Contact us

Department of Social Policy and Social Work (logo on Reception wall)

General enquiries

 

The Department reception is open 9.30am - 4.30pm, Monday-Friday.

Department of Social Policy and Social Work
University of York
Heslington
York
YO10 5DD

SPSW is located in Alcuin C Block (Map)

SPSW is located in Alcuin C Block. View Maps »

 

Key Contacts

Support

 

Jonathan Stokoe
Student Administration Manager
Tel: +4 (0)1904 32 1273 
jonathan.stokoe@york.ac.uk

Natasha Barradell Unwin
Student Support Administrator - Assessment
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 32 1257
natasha.barradellunwin@york.ac.uk

Debbie Banerjee 
Student Support Administrator - Student records, Online and Postgraduate Research
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1277
debbie.banerjee@york.ac.uk

Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements and Practice Education
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1238
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk

Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1228 
spsw-online@york.ac.uk

Angela Chapman
Think Ahead Coordinator
Disability Contact
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk

 

Disability Reps

Polly Sykes
Associate Lecturer in Social Work
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk

Sharon Grace
Lecturer in Social Policy
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk

 

Yorkshare VLE & Web Coordinator

Dominic Ennis
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1274                 
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk

Academic

RoleNameRoomTelephoneEmail
Head of Department John Hudson A/C/007 01904 32 1245 john.hudson@york.ac.uk
PA to Head of Department Hayley Rowan A/C/008 01904 32 1258 hayley.rowan@york.ac.uk
Deputy Head of Department Lisa O'Malley A/C/216 01904 32 1242 lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk
Departmental Manager Jane Barrand A/C/005 01904 32 1232 jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Board of Studies Dr Neil Lunt A/C/206 01904 32 1235 neil.lunt@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Board of Examiners - Examination Officer  Kevin Caraher A/C/115 01904 32 1271 kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk
Erasmus Coordinator Zoe Irving A/C/013 01904 32 1247 zoe.irving@york.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Policy) Rachel Morris A/C/120 01904 32 1226 Rachel Morris@york.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Dr Katherine Graham A/C/016 01904 32 1205 katie.graham@york.ac.uk
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor (Masters) & Deputy Director of the Graduate School Antonios Roumpakis A/C/224 01904 32 1298 antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Jenny Threlfall A/C/015 01904 32 1227 jenny.threlfall@york.ac.uk
Director of the White Rose Doctoral Training Centre Neil Lunt A/C/206 01904 32 1235 neil.lunt@york.ac.uk
Acting Director of the Graduate School Charlie Lloyd A/C/211 01904 32 1912 charlie.lloyd@york.ac.uk
Director of Research Yvonne Birks A/B/004 01904 32 1328 yvonne.birks@york.ac.uk
Director of On-line Programmes Ellen Roberts A/C/225 01904 32 1250 ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

Feedback & Complaints

Feedback on our courses

The Department invites students to provide feedback and suggestions in a number of ways: directly with the module leader, on end of module evaluation forms, or via the appropriate student representative to the Staff-Student Liaison Committee or Board of Studies. You can find out more about your student representatives and methods for providing feedback in your Programme site on the Yorkshare VLE.

Complaints

The University outlines its complaints procedure online:

Informal complaints may be directed in the first instance to the relevant member of staff in the Department (section 4b of the procedures linked above). If you are unsure who to direct your complaint to, you can contact Department Reception or the relevant Department Deputy Head or Director. If it is not appropriate to contact that member of staff, you may raise your complaint in writing with the Head of Department

Formal complaints are handled centrally by the University (section 4c outlines the procedure).

 

Attributions for images used on this site