People

Based in the Department of Biology, the Centre for Novel Agricultural Products draws on expertise from the department and across the University.

Contact us

Professor Neil Bruce
Department of Biology
neil.bruce@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328777
Department of Biology, University of York, Wentworth Way, York YO10 5DD

Staff

NameExpertiseContact Details

Professor Ian Bancroft

CNAP Chair of Plant Genomics

  • Genome evolution
  • Food security
  • Industrial biotechnology

+44 (0)1904 328778
ian.bancroft@york.ac.uk

Professor Neil Bruce (Director)

CNAP Director and Chair in Biotechnology

  • Environmental biotechnology
  • Biocatalysis
  • Biorefining

+44 (0)1904 328777
neil.bruce@york.ac.uk 

Professor Katherine Denby

Academic Director of the N8 Agrifood Resilience Programme

  • Plant biology
  • Food security 
  • Agricultural biotechnology

+44 (0)1904 328751 
katherine.denby@york.ac.uk 

Professor Ian Graham FRS

Director of BioYork, and Weston Chair of Biochemical Genetics

  • Plant biology
  • Biochemical genetics
  • Agricultural biotechnology
  • Medicinal crops
  • Synthetic biology

+44 (0)1904 328750 
ian.graham@york.ac.uk

Dr Andrea Harper

  • Plant biology
  • Food security 
  • Agricultural biotechnology
+44 (0)1904 328670 

Dr Benjamin R. Lichman

  • Synthetic biology platforms for natural product production
  • Industrial biocatalysis
  • Enzyme mechanism
  • The formation of metabolic gene clusters 
+44 (0)1904 328690


Professor Luke Mackinder 

  • Carbon fixation in algae and cyanobacteria
  • Systems and synthetic biology 

 +44(0)1904 328984 

Professor Simon McQueen-Mason

CNAP Chair of Materials Biology

  • Lignocellulosic biorefining and biofuels
  • Digestibility of plant biomass
  • Enzymes for plant biomass deconstruction

+44 (0)1904 328775
simon.mcqueenmason@york.ac.uk

Dr Thierry Tonon

CNAP ART Lecturer in Algal Biology

  • Algal physiology and metabolism
  • Algal metabolic pathways and enzymes
  • Biotechnological applications of algae and algal genes
  • Valorisation of seaweed biomass 

+44 (0)1904 328785 

Margaret Cafferky

Administrator

 
  +44 (0)1904 328776 
margaret.cafferky@york.ac.uk 

Julia Crawford

Administrator

  +44 (0)1904 328800 
julia.crawford@york.ac.uk 

Judith Mitchell

Senior Research Administrator

  tel: +44(0) 1904 328752 
email: judith.mitchell@york.ac.uk

Contact us

Professor Neil Bruce
Department of Biology
neil.bruce@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 328777
Department of Biology, University of York, Wentworth Way, York YO10 5DD