Our staff

Staff at research away day

Explore our research in the York Research Database

This page is a list of staff in the teaching section of the Department. Each member of staff has a personal email and most have a direct phone line.

You will also find the Contact us page useful if you are unsure who to get in touch with about particular issues and for general enquiries.

See also: staff lists for the Centre for Housing Policy (CHP) and Social Policy Research Unit (SPRU).

Academic staff

StaffRoleInterests
Dr Helen Baldwin

Helen Baldwin
A/B/109                                01904 32 1991
helen.baldwin@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Child health and welfare
  • Criminal justice
  • Substance misuse
Professor Nina Biehal

Professor Nina Biehal
A/C/008A
01904 32 1284
nina.biehal@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Work Research

  • Family support
  • Adoption; Foster care
  • Family reunification
Professor Jonathan Bradshaw Professor Jonathan Bradshaw
A/B/134
01904 32 1239
jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk
Professor of Social Policy 
  • Poverty and social exclusion
  • Comparative research
  • Child well-being
Dr Sally Brooks Dr Sally Brooks
A/C/114
01904 32 1258
sally.brooks@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Programme Director (Online MPA - International Development)
  • International development
  • Food and agriculture
  • Private sector and development
  • Science, technology and development
  • The policy process
Kate Brown Dr Kate Brown
A/C/111
01904 32 1241
kate.brown@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Studies (Criminology)

  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry
Dr Kevin Caraher

Dr Kevin Caraher 
A/C/115
01904 32 1271
kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer
Chair of the Board of Examiners
Exams Officer (Social Policy and Applied Social Science)
Programme Director (Online MA Social and Public Policy)

  • Comparative social policy
  • Pensions policy in East and Southeast Asia
  • Political economy of welfare states
Dr Sabrina Chai Dr Sabrina Chai
A/C/227
01904 32 1204
sabrina.chai@york.ac.uk  
Teaching Fellow 
  • Public policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Governance
null Dr Linda Cusworth
A/B/109
01904 32 1991
linda.cusworth@york.ac.uk  
Research Fellow
  • Children in care and leaving care
  • Outcomes for vulnerable children and young people
  • Quantitative secondary analysis
Jo Dixon staff list Jo Dixon
A/C/018
01904 32 1275
jo.dixon@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow

  • Outcomes for children and adolescents in and on the edges of care
  • Leaving care
  • Innovative approaches to working with vulnerable young people
Professor Peter Dwyer
A/C/110
01904 32 1229
peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk 
Professor of Social Policy 
Head of Research
  • Social citizenship
  • Social inclusion/exclusion
  • International migration and welfare 

Professor Nick Ellison
A/C/211
01904 32 1265
nick.ellison@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy
Head of Department 
  • Contemporary UK social policy
  • The nature and impact of 'globalisation' and the changing politics of welfare in developed welfare regimes
  • Citizenship in theory and practice
null Professor Kevin Farnsworth
A/C/204
01904 32 1207
kevin.farnsworth@york.ac.uk
Professor of Social Policy
  • Political economy of welfare state
  • The power and influence of business on social and public policy.
  • Corporate welfare
Dr Naomi Finch Dr Naomi Finch
A/C/215
01904 32 1208
naomi.finch@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
  • Child and family policy
  • Poverty and living standards
  • Comparative social policy
Ross Gillard Mr Ross Gillard
A/B/122
01904 32 1272 
ross.gillard@york.ac.uk

 Research Associate
  • Fuel poverty
  • Climate change and energy policy
  • Environmental justice
Sharon Grace Sharon Grace
A/C/113
01904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer
Programme Leader: BA Applied Social Science - Crime and Criminal Justice
  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice
Katie-Graham

Dr Katherine Graham
A/C/005
01904 32 1205
katie.graham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Work)
  • Adult safeguarding
  • Personalisation
  • Social care workforce
Mark Hardy Dr Mark Hardy
A/C/112
01904 32 1227
mark.hardy@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer 
Admissions Tutor (MA Social Work) 
  • Youth and adult offending
  • Social work and criminal justice
  • Risk assessment and management 
Dr Andrew Hill Dr Andrew Hill
A/C/013
01904 32 1268
andrew.hill@york.ac.uk  
Senior Lecturer
Programme Leader - All Social Work Programmes
  • Family support and child protection
  • Skills for statutory social work
  • Theraputic work with children 
Dr Chris Holden Dr Chris Holden
A/C/218
01904 32 1254
chris.holden@york.ac.uk  

