Accessibility statement

Contact us

Department of Social Policy and Social Work (logo on Reception wall)

General enquiries

 

The Department reception is open 9.30am - 4.30pm, Monday-Friday.

Department of Social Policy and Social Work
Alcuin B and C Blocks
University of York
York
YO10 5DD

For specific enquiries please use the following:

Admissionsspsw-admissions@york.ac.uk Assessmentsspsw-assessments@york.ac.uk
Disabilityspsw-disability@york.ac.uk Placementsspsw-placement@york.ac.uk
Onlinespsw-online@york.ac.uk Student Recordsspsw-records@york.ac.uk
Practice Educationspsw-practice-education@york.ac.uk Exceptional Circumstancesspsw-ex-circs@york.ac.uk
Think Aheadspsw-thinkahead@york.ac.uk Social & Political Sciences - sps-support@york.ac.uk
Ethics - spsw-ethics@york.ac.uk Publicity - spsw-publicity@york.ac.uk
 

SPSW is located in Alcuin C Block (Map)

SPSW is located in Alcuin B and C Blocks. View Maps »

 

Key Contacts

Support

Jane Barrand
Department Manager
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1232 
jane.barrand@york.ac.uk

Jonathan Stokoe
Student Support Services Manager
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1273 
jonathan.stokoe@york.ac.uk

Debbie Banerjee
Co-ordinator for Social and Political Sciences
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1477
debbie.banerjee@york.ac.uk

Natasha Barradell Unwin
Student Support Administrator - Assessments
Disability Support
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1257
natasha.barradellunwin@york.ac.uk

Angela Chapman
Student Services Coordinator
Think Ahead Coordinator
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk

Alex Davison
Student Support Administrator - Reception
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 8807 
alex.davison@york.ac.uk

Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements, Practice Education & Postgraduate Research
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1238
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk

Rachel Parker
Student Support Administrator - Online Programmes, ECA, Visa Compliance and BoS
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1234
rachel.parker@york.ac.uk

Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1228 
helen.story@york.ac.uk

Disability Rep

Aniela Wenham
Lecturer
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk

Yorkshare VLE & Web Coordinator

Dominic Ennis
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1274                 
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk

Academic

RoleNameRoomTelephoneEmail
Head of Department John Hudson A/B/008 01904 32 1245 john.hudson@york.ac.uk
PA to Head of Department Hayley Rowan A/B/007 01904 32 1258 hayley.rowan@york.ac.uk
Deputy Head of Department      Chair of the Equality and Diversity Committee Sharon Grace A/B/030a 01904 32 1225 sharon.grace@york.ac.uk
Department Manager Jane Barrand A/B/006 01904 32 1232 jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Chair of Departmental Research Committee              Director of the White Rose Doctoral Training Centre Neil Lunt A/C/206 01904 32 1235 neil.lunt@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Board of Examiners Carolyn Snell A/C/212 01904 32 1249 carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk
Director of Teaching
Chair of Departmental Teaching Committee       
Zoe Irving A/C/013 01904 32 1247 zoe.irving@york.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Policy) Rachel Vipond A/C/108 01904 32 1226 rachel vipond@york.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Katherine Graham A/C/016 01904 32 1205 katie.graham@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Board of Studies  Antonios Roumpakis A/C/224 01904 32 1298 antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Jennifer McNally A/C/213 01904 32 1233 jennifer.mcnally@york.ac.uk
Director of the Graduate School Charlie Lloyd A/C/211 01904 32 1912 charlie.lloyd@york.ac.uk
Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Social Sciences Yvonne Birks A/B/001a 01904 32 1328 yvonne.birks@york.ac.uk
Director of Online Programmes Enrico Reuter A/C/120 01904 32 1252 enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk
Knowledge Exchange and Impact Lead Peter Dwyer A/C/110 01904 32 1229 peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Exceptional Circumstances Committee      Chair of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) Chris Holden A/C/218 01904 32 1254 chris.holden@york.ac.uk
Social Work Placements Coordinator Polly Sykes A/C/106 01904 32 1267 polly.sykes@york.ac.uk
Fitness to Practice Chair Martin Webber A/C/004 01904 32 1203 martin.webber@york.ac.uk
PhD Admissions Tutor Christine Skinner A/C/109 01904 32 1251 christine.skinner@york.ac.uk
Chair of the Ethics Committee  Mark Wilberforce A/B/029 01904 32 1297 mark.wilberforce@york.ac.uk

Feedback & Complaints

Feedback on our courses

The Department invites students to provide feedback and suggestions in a number of ways: directly with the module leader, on end of module evaluation forms, or via the appropriate student representative to the Staff-Student Liaison Committee or Board of Studies. You can find out more about your student representatives and methods for providing feedback in your Programme site on the Yorkshare VLE.

Complaints

The University outlines its complaints procedure online:

Informal complaints may be directed in the first instance to the relevant member of staff in the Department (section 4b of the procedures linked above). If you are unsure who to direct your complaint to, you can contact Department Reception or the relevant Department Deputy Head or Director. If it is not appropriate to contact that member of staff, you may raise your complaint in writing with the Head of Department

Formal complaints are handled centrally by the University (section 4c outlines the procedure).

 

Attributions for images used on this site