Accessibility statement

Key Department Roles

Role Name
Departmental Management Team (DMT)  
Head of Department Professor Paul Wakeling
Deputy Head of Department Professor Vanita Sundaram
Chair, Board of Studies Dr Jan Hardman
Director of Research Dr Kathryn Asbury
Department Manager Nicky Henson
Departmental Roles  
Deputy Chair, Board of Studies Helen Granger
Deputy Director of Research Dr Cylcia Bolibaugh
Director of Undergraduate Studies Dr Jeremy Airey
Undergraduate Recruitment & Admissions Dr Clementine Beauvais / Dr Umar Toseeb
Undergraduate Recruitment & Conversion Dr Clementine Beauvais
Undergraduate Assessments Lead  
Director of Master's Programmes (Admissions and Assessment) Dr Andy Cirocki
Director of Master's Programmes (Teaching and Learning) Heather Buchanan
Director of Research Programmes Professor Leah Roberts
Director of Initial Teacher Training Dr Claire Ball-Smith
Deputy Director of Initial Teaching Training Catherine Shawyer
Chair, Ethics Committee Professor Carole Torgerson
Deputy Chair, Ethics Committee Dr Louise Tracey
Chair, Exceptional Circumstances Affecting Assessment Committee Dr Lynda Dunlop
Chair, Board of Examiners Dr Danijela Trenkic
Chair, Scholarship Forum Dr Amanda Naylor
Careers & Employability Officer Dr Lisa Kim
ERASMUS Co-ordinator Professor Vanita Sundaram
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) Co-ordinator Dr Jelena O'Reilly / 
Departmental Impact Lead Dr Kathryn Asbury
Departmental Safety Officer Nicky Henson
Disability & Welfare Officer Dr Poppy Nash
Equality & Diversity Champion  
ERG Co-ordinator  
PhD Training Workshop Co-ordinator Dr Louise Tracey
Social Media Dr Sarah Olive
Academic e-Learning Co-ordinator Dr David O'Reilly
Research Centre Leaders  
Centre for Research in Language Learning & Use (CReLLU) Professor Leah Roberts 
Centre for Research on Education and Social Justice (CRESJ) Professor Vanita Sundaram 
Psychology in Education Research Centre (PERC) Professor Rob Klassen
University of York Science Education Group (UYSEG) Professor Judith Bennett
Programme Leaders - Undergraduate  
BA Education Dr Sally Hancock 
BA English in Education Dr Amanda Naylor 
BA Sociology and Education Dr Constantino Dumangane Jr
BSc Psychology in Education Dr Umar Toseeb 
Programme Leaders - Postgraduate  
PhD Applied Linguistics Dr Ursula Lanvers
PhD Education Dr Sarah Olive
PhD TESOL Dr Irena Kuzborska
PhD in Education (by Distance Learning) Dr Sally Hancock
MA Education Professor Paula Mountford
MA Educational Practice  
MA Global and International Citizenship Education  
MA Social Justice & Education  
MA Applied Linguistics for English Language Teaching Dr Danijela Trenkic
MA Applied Linguistics for Language Teaching  
MA Teaching English to Speakers of other Languages Dr Khaled El Ebyary
MA Teaching English to Speakers of other Languages, Deputy programme leader  
MSc Mental Health and Wellbeing in Education Dr Dusana Dorjee
MSc Psychology in Education Professor Sophie von Stumm
PGCE, Initial Teacher Training Dr Claire Ball-Smith
PGDip Educational Practice Professor Paula Mountford
PGCE Subject Area Leaders  
English Catherine Shawyer
Geography Georgia Ramsay
History Helen Snelson
Mathematics Helen Granger 
Modern Foreign Languages Mirjam Buehler
Science Simon Quinnell / Leanne Mason
Whole School Issues (WSI) Dr Claire Ball-Smith
Schools Partnership Facilitator Victoria Allen
Caroline Capper