People

Based in the Department of Psychology, the York Neuroimaging Centre draws on expertise from the department and across the University.

Use the searchable table below to explore the skills and expertise of our staff and researchers.

 

Name 

Expertise Contact details

Professor Tim Andrews

YNiC researcher

  • Visual perception
  • Face recognition
  • fMRI
  • MVPA

timothy.andrews@york.ac.uk

Jennifer Ashton

Senior Research Technician

YNiC Staff

 

jennifer.ashton@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325941

 

Dr Richard Aveyard

Senior Research Technician

YNiC staff

 

richard.aveyard@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325941

Dr Daniel Baker

YNiC researcher

  • Visual neuroscience
  • Binocular vision
  • Computational modelling
  • Amblyopia
  • Autism
daniel.baker@york.ac.uk

Dr Heidi Baseler

YNiC researcher

  • Vision
  • Neuroimaging
  • Neuroprotection
  • Blindness
  • Deafness/hearing loss
heidi.baseler@york.ac.uk

Dr Angela de Bruin

YNiC researcher

  • Bilingualism
  • Language switching
  • Language production
  • Executive control
  • Cognitive ageing
angela.debruin@york.ac.uk

Dr Scott Cairney

YNiC researcher

  • Sleep
  • Memory
  • Emotion
  • Mental health
  • Polysomnography
scott.cairney@york.ac.uk

Dr Karla Evans

YNiC researcher

  • Attention
  • Perception
  • Memory
  • Neuroimaging
karla.evans@york.ac.uk

Professor Gareth Gaskell

YNiC researcher

  • Sleep
  • Memory consolidation
  • Polysomnography
  • Development
  • Language
gareth.gaskell@york.ac.uk

Dr Elena Geangu

YNiC researcher

  • Infancy
  • Emotion
  • Social development
elena.geangu@york.ac.uk

Dr Silvia Gennari

YNiC researcher

  • Sentence production and comprehension
  • Cognitive neuroscience of language
silvia.gennari@york.ac.uk

Dr Silke Göbel

YNiC researcher

  • Developmental cognitive neuroscience
  • Numeracy development
  • Functions of the parietal lobe
  • Dyscalculia
  • Dyslexia
silke.goebel@york.ac.uk

André Gouws

Operations Manager

YNiC staff

 

andre.gouws@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325947

Dr Tom Hartley

YNiC researcher

  • Hippocampus
  • Dementia
  • fMRI
  • Computational modelling
  • Neural networks

tom.hartley@york.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Henderson

YNiC researcher

  • Development
  • Language
  • Disorders
  • Autism
  • Sleep

lisa-marie.henderson@york.ac.uk

Dr Hannah Hobson

YNiC researcher

  • Language and communication disorders
  • Autism
  • Mirror neurons

hannah.hobson@york.ac.uk

Dr Aidan Horner

YNiC researcher

  • Memory
  • Dementia
  • Hippocampus
  • fMRI
  • MEG

aidan.horner@york.ac.uk

Professor Beth Jefferies

YNiC researcher

  • Memory
  • Semantic cognition
  • fMRI
  • MEG
  • TMS

beth.jefferies@york.ac.uk

Rebecca Lowndes

Research Associate

YNiC researcher

 

rebecca.lowndes@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325941

Joe Lyons

UNIX Systems Administrator

YNiC staff

 

joe.lyons@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325949

Professor Sven Mattys

YNiC researcher 

 

  • Language
  • Speech
  • Hearing

sven.mattys@york.ac.uk

Jackie Mayhew

Centre Administrator

YNiC staff

 

jackie.mayhew@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325940

Dr Cade McCall

YNiC researcher 

  • Emotion
  • Social interaction
  • Psychophysiology

cade.mccall@york.ac.uk

Dr Fiona McNab

YNiC researcher 

  • Working memory
  • Attention
  • Distraction
  • Cognitive ageing
  • Cognitive training

fiona.mcnab@york.ac.uk

Professor Tony Morland

YNiC researcher 

  • fMRI
  • Visual Neuroscience
  • Psychophysics
  • Evoked potentials and field
  • TMS

antony.morland@york.ac.uk

Dr David Pitcher

YNiC researcher 

  • Vision
  • Face perception
  • TMS
  • fMRI

david.pitcher@york.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Preston

YNiC researcher

 

  • Self-awareness
  • Body perception
  • Mental health

catherine.preston@york.ac.uk

Professor Alex Wade

YNiC Academic Lead

YNiC researcher and staff

  • Vision
  • Attention
  • fMRI
  • EEG
  • Neuroimaging

alex.wade@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 323171

Dr Lauren Welbourne

YNiC researcher

 

lauren.welbourne@york.ac.uk