Seminars

All are welcome

Undergraduates and postgraduates are particularly encouraged to attend, as these seminars can provide exposure to a wide range of ideas and research areas that you might not otherwise have an opportunity to learn about.  

The seminars are held on Tuesday at 1:00pm, in P/L/002 (Physics lecture theatres) (unless otherwise stated). Presentations usually last for 45 minutes, followed by a lively discussion. Please contact the seminar series co-ordinator, Kathryn Arnold (email kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk), for further information.

2014 Spring Term Seminars

DateSpeakerTitle
Tuesday 14th January
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Ross Brown
University of Exeter and Astra Zeneca
Environmental effects causally related to pharmaceutical exposure.
Tuesday 21st January
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Shelley Hinsley
Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
Does Environmental Stewardship work for farmland biodiversity
Tuesday 28th January
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Tavis Potts
Scottish Association for Marine Science
Living on the Edge: Social science in progressing sustainable coastal & marine systems
Tuesday 4th February
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Laura Rival
University of Oxford
The Yasuni Initiative and the oilfields of Ecuador
Tuesday 11th February
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Lisa Emberson
Stockholm Environment Institute
Stockholm Environment Institute: Bringing science to the policy makers
Tuesday 25th February
D/L/036 (Derwent L Block)
1.00pm
Dmitri Mauquoy
University of Aberdeen
Late-Holocene climate change reconstructions using peat deposits in South America
Tuesday 4th March
PS/B/020 (Psychology)
1.00pm
Helen Storey
University of the Arts, London
Catalytic Clothing: A collaboration between science and culture
Tuesday 11th March
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm
Mark Taggart
University of the Highlands and Islands
Rapid collapse of vulture populations across India: drivers & consequences

 

2013 Autumn Term Seminars

DateSpeakerTitle
Tuesday 8th October
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm 
Lindsay Henderson
University of Califormia
Stress in the wild: animal-environment interactions and population processes.
Tuesday 15th October
ATB/056 and 057 (Alcuin)
1.00pm
Jenny Roe
Stockholm Environment Institute
Urban Green: Good for the soul?
Tuesday 22nd October
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm
Mark Hodson
University of York
Are earthworm balls the new snake oil?

Tuesday 22nd October
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm

Paul Schweinzer
Economics Department
University of York
Agreeing on efficient emissions reduction
Tuesday 5th November
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm
Ivan Haigh
University of Southampton
Trends and variability in mean and extreme sea levels around Australia
Tuesday 12th November
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm
 
No seminar No seminar
Tuesday 19th November
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm

Tim Daley
University of Plymouth

To wet or not to wet?  Climate carbon regulation in peatlands
Tuesday 26th November
P/L/002 (Physics)
1.00pm
Howard Peters
University of York
Cone snails: a significant biomedical resource at risk
Tuesday 5th December
Venue ATB 056
From 5.00pm
Rick Battarbee
University College London
Tracking changes in upland waters