Skip to content

Staff and students rewarded for outstanding achievements

Posted on 13 May 2011

The University of York has announced the winners of a new award scheme for staff and students.

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Outstanding Achievement aim to recognise and reward staff and students who are making a particularly significant contribution towards key elements the University Plan.

The judging panel had a difficult task in deciding the winners from a total of 68 extremely high calibre entries, who deserve every congratulation for their outstanding achievements

Professor Brian Cantor, Vice-Chancellor

The awards are divided into categories corresponding to four themes of the University Plan – Excellence, Internationalisation, Inclusivity and Sustainability. The Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Cantor is due to present the awards to the gold award winners at a meeting of University Court today.

A total of 68 groups or individuals were nominated and the gold and silver award winners were chosen by a panel chaired by Professor Cantor and including members of the University's Senior Management Group.

Professor Cantor said: "These new awards recognise members of the University who are making an outstanding contribution towards achieving the University Plan's principal themes of internationalisation, excellence, inclusivity and sustainability. The judging panel had a difficult task in deciding the winners from a total of 68 extremely high calibre entries, who deserve every congratulation for their outstanding achievements."

Notes to editors:

Gold award winners

  • Excellence:

    CNAP Artemisia Research team – For their successful and highly professional contribution to the global sustainability and delivery of artemisinin supplies for treatment of malaria.

    Jon Meacock – As Project Director for Heslington East, Jon Meacock played a key role in the planning and delivery of the most significant physical development of the University since its origins in the 1960s.

    Professor Howard Wilson – For his seminal contributions to fusion research and his outstanding leadership and innovation in creating the York Plasma Institute.

    Ellen Roberts – Ellen successfully champions excellence in an online teaching and learning environment.

    Professor Simon Duckett and Professor Gary Green – For their achievement in inventing a new method with the potential to revolutionise medical diagnostic imaging that has led to  an investment of £7M in facilities.

    University Challenge Team 2010-11 – In reaching the final of the competition, Andrew Clemo, Simon Donnelly, Ben Keane, and Chris Caudwell demonstrated the breadth of scholarship among students at York and advanced the reputation and profile of the University as a whole.

  • Internationalisation:

    Professor Sultan Barakat – In recognition of his outstanding international work on post-conflict societies and their recovery.

  • Inclusivity:

    Centre for Lifelong Learning – For over 25 years, the Centre for Lifelong Learning's collective tutor pool has been committed to offering a student-focused approach to open-access learning, making the University accessible to all and a recognised provider of high-quality education to the local community.

    Athena SWAN team of the Department of Chemistry – For major contributions to inclusivity and gender equality in Science (and for masterminding the Athena-Swan Gold Award to Chemistry).

    Kate Harper and the Kids College Team – University student and staff volunteers have engaged over 400 children in Tang Hall (13 per cent of whom are from the traveller community) in Kids College activities.

    Dr John Schofield and Rachel Kiddey – for using archaeology as an approach to contemporary homelessness.

    Music Education Group – MEG provides musical assistance in the local community at the same time as giving students fantastic experience working in community music and music education.

  • Sustainability:

    Green Chemistry Centre of Excellence
    – For international leadership in green and sustainable chemistry in research, education and industrial application.

    Gordon Eastham and Estates – for enhancing St Nicholas's Field in Tang Hall as a community space that is enjoyable and accessible to local residents of all ages.

    Callum Roberts and the Marine Research Group – For developing the scientific case for the world's first network of high seas marine protected areas.

    James College Junior Common Room – The Student Switch Off campaign in James College has achieved a reduction in the college’s energy use of almost 14 per cent over the first two terms this academic year. 

Contact details

David Garner
Senior Press Officer

Tel: +44 (0)1904 322153

Contact details

Caron Lett
Press Officer

Keep up to date

 Subscribe to news feeds

 Follow us on Twitter