News from the Department of History of Art

York Art Gallery hosts Making a Masterpiece exhibition, co-curated by Dr Jeanne Nuechterlein

Posted on Friday 20 December 2019

The imagination, science and sublime skill behind the creation of an iconic artwork is the focus of the major new exhibition.

Call for Conference Papers for World Weary: Cultures of Exhaustion

Posted on Wednesday 18 December 2019

Organisers seek papers for conference to be held 21-22 May 2020 in York.

Call for proposals for Aspectus: A peer-reviewed journal of visual culture

Posted on Monday 2 December 2019

The editorial team is seeking submissions for Aspectus to be published in October 2020.

Royal Collection Trust launches ‘The Lost Collection of Charles I’ digital catalogue

Posted on Thursday 7 November 2019

Niko Munz, a current PhD student in the Department of History of Art, was behind the research for the database project, which attempts to reconstruct the lost collection.

Latest issue of Afterall journal released.

Posted on Friday 27 September 2019

This is the final issue edited by Ana Bilbao, before she joined us here in York.

We’re 5th in the UK

Posted on Monday 23 September 2019

History of Art at York is in the top five in the Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide

Richard McClary's British library lecture

Posted on Tuesday 3 September 2019

Richard's talk is now available online.

Richard McClary to speak at Islamic Arts Museum, Malaysia.

Posted on Tuesday 2 July 2019

Richard will be visiting the Islamic Arts Museum on Thursday 11th July.

Helen Hills interviewed for Bolivian TV.

Posted on Tuesday 2 July 2019

Helen was interviewed by the Potosi local TV network.

Congratulations to Sarah Brown!

Posted on Tuesday 18 June 2019

Sarah Brown has been appointed to the Scientific Advisory Board of the Institut CatalĂ  de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural.

Funding Success for Talented Student

Posted on Thursday 13 June 2019

Undergraduate Laura Moseley has come out top in this year's York Business Challenge!

We’re 6th in the UK

Posted on Friday 7 June 2019

History of Art at York in the top ten in the Guardian University Guide.

Richard McClary to speak at British Academy

Posted on Friday 7 June 2019

The lecture will take place on Monday 10th June.

Stained Glass Masters students win training awards

Posted on Monday 13 May 2019

Three Masters students have been awarded post-degree work experience and training awards from the Worshipful Company of Glaziers and Painters of Glass.

Department of History of Art is 6th in the UK

Posted on Thursday 2 May 2019

This week the Department confirmed its place among the UK's most highly regarded departments for the subject of History of Art. The Department is ranked 6th in the UK in the Complete University Guide 2020.

Who to contact

If you require more specific information about our news and events, please email history-of-art@york.ac.uk

    News and events

    News archive