Seminars

All are welcome

Undergraduates and postgraduates are particularly encouraged to attend, as these seminars can provide exposure to a wide range of ideas and research areas that you might not otherwise have an opportunity to learn about.  

The seminars are held on Tuesday at 1:00pm, in B/B/002 (Biology lecture theatres) (unless otherwise stated). Presentations usually last for 45 minutes, followed by a lively discussion. Please contact the seminar series co-ordinator, Kathryn Arnold (email kathryn.arnold@york.ac.uk), for further information.

2015 Summer Term Seminars

DateSpeakerTitle
Tuesday 21st April
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Chris Metcalfe
Trent University
Canada
Fate and Effects of Nanosilver in a Lake Ecosystem
Tuesday 28th April
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Peter Howley, Richard Payne and Zoe Austin
Environment Dept
University of York
Research Interests of Staff in the Department
Tuesday 5th May
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm 
Sylvia Toet, Rob Marchant, Jon Hill
Environment Dept
University of York
Research Interests of Staff in the Department
Tuesday 12th May
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm 
Josh Kirshner, Murray Rudd, Rachel Pateman
Environment Dept
University of York 
Research Interests of Staff in the Department 
Tuesday 19th May
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Gary Ankley
USEPA
Assessing the Ecological Risks of Chemicals in the 21st Century
Tuesday 2nd June
V/045 (Vanbrugh)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Dave Rippin, Simon Croft, Dean Waters
Environment Dept
University of York
Research Interest of Staff in the Department
Tuesday 9th June
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Chris West, Joanne Morris, Roberto Rinaldi
SEI
University of York
Research Interests of Staff in the Department
Tuesday 16th June
X/D103 (Environment)
1.00pm - 2.00pm
Katherine Selby, Laura Harrison, Kate Arnold
Environment Dept
University of York
Research Interests of Staff in the Department

 

2015 Spring Term Seminars

DateSpeakerTitle

Tuesday 13th January
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Paul Tobin
University of York
The Impact of Austerity on Environmental Policy

Tuesday 20th January
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Elizabeth Chadwick
University of Cardiff
Road kill research: Contaminant and disease surveillance using the Eurasian otter

Tuesday 27th January
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Marisa Chas-Amil
University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Understanding human-caused wildfore patterns

Tuesday 3rd February
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Trevor Willis
University of Portsmouth
Spatial and temporal variation in the foraging ecology of New Zealand fur seals

Tuesday 10th February
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Jon Hill
University of York
Modelling palaeo-tsunamis generated by submarine landslides

Tuesday 24th February
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Becki Lawson
Institute of Zoology
Citizen Science and Garden Wildlife: assessing the population impact of disease

Tuesday 3rd March
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Michael McLachlan
Stockholm University
Identifying Chemicals that are planetary boundary threats

Tuesday 10th March
B/B/006 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

David Graham
Newcastle University
Human exposures to environmental antibiotic resistance: studies on waterborne NDM-1 transmission in India

2014 Autumn Term Seminars

DateSpeakerTitle

Tuesday 14th October
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Sarah Durant
Zoological Society of London
Facing the conservation challenges of wide-ranging species: The example of the cheetah

Tuesday 21st October
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Karen Thorpe
University of York
Impacts of plastics on the aquatic environment

Tuesday 28th October
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Eric Jensen
University of Warwick
Evaluating conservation biology learning at the zoo

Tuesday 4th November
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Tomas Brodin
Umea University, Sweden
Ecological effects of pharmaceuticals in aquatic systems - impacts through behavioural alterations

Tuesday 18th November
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Julita Stadnicka
École Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
Switzerland
Towards saving lives of experimental fish

Tuesday 25th November
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Neil Ross
University of Newcastle
Past, present and future ice sheet dynamics of West Antarctica

Tuesday 2nd December
B/B/002 (Biology)
1.00pm - 2.00pm

Valentino Govligi
University of Ioannina, Greece
Conservation through religion: unravelling the history of sacred cultural landscapes in Northern Greece

Thursday 4th December
B/B/002
5.00pm - 8.00pm

Ian Owens
Natural History Museum
For the learned and the curious: natural history collections in the 21st century
Environment Department and SEI-Y Christmas Lecture and Soiree