Accessibility statement

Chemistry Staff Nominated for Supervisor of the Year

Posted on 19 June 2012

The Department of Chemistry receives an impressive fourteen nominations.

A total of fourteen members of Chemistry Staff have been nominated for the university's Supervisor of the Year Award 2012. Those nominated are Dr Paul Clarke, Dr Martin Cockett, Dr Richard Douthwaite, Dr Gideon Grogan, Dr Andrew Hunt, Dr Nigel Lowe, Dr Jason Lynam, Dr Duncan Macquarrie, Dr John Moore, Dr Andrew Parsons, Dr Seishi Shimizu, Professor David Smith, Professor Jane Thomas-Oates and Dr Adrian Whitwood.

This initiative, organised by YUSU (York University Student Union), is to find supervisors who have really made a difference for the students they supervise.  

Head of Department, Professor Richard Taylor, noted "we expect all of our Chemistry academic supervisors to take good care of their undergraduate supervisees and be there to offer assistance and advice when needed. However, to have fourteen Chemistry supervisors nominated by their supervisees for the Supervisor of the Year Award, in the same year, is truly remarkable!".