Accessibility statement

Student prizes

There are several prizes awarded annually for performance at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.

Undergraduate prizes

Prizes not based on course work

Undergraduates can apply to be considered for any of these prizes. Click on a prize for details about how and when to apply, as well as for additional information about the various criteria used by the Prizes & Awards Panel in selecting the short lists.

 PrizeApplicationDeadlineCriteriaValueMost recent winner
Salters' Prize Nomination Final year Autumn term Week 10 Autumn term Intellectual ability, potential to occupy a leading position in the UK chemical industry £1,000 (8 awarded nationally by Salters')  Alice-Jane McEllin (2018)
John Twycross prize Year 3 Summer term  Week 2 Summer term  MChem at York, personal development record, academic progress, future plans  £400

Charles Ombler, Connor Rutter, William Whitaker (2019)

Prizes based on course work

Undergraduates do not apply for any of the following prizes and awards, the winners are identified by the examiners when results lists are drawn up. Click on a prize to obtain further details.

Prize YearCriteriaValueCurrent winner
Astra-Zeneca prize

2 Best performance on written examinations including option papers £100 Robert Munday
Astra-Zeneca prize 2 Best performance on Core Practical £100 Thomas Carton
Whinfield medal 3 Overall academic performance £150 Ruhee Dawood
Whinfield medal 4 Overall academic performance £150 Samuel Cliff
Margaret Bishop prize 4 Best MChem in York project £150 Jake Smith

Postgraduate prizes

 Prize and criteriaCurrent winners

Johnson Matthey Poster Competition

Best poster on research work
Year 3

Thomas Stephens, James Rossi Ashton, Jennifer Lewis and Mark Dowsett

Kathleen Mary Stott Prize

Meritorious performance in research and course work
Final Year PhD students

Gold winners: Yann Lie and Tom Stephens

Silver winners: Kirsten Hawkins, Jenny Lewis and Nick Yates.

Roger J Mawby Demonstrating Awards

A special commendation for exceptional support in the delivery of the undergraduate course

Robin Brabham, Mark Dowsett, Kirsten Hawkins, Jordan Herod, Jenny Lewis and Chris Maddocks

photo of prizewinners Undergraduate prizewinners with Professor Paul Walton, Head of Department