Accessibility statement

Alice Oswald Reads Her Poetry

Friday 1 July 2016, 6.30PM

Alice Oswald is one of the most original and compelling English poets writing today. Her first book, The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile (1996), received a Forward Poetry Prize for Best First Collection, her second, Dart (2002) won the T.S. Eliot prize for poetry. Oswald’s other collections include Woods, etc. (2005), winner of a Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; Weeds and Wild Flowers (2009), illustrated by Jessica Greenman; A Sleepwalk on the Severn (2009); and Memorial (2011), a reworking of elegiac material from Homer’s Iliad that won the 2013 Warwick Prize for writing. She has also edited The Thunder Mutters: 101 Poems for the Planet (2006) and A Ted Hughes Bestiary (2015). Her much awaited new collection Falling Awake is published on 7th July.

All welcome.  Refreshments provided.

Alice's talk is part of the Poetic Measures conference, being held at the University of York 1-3 July 2016.  For further details see conference website.   

This is a Writers at York event.

Writers at York offers a lively programme of public readings and workshops, and aims to celebrate and explore the work of emerging and established contemporary writers.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.


Location: Bowland Auditorium, Berrick Saul Building, Heslington West Campus