Accessibility statement

YUSU Excellence Awards for Chemistry academics

Posted on 6 June 2019

Three Chemistry academics recognised as winners in the York University Students Union Excellence Awards.

The YUSU Excellence Awards presented to Professor Peter O’Brien, Dr Alison Parkin and Professor David Smith are based on student nominations from across campus in twelve different categories, with up to four leading nominees being shortlisted in each category. This year, the Department of Chemistry had five shortlisted nominees, three of whom won awards.

Professor Peter O’Brien received the prestigious ‘Teacher of the Year’ Award. Students described him as ‘an icon of the Department’ and commended him as ‘an incredibly engaging lecturer that never fails to enthuse and enlighten’.

Dr Alison Parkin was recognised for her work as Chair of the Staff Student Committee with the Award for ‘Supporting the Student Voice’. Students described her as ‘synonymous with efficiency’ and really appreciated the strong support for student representation. Alison thanked the YUSU Chemistry Reps, and particularly the Departmental Rep, Alvaro Lopez-Acosta for their hard work and dedication.

Professor David Smith received the award for ‘Most Inspiring’. The Award was presented by Department of Chemistry YUSU Rep, Alvaro Lopez-Acosta, who said Professor Smith had received more individual nominations than any other winner in the history of the awards, and talked about how he manages, by authentically being himself, to draw students into wanting to learn.

In addition to the three winners, PhD student Tom Stephens, from the research group of Dr Will Unsworth, was shortlisted as ‘Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) of the Year’, and Dr Glenn Hurst was shortlisted for the ‘Teacher of the Year Award’.