Our staff

Department of Social Policy and Social Work, Alcuin C Block

Explore our research in the York Research Database

This page is a list of staff in the teaching section of the Department. Each member of staff has a personal email and most have a direct phone line.

You will also find the Contact us page useful if you are unsure who to get in touch with about particular issues and for general enquiries.

See also: staff lists for the Centre for Housing Policy (CHP) and Social Policy Research Unit (SPRU).

Academic staff

StaffRoleInterests
Helen Baldwin

Helen Baldwin
A/B/109                                01904 32 1991
helen.baldwin@york.ac.uk

Research Fellow
  • Child health and welfare
  • Criminal justice
  • Substance misuse
Professor Nina Biehal

Professor Nina Biehal
A/C/008A
01904 32 1284
nina.biehal@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Work Research

  • Family support
  • Adoption; Foster care
  • Family reunification
Professor Jonathan Bradshaw Professor Jonathan Bradshaw
A/B/134
01904 32 1239
jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk
Professor of Social Policy 
  • Poverty and social exclusion
  • Comparative research
  • Child well-being
Dr Sally Brooks Dr Sally Brooks
A/C/114
01904 32 1258
sally.brooks@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Programme Director (Online MPA - Interantional Development)
  • International development
  • Sustainable development
  • Food and agriculture
John Brown John Brown
john.brown@york.ac.uk 
Honorary Fellow 
  • Social enterprise
  • Disability services
  • Health and social care policy 
Kate Brown Dr Kate Brown
A/C/111
01904 32 1241
kate.brown@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
PGWT Co-ordinator
  • Vulnerable young people
  • The concept of 'vulnerability'
  • The sex industry
Dr Kevin Caraher

Dr Kevin Caraher 
A/C/115
01904 32 1273
kevin.caraher@york.ac.uk  

Teaching Fellow
Chair of the Board of Examiners
Exams Officer (Social Policy and Applied Social Science) 
  • Comparative social policy
  • Pensions policy in East and Southeast Asia
  • Political economy of welfare states
Dr Simon Cauvain Dr Simon Cauvain
A/C/011
01904 32 1240
simon.cauvain@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Work
SUPA Group Academic Lead 
  • Practitioner Recruitment and Retention
  • Social Work with Children and Families 
  • Social Research Methods
Dr Sabrina Chai Dr Sabrina Chai
A/C/227
01904 32 1204
sabrina.chai@york.ac.uk  
Teaching Fellow 
  • Public policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Governance
Bob Coles Bob Coles
bob.coles@york.ac.uk 
Honorary Fellow
  • Youth and social policy
  • Structural change, social policy and biography
  • Post-16 education and training
Dr Marilyn Crawshaw

Dr Marilyn Crawshaw 
marilyn.crawshaw@york.ac.uk   

Honorary Fellow 
  • Young adult cancer experience
  • Impact of donor assisted conception
  • Women and children in Uganda and Pakistan 
 Professor Bob Deacon  Professor Bob Deacon Honorary Professor of Global Social Policy
  • Communist (and subsequent post-communist) social policy
  • Globalisation and social policy
  • World Regional Social Policy in collaboration with UNUCRIS in Bruges
Professor Peter Dwyer Professor Peter Dwyer
A/C/110
01904 32 1229
peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk 
Professor of Social Policy 
Head of Research
  • Social citizenship
  • Social inclusion/exclusion
  • International migration and welfare 

Professor Nick Ellison
A/C/211
01904 32 1265
nick.ellison@york.ac.uk 

Professor of Social Policy
Head of Department 
  • Contemporary UK social policy
  • The nature and impact of 'globalisation' and the changing politics of welfare in developed welfare regimes
  • Citizenship in theory and practice
null Dr Kevin Farnsworth
A/C/204
01904 32 1207
kevin.farnsworth@york.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
  • Political economy of welfare state
  • The power and influence of business on social and public policy.
  • Corporate welfare
Dr Naomi Finch Dr Naomi Finch
A/C/215
01904 32 1208
naomi.finch@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
  • Child and family policy
  • Poverty and living standards
  • Comparative social policy 

 

Sharon Grace Sharon Grace
A/C/113
01904 32 1225
sharon.grace@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer
Programme Convenor (BA Applied Social Science - Crime and Criminal Justice
  • Victimisation
  • Illicit drug use
  • Administration of justice
 Katie-Graham

Dr Katherine Graham
A/C/005
01904 32 1205
katie.graham@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
  • Adult safeguarding
  • Personalisation
  • Social care workforce
Kevin Hall Kevin Hall 
kevin.hall@york.ac.uk
Programme Director (Online MPA)
Exams Officer (Online Masters)
Academic Misconduct Lead
  • Public management
  • Administration of public services
  • Social security policy
Mark Hardy Dr Mark Hardy
A/C/112
01904 32 1227
mark.hardy@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer 
Admissions Tutor (MA Social Work) 
  • Youth and adult offending
  • Social work and criminal justice
  • Risk assessment and management 
Dr Andrew Hill Dr Andrew Hill
A/C/013
01904 32 1268
andrew.hill@york.ac.uk  
Senior Lecturer
Deputy Head of Department
(Social Work) 
  • Family support and child protection
  • Skills for statutory social work
  • Theraputic work with children 
Professor John Hobcraft Professor John Hobcraft
A/C/120
01904 32 1278
john.hobcraft@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Demography and Social Policy 
ESRC Strategic Advisor of Data Resources
  • Biomarkers and behaviour
  • Sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Gender and generations 
Dr Chris Holden Dr Chris Holden
A/C/218
01904 32 1254
chris.holden@york.ac.uk  

