Skip to content Accessibility statement

Trust hands scholarships to talented students

Posted on 2 September 2009

A dozen students from Yorkshire and the Humber who are starting courses at some of the UK’s top universities this autumn have won £1,000 scholarships to help with their studies from a York-based charity, The Holbeck Charitable Trust.

Through these scholarships, the Trust, which supports a range of charitable activities, aims to help bright and motivated young people to realise their aspirations.

Working in partnership with Excellence Hub for Yorkshire and Humber – a Government-funded programme, delivered by the universities of York, Sheffield, Leeds and Hull – the charity awarded 12 one-off scholarships. A further three candidates received reserve scholarships of £250.

Nearly 700 young people living in the region applied for the scholarships, which are not intended to fund any particular aspect of the student’s university life. They are a reward for hard work and academic excellence, sometimes in the face of adversity.

One of the charity’s trustees, Francesca Horsfield, will present the awards to the successful candidates at a ceremony hosted by the University of York at the King’s Manor in York today. The guest speaker will be the Director of the National Science Learning Centre, Professor John Holman.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor at York, Professor Trevor Sheldon, said: “The University of York is committed to supporting gifted and talented children facing personal or social hurdles, and we congratulate The Holbeck Charitable Trust for establishing these scholarships. The recipients have achieved exceptional results at A-level and thoroughly deserve their awards.”

The successful candidates are:

Alexander Albiston, Wickersley College, Rotherham (Modern Languages, Cambridge)
Kelly Bligh, Lawnswood Sixth Form, Leeds (Law, Leeds)
Faye Angela Clancy, Park Lane College, Leeds (Psychology, York)
Eleanor Dickinson, St Mary's, Ilkley (English, Cambridge)
Zoe Hirst King Edward VII Sheffield (Orthoptics, Sheffield)
Manpreet Kaur, Thornton Grammar School, Bradford (Dentistry, Newcastle)
Scott Lovell, Barnsley College (Chemistry, Sheffield)
Amaad Mahmood, Greenhead College, Huddersfield (Theology, Oxford)
Lewis Millward, Silverdale Secondary School, Sheffield (Physics, Oxford)
Bethany Parker, St Mary's RC Comprehensive, Menston, Leeds (Psychology, Manchester)
Jodie-Marie Toone, York College (Sociology, York)
Daisy Wilde, North Halifax Grammar, Halifax (Politics, Sheffield).

The reserve scholarship winners are:

Nicola Sugden, Vermuyden School Goole (History/Politics, Oxford)
Tamsin Connor, Crossley Heath Grammar, Halifax (Psychology, Sheffield)
Andrew Miles, Farnley Park,Leeds (European Politics, Leeds).


Notes to editors:

Contact details

Nik Miller

Tel: +44 (0)1904 433659

Keep up to date

 Subscribe to news feeds

 Follow us on Twitter