Contact us

Department of Social Policy and Social Work (logo on Reception wall)

General enquiries


The Department reception is open 9.30am - 4.30pm, Monday-Friday.

Department of Social Policy and Social Work
University of York
YO10 5DD

SPSW is located in Alcuin C Block (Map)

SPSW is located in Alcuin C Block. View Maps »


Key Contacts


Angela Chapman
Student Support Administrator - Assessment
Disability Contact
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1276

Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements and Practice Education
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1238

Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1228

Debbie Banerjee
Student Support Administrator - Student records, Online and Postgraduate Research
01904 32 1277

Helen Chan
Programme Manager - Taught and Research programmes
01904 32 1273

Samantha McDermott
Think Ahead Coordinator
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1233

Disability Reps

Polly Sykes
Associate Lecturer in Social Work
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1267

Sharon Grace
Lecturer in Social Policy
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1225

Yorkshare VLE & Web Coordinator

Dominic Ennis
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 1274        


Head of Department John Hudson A/C/007 01904 32 1245
PA to Head of Department Hayley Rowan A/C/008 01904 32 1258
Deputy Head of Department (Social Policy) Lisa O'Malley A/C/216 01904 32 1242
Deputy Head of Department (Social Work) Martin Webber A/C/004 01904 32 1203
Departmental Manager Jane Barrand A/C/005 01904 32 1232
Chair of the Board of Studies Enrico Reuter A/C/115 078766 26870
Chair of the Board of Examiners - Examination Officer (Social Policy) Kevin Caraher A/C/115 01904 32 1271
Erasmus Coordinator Zoe Irving A/C/013 01904 32 1247
Examination Officer (Social Work) Juliet Koprowska A/C/114 01904 32 1256
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Policy) Rachel Morris A/C/120 01904 32 1226 Rachel
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Dr Katherine Graham A/C/016 01904 32 1205
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor (Masters) & Deputy Director of the Graduate School Antonios Roumpakis A/C/224 01904 32 1298
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor (Social Work) Jenny Threlfall A/C/015 01904 32 1227
Director of the White Rose Doctoral Training Centre Neil Lunt A/C/206 01904 32 1235
Director of the Graduate School Carolyn Snell A/C/211 01904 32 1249
Director of Research Yvonne Birks A/B/004 01904 32 1328
Director of On-line Programmes Ellen Roberts A/C/225 01904 32 1250

Feedback & Complaints

Feedback on our courses

The Department invites students to provide feedback and suggestions in a number of ways: directly with the module leader, on end of module evaluation forms, or via the appropriate student representative to the Staff-Student Liaison Committee or Board of Studies. You can find out more about your student representatives and methods for providing feedback in your Programme site on the Yorkshare VLE.


The University outlines its complaints procedure online:

Informal complaints may be directed in the first instance to the relevant member of staff in the Department (section 4b of the procedures linked above). If you are unsure who to direct your complaint to, you can contact Department Reception or the relevant Department Deputy Head or Director. If it is not appropriate to contact that member of staff, you may raise your complaint in writing with the Head of Department

Formal complaints are handled centrally by the University (section 4c outlines the procedure).


Attributions for images used on this site