Senior Lecturer
Director of Graduate School

  • International social policy
  • Global health policy and corporate influence
  • Globalisation and trade 
Dr Carol-Ann Hooper Dr Carol-Ann Hooper
carol-ann.hooper@york.ac.uk  
Senior Lecturer 
  • Child abuse and child protection
  • Gender and crime
  • Violence against women 
Dan Horsfall Dr Dan Horsfall
A/C/217
01904 32 1206
daniel.horsfall@york.ac.uk  
Lecturer
Programme Convenor (BA Social Policy
  • Comparative social policy
  • Political economy of welfare
  • The policy process 
Dr John Hudson Dr John Hudson
A/C/212
01904 32 1245
john.hudson@york.ac.uk  
Senior Lecturer
 
  • Comparative social policy analysis
  • The policy making process
  • Political economy of welfare 
Dr Zoe Irving Dr Zoe Irving
A/C/220
01904 32 1247
zoe.irving@york.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
  • Social policy in small states and small island states
  • Economic crisis and social policy
  • Gender, employment and social policy
Hannah Jobling Hannah Jobling
A/C/012
01904 32 1255
hannah.jobling@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer 
  • Mental health law, policy and practice
  • Youth justice
  • Community Treatment Orders
Dr Antonia Keung Dr Antonia Keung 
A/C/009
01904 32 1259
antonia.keung@york.ac.uk
Research Fellow 
  • Child well-being
  • Social exclusion
  • Use of evidence in social policy 
Professor Kathleen Keirnan Professor Kathleen Kiernan
A/C/216
01904 32 1279
kathleen.kiernan@york.ac.uk  
Professor of Social Policy and Demography
  • Family environments and child well-being in the early years
  • Family change in developed societies
  • Life course analysis 
 Gernot-Klantschnig

Dr Gernot Klantschnig
A/C/120
01904 32 1252
gernot.klantschnig@york.ac.uk

 Senior Lecturer

  • International crime and drug control
  • Policing
  • West Africa and China
Juliet Koprowska Juliet Koprowska
A/C/008
01904 32 1256
juliet.koprowska@york.ac.uk  

Senior Lecturer
Exams Officer (Social Work)
Chair of the Mitigating Circumstances Committee
Chair of the Social Work Partnership Board

  • Communication skills
  • Mental health and social work
  • Systems-centred theory and practice 
Dr Stefan Kuehner Dr Stefan Kühner
A/C/225
01904 32 1248
stefan.kuehner@york.ac.uk  

Senior Lecturer
Admissions Tutor (BA Social Policy / Applied Social Science
PGWT Co-ordinator

  • Comparative and international social policy
  • Politics and policies of welfare state and labour market reform
  • Social security in low- and middle-income countries
Dr Stuart Lowe
A/C/224
01904 32 1246
stuart.lowe@york.ac.uk  
Senior Lecturer 
  • Housing policy
  • Comparative welfare states
  • Policy analysis
Jane Lund Jane Lund
A/C/121
01904 32 1269
jane.lund@york.ac.uk  
Tutor and Elearning Manager (Online MA) 
  • Online learning communities
  • Information age and policy
Dr Neil Lunt Dr Neil Lunt
A/C/206
01904 32 1235
neil.lunt@york.ac.uk
Reader
Programme Director (MPA CASPPER
  • Health and social services management and delivery
  • Welfare policy
  • Medical tourism
Professor Mary Maynard Professor Mary Maynard 
mary.maynard@york.ac.uk
Honorary Fellow
  • Feminist theory and methodology
  • Gender, race, age and ethnicity
  • Women's studies
Dr Una McCluskey Dr Una McCluskey 
una.mccluskey@york.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow 
  • Interactions in social work and adult psychotherapy
Jennifer McNeill Dr Jennifer McNeil
jennifer.mcneill@york.ac.uk
Research Associate
  • Welfare Conditionality: Sanctions, Support and Behaviour Change
 

Dr Rachel Morris
A/C/010
01904 32 1226
rachel.morris@york.ac.uk

Lecturer
  • Youth Justice
  • Risk and Professional Decision Making
  • Probation and Youth Offending Team Practices
  • Gender and Crime (specifically girls and crime)
Meredith Newlin Meredith Newlin
meredith.newlin@york.ac.uk
Research Fellow 
  • Translational research and international development
  • Health and social interventions for people with mental health problems
  • Global mental health
Dr Lisa O'Malley Dr Lisa O'Malley
A/C/104
01904 32 1242
lisa.omalley@york.ac.uk  

