Accessibility statement

York Chemistry Short-listed for Outstanding Departmental Administration Team

Posted on 28 June 2012

The Department of Chemistry Administration Team were shortlisted for the Outstanding Departmental Administration Team at the Times Higher Education (THE) Leadership and Management Awards 2012.

The team were short-listed for their exceptional communication, co-operation and strong team spirit which underpin all the activities within the Department.  In 2012, The team brought in innovative procedures and processes to provide examples of best practice across the University and HE sector, with many innovations being adopted by other departments.

The Chemistry Admin team are known throughout the University for their professionalism, attention to detail and innovative practices, and a key part of operating such a large and vibrant Department

Professor Brian Fulton

Dr Helen Coombs (Departmental Administrator) and six other members of the Department's administration team (Katrina Sayer, Barbara Jones, Alice Clifford, Jo Eastwood, Jenny Hudson and Luiza Morrell), together with Professor Richard Taylor (Head of Department) and Professor Dave Smith (Chair of the Board of Studies), attended the Times Higher Education Leadership and Management Award ceremony at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on Thursday 21 June. Professor Brain Fulton (Academic Coordinator for the Sciences) joined the York table for dinner and the award announcements with Julian Clary acting as compere. A good time was had by all!