.ac.uk

 

Catherine Preston
Lecturer
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322910
catherine.preston@york.ac.uk

 

 

Philip Quinlan
Reader

01904 323135 
philip.quinlan@york.ac.uk

Visual cognition, attention and performance, short-term memory, number processing, computational modelling

Sally Quinn
Lecturer

01904 323655
sally.quinn@york.ac.uk

 

 

Alex Reid
Lecturer

01904 323169

Sleep, learning, memory consolidation

 

Miles Rogish
Associate Lecturer

01904 322878
miles.rogish@york.ac.uk

 

Katie Slocombe
Professor

01904 322905
katie.slocombe@york.ac.uk

Communication, comparative and developmental approaches

Maurice Waddle
Associate Lecturer

01904 323167
mtw508@york.ac.uk

 

Alex Wade
Professor

01904 323171
07427 432364

alex.wade@york.ac.uk