Reader

  • International social policy
  • Global health policy and corporate influence
  • Globalisation and trade 
Dan Horsfall Dr Dan Horsfall
A/C/217
01904 32 1206
daniel.horsfall@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer
PGWT Co-ordinator 
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare
  • The policy process 
Dr John Hudson Professor John Hudson
A/C/212
01904 32 1245
john.hudson@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Social Policy
 
  • Comparative social policy analysis
  • The policy making process
  • Political economy of welfare 
Dr Zoe Irving Dr Zoe Irving
A/C/220
01904 32 1247
zoe.irving@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer
Programme Leader: BA Social Policy and BA Applied Social Science

  • Social policy in small states and small island states
  • Economic crisis and social policy
  • Gender, employment and social policy
Dr Hannah Jobling
A/C/012
01904 32 1255
hannah.jobling@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Director of BA Social Work programme

  • Mental health law, policy and practice
  • Youth justice
  • Community Treatment Orders
Dr Antonia Keung Dr Antonia Keung 
A/C/207
01904 32 1259
antonia.keung@york.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow 
  • Child well-being
  • Social exclusion
  • Use of evidence in social policy 
Professor Kathleen Keirnan Professor Kathleen Kiernan
A/C/216
01904 32 1279
kathleen.kiernan@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Social Policy and Demography
  • Family environments and child well-being in the early years
  • Family change in developed societies
  • Life course analysis 
Gernot-Klantschnig

Dr Gernot Klantschnig
A/C/120
01904 32 1252
gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk

 Senior Lecturer

  • International crime and drug control
  • Policing
  • West Africa and China
Juliet Koprowska Juliet Koprowska
A/C/008
01904 32 1256
juliet.koprowska@york.ac.uk  

Senior Lecturer
Exams Officer (Social Work)
Chair of the Exceptional Circumstances Committee
Chair of the Social Work Partnership Board

  • Communication skills
  • Mental health and social work
  • Systems-centred theory and practice 

Jonny Lovell
A/C/012
01904 32 1255
jl1155@york.ac.uk

Research Associate
  • Mental health social research
  • Sharing lived experience in social work and mental health interventions
Jane Lund Jane Lund
A/C/121
01904 32 1269
jane.lund@york.ac.uk  
Tutor and Elearning Manager (Online MA) 
  • Online learning communities
  • Information age and policy
Dr Neil Lunt Professor Neil Lunt
A/C/206
01904 32 1235
neil.lunt@york.ac.uk
Professor of Social Policy
Programme Leader (MPA CASPPER
  • Health and social services management and delivery
  • Welfare policy
  • Medical tourism
Dr Una McCluskey Dr Una McCluskey 
una.mccluskey@york.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow 
  • Interactions in social work and adult psychotherapy
Jennifer Mcnally Jennifer McNally
A/C/107
01904 32 1240
Jennifer.mcnally@york.ac.uk
Associate Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme
  • Mental health social work practice
  • Practice education in social work
Jennifer McNeill Dr Jennifer McNeil
jennifer.mcneill@york.ac.uk
Research Associate
  • Welfare Conditionality: Sanctions, Support and Behaviour Change
Nicola Moran

Dr Nicola Moran
A/C/220
01904 32 1246
nicola.moran@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Youth mental health
  • Policing and mental health
  • Individual Budgets / Personal Budgets – outcomes for service users and the impacts and outcomes for informal carers
  • International long-term care policies
Rachel Morris

Dr Rachel Morris
A/C/108
01904 32 1226
rachel.morris@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Policy / Applied Social Science)
Careers and Employability Co-ordinator

  • Youth Justice
  • Risk and Professional Decision Making
  • Probation and Youth Offending Team Practices
  • Gender and Crime (specifically girls and crime)
Dr Lisa O'Malley Dr Lisa O'Malley
A/C/104
01904 32 1242
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Crime
Deputy Head of Department (Social Policy)

  • Urban renewal
  • Crime prevention and community safety
  • Voluntary sector
Stephanie Lacey Stephanie Lacey
A/C/213
01904 32 1237
s.lacey@york.ac.uk
Making Research Count Regional Co-ordinator
  • Research dissemination
  • Knowledge transfer
  • Policy analysis
Enrico Reuter

Dr Enrico Reuter
A/C/115
+44 (0) 7876626870
enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Programme Director (Online MA Public Policy and Management)
Chair of the Board of Studies

  • Politics of social policy
  • Public service reform
  • Social exclusion and vulnerability
Ellen Roberts Professor Ellen Roberts
A/C/225
01904 32 1250
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk  

Professor (Teaching and Scholarship)
Director of Online Programmes
Programme Director (Online MPA)
Chair, University Distance Learning Forum

  • Public management
  • Management of change
  • Organisational learning
  • Project management
Ed Robson

