Academic Staff

Some of our teaching is provided by York Neuroimaging Centre, with whom we work closely.

 NameKey research interests
null

Tim Andrews
Professor

01904 324356
timothy.andrews@york.ac.uk

 
Alan_Baddeley_013

Alan Baddeley
Professor

01904 322882
a.baddeley@york.ac.uk

 
Daniel_Baker_009

Daniel Baker
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322887
daniel.baker@york.ac.uk

Human visual perception

Nick Barraclough
Senior Lecturer

01904 323141
nick.barraclough@york.ac.uk

Social perception

Heidi Baseler
Lecturer

01904 322862
heidi.baseler@york.ac.uk

Visual system plasticity, vision loss, hearing loss, peripheral vision

 

Alex Benjamin
Associate Lecturer

01904 324367
alex.benjamin@york.ac.uk

 

Paul Bishop
Professor
Director of Teaching & Learning

01904 322915
paul.bishop@york.ac.uk

 

Mike Burton
Professor
Head of Department

01904 323140
HoD email: psychology-hod@york.ac.uk
mike.burton@york.ac.uk

Face recognition

null

Scott Cairney
MRC Fellow
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322863
scott.cairney@york.ac.uk

Sleep, memory, emotion
Jane_Clarbour_001

Jane Clarbour
Senior Lecturer

01904 323168
jane.clarbour@york.ac.uk

Emotion, wellbeing, forensic

Francina Clayton
Associate Lecturer

01904 323164
francina.clayton@york.ac.uk

 
null

Angela De Bruin
Lecturer

01904 322868
angela.debruin@york.ac.uk

 

Karla Evans
Lecturer

01904 324601
karla.evans@york.ac.uk

Visual awareness, attention, crossmodal perception, medical image perception, visual episodic memory
 null

Melanie Forster
Associate Lecturer

01904 323295
melanie.forster@york.ac.uk

 
G.Gaskell(mgg5)-75w

Gaskell, Gareth
Professor

01904 323187
gareth.gaskell@york.ac.uk

Language, memory, sleep, consolidation

Elena Geangu
Lecturer

01904 322865
elena.geangu@york.ac.uk

Infancy, emotion, social development

Silvia Gennari
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322877
silvia.gennari@york.ac.uk

 
S.Goebel(sg522)-75w

Silke Göbel
Senior Lecturer

01904 322872
silke.goebel@york.ac.uk

Numerical cognition
null

Tom Hartley
Senior Lecturer

01904 322903
tom.hartley@york.ac.uk

Spatial cognition including navigation, memory and scene processing, short-term verbal memory, models of neural representation, functional magnetic resonance imaging

Emma Hayiou-Thomas
Senior Lecturer

01904 324360
emma.hayiou-thomas@york.ac.uk

Language development, literacy, disorders

Lisa Henderson
Senior Lecturer

01904 324362
lisa-marie.henderson@york.ac.uk

Language learning, development, disorders

null

Hannah Hobson
Lecturer

01904 323142
hannah.hobson@york.ac.uk

 
 

Aidan Horner
Lecturer

01904 324603
aidan.horner@york.ac.uk

Memory, decision-making

Bailey House
Lecturer

01904 322879
bailey.house@york.ac.uk

 

Mark Hymers
Lecturer

01904 322954
mark.hymers@ynic.york.ac.uk

 

B.Jefferies(ej514)-75w

Beth Jefferies
Professor

01904 324368
beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk

Memory, semantic cognition, aphasia

Rob Jenkins
Reader

01904 323144
rob.jenkins@york.ac.uk

 

null

Daniel Kaiser
Lecturer

01904 323167
daniel.kaiser@york.ac.uk

 
null

Freya Lygo-Frett
Associate Lecturer

01904 322911
freya.lygo-frett@york.ac.uk

 

Asifa Majid
Professor

01904 323165
asifa.majid@york.ac.uk

Language, cross-cultural cognition

Sven Mattys
Professor

01904 323145
sven.mattys@york.ac.uk

Language, speech, hearing

Cade McCall
Lecturer
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322866
cade.mccall@york.ac.uk

Emotion, social interaction, psychophysiology

Cynthia McDougall
Professor

01904 322918
cynthia.mcdougall@york.ac.uk

Criminal behaviour: assessment and change

Fiona McNab
Lecturer

01904 322874
fiona.mcnab@york.ac.uk

Working memory, attention, distraction, cognitive ageing, cognitive training

 

Elizabeth Meins
Professor

01904 324602
elizabeth.meins@york.ac.uk

Mind-mindedness, predicting children's development
Tony_Morland_013

Tony Morland
Professor
Director, YNiC

01904 322860
antony.morland@york.ac.uk

 
Harriet_Over_004

Harriet Over 
Senior Lecturer
(Associate Professor)

01904 322906
harriet.over@york.ac.uk

 
 null

Stephanie Petty
Associate Lecturer

01904 323295
stephanie.petty@york.ac.uk

 
G.Phillips(gdp1)-75w

Gavin Phillips
Reader

01904 323174
gavin.phillips@york.ac.uk

 

David Pitcher
Lecturer

01904 322864
david.pitcher@york.ac.uk

 

Catherine Preston
Lecturer
(Assistant Professor)

01904 322910
catherine.preston@york.ac.uk

 

 

Philip Quinlan
Reader

01904 323135 
philip.quinlan@york.ac.uk

Visual cognition, attention and performance, short-term memory, number processing, computational modelling

Sally Quinn
Lecturer

01904 323655
sally.quinn@york.ac.uk

 

 

Alex Reid
Associate Lecturer

01904 323169

Sleep, learning, memory consolidation

 

Miles Rogish
Associate Lecturer

01904 322878
miles.rogish@york.ac.uk

 
75w

Shirley-Ann Rueschemeyer
Reader
(Associate Professor)

01904 322885 
shirley-ann.rueschemeyer@york.ac.uk

 
K.Slocombe(ks553)-75w

Katie Slocombe
Professor

01904 322905
katie.slocombe@york.ac.uk

Communication, comparative and developmental approaches

Jonathan Smallwood
Professor

01904 324651
jonny.smallwood@york.ac.uk

Mind-wandering, semantic and episodic memory, attention, executive control, creativity
 

Carla Startin
Associate Lecturer

01904 322911
carla.startin@york.ac.uk

 
Paul_Summers_012

Paul Summers
Associate Lecturer

01904 322935
paul.summers@york.ac.uk

 

Steven_Tipper_015

Steven Tipper 
Professor

01904 323162
steven.tipper@york.ac.uk

Attention, action, preference, social

Maurice Waddle
Associate Lecturer

01904 323167
mtw508@york.ac.uk

 

Alex_Wade_009

Alex Wade
Professor

01904 323171
07427 432364

alex.wade@york.ac.uk

 
null

Andy Young
Professor

01904 323159
andy.young@york.ac.uk