Lecturer
Deputy Head of Department (Social Policy)
Programme Co-ordinator (Undergraduate Social Policy and Applied Social Science)

  • Urban renewal
  • Crime prevention and community safety
  • Voluntary sector
Angela Portz Angela Portz
A/C/007
01904 32 1237
ap1242@york.ac.uk
Making Research Count Regional Co-ordinator  
Enrico Reuter Dr Enrico Reuter
A/C/109
enrico.reuter@york.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow 
  • Comparative public policy and management
  • Social exclusion and poverty
  • European integration
Ellen Roberts Ellen Roberts
A/C/209A
01904 32 1250
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk  

Director of Online Programmes

MA Public Policy and Management

  • Public management
  • Management of change
Ed Robson

Edward Robson
A/C/009
01904 32 1243
edward.robson@york.ac.uk

Teaching Fellow in Social Work  
Dr Antonios Roumpakis  Dr Antonios Roumpakis
A/C/214
01904 32 1298
antonios.roumpakis@york.ac.uk 
Lecturer 
  • Comparative and International social policy
  • Social research methods
  • Employment, pensions and poverty
Professor Ian Shaw Professor Ian Shaw
A/B/027
01904 32 1260
ian.shaw@york.ac.uk  
Emeritus Professor of Social Work (University of York)
Professor, Department of Sociology and Social Work, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Practice-research relationship
  • Qualitative methods
  • History of social work and sociology
Dr Christine Skinner Dr Christine Skinner
A/C/109
01904 32 1251
christine.skinner@york.ac.uk  

Reader in Social Policy
Chair of the Board of Studies 

  • Comparative child support policy
  • Family policy
  • Non-resident fathers
-65 Dr Carolyn Snell
A/C/226
01904 32 1249
carolyn.snell@york.ac.uk  

Senior lecturer 
Programme Director (MRes and Social Policy Masters Programmes)
Deputy Director of Graduate School 

  • Sustainable development
  • Social inequality
  • Environmental policy
Polly Sykes

Polly Sykes
A/C/106
01904 32 1267
polly.sykes@york.ac.uk

Teaching Fellow
  • Health and disability
  • Practice education
  Samantha Treacy
samantha.treacy@york.ac.uk
Researcher
  •  

Dr Martin Webber

Dr Martin Webber
A/C/004
01904 32 1203
martin.webber@york.ac.uk  

Reader
Making Research Count Academic Lead
Director of the International Centre for Mental Health Social Research

  • Mental health social work 
  • Development and evaluation of social interventions
  • Social capital and social inclusion
Aniela Wenham Dr Aniela Wenham
A/C/105
01904 32 1236
aniela.wenham@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Programme Convenor (BA Applied Social Science - Children and Young People)
Link Lecturer for the Extended Degree Programme 
  • Youth and social policy
  • Teenage pregnancy and parenthood
  • Qualitative research methods

Support staff

Jane Barrand Jane Barrand
Departmental Administrator
A/C/213
01904 32 1232
jane.barrand@york.ac.uk
Janis Bright

Janis Bright
Impact Officer, Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
01904 32 1224
janis.bright@york.ac.uk

Bridget Carter Ellis Bridget Carter Ellis
PA to Head of Department
A/C/208
01904 32 1277
bridget.carterellis@york.ac.uk
Ange Chapman Angela Chapman
Undergraduate Administrator
A/C/016
01904 32 1276
angela.chapman@york.ac.uk
staff portrait Dominic Ennis 
Web and VLE Coordinator
A/C/207
01904 32 1274
dominic.ennis@york.ac.uk
Sharon Harrison Sharon Harrison
Postgraduate Administrator 
A/C/015
01904 32 1234
sharon.harrison@york.ac.uk
Julie Harriss Julie Harriss
Placements Administrator
A/C/018
01904 32 1238 
julie.harriss@york.ac.uk 
Fleur Hughes Fleur Hughes
Project Manager, Welfare Conditionality
A/C/208
01904 32 1299
fleur.hughes@york.ac.uk 
Samantha McDermott Samantha McDermott
Programme Manager
Disability Contact
A/C/016
01904 32 1233
samantha.mcdermott@york.ac.uk  
Helen Smith Helen Chan
Online MA Programme Manager
A/C/115
01904 32 1273
helen.chan@york.ac.uk
Helen Story-Samuels Helen Story
Online MA Student Support Officer
A/C/017
01904 32 1228
helen.story@york.ac.uk  
Dave Wells Dave Wells
Attendance Administrator
A/C/023
 01904 32 1271
dave.wells@york.ac.uk

Visiting fellows 

 

Professor Hakyoung Baek

 Visiting Fellow

 

Professor Youngsook Kang

A/C/107

 Visiting Fellow

 

Dr Ying Li

A/B/032

Visiting Fellow

 

Associate Professor Dr Hasan Erdogan

A/B/032

 Visiting Fellow