Latest news from Music

Third-year PhD music student wins TaPRA Essay Prize

Posted on Monday 16 July 2018

York PhD music student has won a prize for her essay about a Franz Schreker opera.

Mercury nominees Roller Trio release new music

Posted on Monday 2 July 2018

PhD composition students James Mainwaring and Ben Eyes have collaborated on the band’s third studio album 'New Devices', released on Edition Records on 22 June 2018.

Neil Sorrell’s setting of the Gayatri Mantra

Posted on Wednesday 27 June 2018

Music Honorary Fellow at York has composed a piece of music for concert in London.

Music professor identifies piece of music in 17th-century painting

Posted on Tuesday 26 June 2018

York's Jonathan Wainwright has identified a piece of rare music by composer Robert Ramsey.

Measuring the concert experience

Posted on Thursday 21 June 2018

Dr Hauke Egermann and collaborators secure 1,300,000 EUR grant as part of an international research project "Experimental Concert Research" examining what constitutes a classical concert.

Ann Cleare premieres on magnetic fields

Posted on Thursday 14 June 2018

New version of York academic’s work will receive a world premiere in London on Thursday 14 June at Goldsmith University’s Great Hall.

Tim Wright joins forces with Can frontman

Posted on Friday 11 May 2018

Associate lecturer will join 1970s krautrock legend on stage.

Thomas Simaku lectures across Europe

Posted on Wednesday 9 May 2018

Department Reader gives lectures and masterclasses in Vienna and Prague.

Ann Cleare's Israeli premiere

Posted on Tuesday 8 May 2018

Associate Lecturer's music performed in Tel Aviv.

iKhambi album nominated for two SAMA awards

Posted on Tuesday 24 April 2018

Nduduzo Makhathini’s successful album was partly recorded in York.

Viol Consort open exhibition at Fairfax House

Posted on Thursday 19 April 2018

On 14 April, the Viol Consort played at the opening of the exhibition, The Genius of Grinding Gibbons.

Alumni wins Wolf Durmashkin Composition Award 2018

Posted on Wednesday 11 April 2018

York Music Alumni is awarded second place in the Wolf Durmashkin Composition Award 2018

Radio 3 in Concert features Martin Suckling's Candlebird

Posted on Tuesday 10 April 2018

Suckling performed alongside Mozart and Beethoven

Department of Music to host Music Education Conference in June

Posted on Thursday 29 March 2018

The University of York's Music Department will host their second Music Education Conference and submissions are now open.

Spring Postgraduate Forum Report

Posted on Tuesday 20 March 2018

2018’s Spring forum was held on 14th March in the “Treehouse”, Humanities Research Centre. The range of topics demonstrated the impact and significance of music beyond the department walls.

York music alumni direct portrait concert for Nicola LeFanu

Posted on Monday 19 March 2018

Nicola's music was performed as part of Octandre's 'Way Out East' series

Portrait Concert of Ann Cleare's Music at Miller Theatre, New York

Posted on Friday 2 March 2018

Associate Lecturer making noise across the pond

A week of success for James Cave

Posted on Thursday 8 February 2018

PhD student James Cave enjoys multiple successes with his compositions

Martin Suckling shortlisted in Scottish Awards for New Music 2018

Posted on Tuesday 23 January 2018

Senior lecturer Martin Suckling appears on the shortlist for the Scottish Awards for New Music for the second time. .

Patrick John Jones chosen for new PRS Accelerate scheme

Posted on Tuesday 23 January 2018

The PhD student is among eight composers selected for the new scheme.

News archives