Edward Robson
A/C/011
01904 32 1243
edward.robson@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Academic Lead - SUPA Group

  • Young Carers
  • Teenage Parents
  • Family and Systems Theory
  • Housing and Homelessness
Dr Antonios Roumpakis  Dr Antonios Roumpakis
A/C/214
01904 32 1298
antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer 
Programme Leader: MRes and Social Policy Masters Programmes
  • Comparative and International social policy
  • Social research methods
  • Employment, pensions and poverty
Roy Sainsbury Professor Roy Sainsbury
A/B/130
01904 32 1975
roy.sainsbury@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Social Policy
  • Welfare to work
  • Social security and the labour market
  • Qualitative methods
  • Administration and delivery of benefits
Anthony Ruddy
A/C/107
01904 32 1244
anthony.ruddy@york.ac.uk 
ESRC Research Fellow
  • Children and young people
  • Youth poverty
  • Youth transition
Dr Christine Skinner Dr Christine Skinner
A/C/109
01904 32 1251
christine.skinner@york.ac.uk  

Reader in Social Policy

  • Comparative child support policy
  • Family policy
  • Non-resident fathers
Dr Carolyn Snell Dr Carolyn Snell
A/C/226
01904 32 1249
carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk  

Senior lecturer 
Programme Leader: All Postgraduate Research Programmes

  • Sustainable development
  • Social inequality
  • Environmental policy
Damian Spiteri  

Dr Damian Spiteri
A/C/107
01904 32 1240
damian.spiteri@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
Think Ahead Programme

  • Social Work Pedagogy
  • Multicultural education
  • Child and family social work
  • Vulnerable young people
Polly Sykes

Polly Sykes
A/C/106
01904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk

Teaching Fellow
  • Health and disability
  • Practice education

Jenny Threlfall

Jenny Threlfall
A/C/015
01904 32 1253
jenny.threlfall@york.ac.uk

Lecturer in Social Work

  • Parenting
  • Academic Achievement
  • Racial and economic inequality
Sara Ward 

Sara Ward
A/C/106
01904 32 1267
sara.ward@york.ac.uk

Associate Lecturer
Placement Co-ordinator

  • Mental health social work
  • AMHP role and training
  • Practice education
  • Sexual assault of women

Professor Martin Webber

Professor Martin Webber
A/C/004
01904 32 1203
martin.webber@york.ac.uk

Professor of Social Work
Deputy Head of Department (Social Work)
Making Research Count Academic Lead
Director of the International Centre for Mental Health Social Research

  • Mental health social work 
  • Development and evaluation of social interventions
  • Social capital and social inclusion
Aniela Wenham Dr Aniela Wenham
A/C/105
01904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Programme Leader:
BA Applied Social Science - Children and Young People and the Extended Degree
  • Youth and social policy
  • Teenage pregnancy and parenthood
  • Qualitative research methods

Support staff

Jane Barrand Jane Barrand
Departmental Administrator
A/C/009
01904 32 1232
jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Debbie Banerjee Debbie Banerjee
Student Support Assistant
01904 32 1231
debbie.banerjee@york.ac.uk
Janis Bright

Janis Bright
Impact Officer - Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
01904 32 1224
janis.bright@york.ac.uk

Angela Chapman Angela Chapman
Student Support Administrator - Assessment
A/C/010
01904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk
Dom Ennis Dominic Ennis 
Web and VLE Coordinator
A/C/023
01904 32 1274
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk
Julie Harriss Julie Harriss
Student Support Administrator - Placements
Academic Administrator - Think Ahead Programme
A/C/007
01904 32 1238 
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk 
Vici Armitage Vici Armitage
Project Manager - Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
01904 32 1299
vici.armitage@york.ac.uk 
Rachel McAllister Rachel McAllister
Student Recruitment and
Admissions Manager
A/C/017
01904 32 1273
rachel.mcallister@york.ac.uk
Samantha McDermott Samantha McDermott
Programme Manager
Disability Contact
A/C/016
01904 32 1233
samantha.mcdermott@york.ac.uk  
Emma Piercy Emma Piercy
Learning Technology Assistant
Think Ahead Programme
A/C/115
01904 32 1271 
emma.piercy@york.ac.uk  
Helen Story Helen Story
Student Support Administrator - Admissions and Online
A/C/010
01904 32 1228
helen.story@york.ac.uk  

Lisa Thurlow
MRC Administrator
A/C/213
01904 32 1237
lisa.thurlow@york.ac.uk

jade ward staff list Jade Ward
Research and Participation Assistant
A/C/107
01904 32 1270
jade.ward@york.ac.uk