2016 News

Tim Stanton image
Rethinking Civil Society: History, Theory, Critique

Posted on Wednesday 14 December 2016

Congratulations to Dr Tim Stanton


Claire Smith image 80x80
Comparative peace building in Asia

Posted on Thursday 1 December 2016

Congratulations to Dr Claire Smith


York International Development Network thumbnail image
York International Development Network

Posted on Monday 28 November 2016

Website launch!


Using sediments and words to unlock the secrets of climate resilience

Posted on Thursday 3 November 2016

Congratulations to Jean and Joao


AHRC logo
Using the arts to explore creative activism and development alternatives

Posted on Thursday 3 November 2016

Successful AHRC research network


Image of reception 80x80
We are one of the UK’s top departments in NSS 2016

Posted on Tuesday 1 November 2016

Recently published NSS results


Chevening logo 80x80
Chevening/ University of York Partnership Award

Posted on Monday 26 September 2016

New Chevening/University of York Partnership Award for students from China


James Rogers image
Wellcome Trust Grant

Posted on Monday 19 September 2016

Congratulations to Dr James Rogers


Louise Haagh image
IAA Fellowship Award

Posted on Monday 19 September 2016

Congratulations to Dr Louise Haagh-Bolton


null
Recent York Politics PhD student wins thesis prize

Posted on Monday 12 September 2016

A recent Politics PhD student at the University of York has won a prestigious prize for his PhD thesis on the politics of climate change.


Image of reception 80x80
Politics Department Prize Winners 2015-16

Posted on Monday 27 June 2016

Congratulations to all the prize winners!


Monica Brito Vieira 80x80
British Academy mid-career Fellowship

Posted on Monday 13 June 2016

Congratulations to Dr Monica Brito-Vieira


Carlos Solar 80x80 image
LASA prize

Posted on Friday 10 June 2016

Congratulations to Carlos Solar


Ignacio Jurado image 80x80
Congratulations to Dr Ignacio Jurado

Posted on Thursday 9 June 2016

ESRC future leaders award


Claire Smith image 80x80
Congratulations to Dr Claire Smith

Posted on Thursday 9 June 2016

Development, Inequality and Citizenship in Indonesia


Nina Caspersen 80x80 image
Will there be peace in Nagorno-Karabakh? Two things stand in the way.

Posted on Thursday 2 June 2016

An article by Nina Casperson


Professor Martin Smith image 80x80
Congratulations to Professor Martin Smith

Posted on Wednesday 1 June 2016

Bernard Crick Prize


Tony Heron image 80x80
IKnowFood: Integrating Knowledge for Food System Resilience

Posted on Thursday 26 May 2016

Congratulations to Tony Heron


Peg Murray-Evans image 80x80
Congratulations to Dr Peg Murray-Evans

Posted on Thursday 26 May 2016

Leverhulme Career Fellowship


Martin O'Neill 80x80 image
Congratulations to Dr Martin O'Neill

Posted on Wednesday 25 May 2016

ISRF mid-career fellowship


John Dunn essay prize image
New John Dunn Essay Prize in Political Theory

Posted on Friday 20 May 2016

The Department of Politics is delighted to announce a new annual prize awarded to the best essay in political theory, named in honour of Professor John Dunn.


Nick Ritchie speak at a conference
Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament Negotiations

Posted on Tuesday 17 May 2016

Dr Nick Ritchie invited to speak to the United Nations Open-Ended Working Group


small 80x80 thumbnail image of Nick Ritchie
Responding to Nuclear Violence

Posted on Tuesday 17 May 2016

Hiroshima survivor Setsuko Thurlow at the University


Simon Parker image
ESRC Precarious Trajectories project

Posted on Tuesday 19 April 2016

Launch of death by rescue report


null
Staff v Student football

Posted on Wednesday 13 April 2016

In a hard-fought Staff vs Student Match, youth triumphed over experience.


Sandra Leon image 80x80
Congratulations to Dr Sandra Léon-Alfonso

Posted on Thursday 7 April 2016

Commissioned to write for El Pais


Werner Bonefeld image
Congratulations to Professor Werner Bonefeld

Posted on Wednesday 23 March 2016

Recent successful achievements


Staff vs undergraduate students football match
Annual Staff vs Student Football

Posted on Wednesday 23 March 2016

The 2016 Staff vs Student Football Match will take place on Tuesday 12 April 2016


ESRC PhD Scholarship, Rights-based Alternatives in International Development

Posted on Monday 15 February 2016

This research will be part of an exciting partnership between CAHR and ActionAid focusing on rights-based development alternatives.


80x80 image
Zika: what Brazil is doing to tackle the virus

Posted on Thursday 4 February 2016

An article by Dr João Nunes


WRDTC logo
Britain and Europe: The political economy of ‘Brexit’

Posted on Thursday 28 January 2016

Successful funding from the White Rose University Consortium


Watcharabon PhD award thumbnail
Former PhD student wins prestigious award

Posted on Friday 8 January 2016

Congratulations to Watcharabon Buddharaksa who has won an NRCT award for best thesis.