2018 seminars and events


Fourth York Summer Theory Institute in History of Art

A postgraduate summer school with Whitney Davis


Sexual Selection and Queer Beauty

Public lecture as part of the York Summer Theory Institute in Art History

Previous events

Annual PhD conference 'Afterlives'

Friday 16 March 2018

Organised by and for History of Art postgraduate students

Looking backward at eighteenth-century English pornography

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Event hosted by CECS

Urbanity and the implied sense of taste in early modern Iran

Thursday 22 February 2018


Servicing Leisure Industries

Friday 16 February 2018

A workshop with Professor Griselda Pollock (Leeds) and video artist George Drivas (Venice Biennale 2017)

Mapping Piracy in Defoe

Tuesday 13 February 2018

Event hosted by CECS

The Last Laugh? Humour and the Death of Fashion

Monday 29 January 2018

This lecture is hosted by SHADY (PG forum Studies in the History of Art Department at York)

Horace Walpole, Mary Hamilton and Bluestocking Antiquarianism

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Event hosts by CECS

Script United. Safavid Iran, Ottoman Turkey, and Nasta‘liq Calligraphy in the Sixteenth Century

Friday 19 January 2018

Part of the Islamic Art Circle lecture series

The End of Enlightenment

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Event hosts by CECS.

Seeing Past and Present in the Glazed Cloister of Park Abbey (1635-1644)

Monday 15 January 2018

Part of the History of Art research seminar series

Arnolfini Histories: Jan van Eyck’s Arnolfini Portrait and its Receptions

Friday 12 January 2018

Organised in conjunction with the National Gallery.

Who to contact

If you require more specific information about our news and events, please email history-of-art@york.ac.uk

News and events

Events archive