Whom to contact in Research Grants & Contracts

Research Grants and Contracts (RGC) is part of Research and Enterprise. It has 4 teams, 3 of which are based in Heslington Hall. The EU Team is based in the Innovation Centre (York Science Park). 

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate grant co-ordinator. If you are unsure about whom to contact, please telephone General Enquiries on 2479 or e-mail research-grants@york.ac.uk

View the list of services provided by Research Grants & Contracts

 ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
Kirsty Dillingham
RGC Operations Manager
kirsty.dillingham@york.ac.uk 
x 4208
  • RGC operations and university research administration
  • processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
  • university signatory for contracts and grants
 
Michelle Rowland
RGC Administrator
michelle.rowland@york.ac.uk
x 2479
  • administrative support
 Michelle Rowland

David Hudson 
Project Manager
david.hudson@york.ac.uk 
x 4419 

 David Hudson

Grant coordinator team for the UK Research Councils

 ContactResponsibilities                                       Photo

Melanie Macrae
Team leader
melanie.macrae@york.ac.uk 
x 4413

  • team leader
  • Je-S administration
  • AHRC
  • ESRC 
 

Dr Rachel Adamson
Grant Coordinator
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk
x 2128

  • NERC
  • MRC (incl. NC3Rs)
 

Alyson Cowen
Grant Coordinator
alyson.cowen@york.ac.uk
x 4408

  • BBSRC
 

vacancy
Administrator

  • administrative support
 

Chris Walker
Grant Coordinator
chris.walker@york.ac.uk 
x 4415

  • EPSRC 
  • STFC
  • British Academy
 Chris Walker

Grant coordinator team for UK Health, Government and Industry

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Anna Payne
Grant Team Leader
anna.payne@york.ac.uk 
x 4263

  • DOH R&D: CRD CORE
  • NETSCC
    Systematic Review Programme Grants
    CTU Infrastructure award 
    NICE - National Institute for Clinical Excellence (TARS)
  • NIHR TCC - ​All​ Fellowships
  • NIHR CCF
    Senior Investigator Awards
    PGfAR - Programme Grants for Applied Research
    RfPB - Research for Patient Benefit
  • Any other miscellaneous funders, for example:
    NHS - National Health Service (any Trust/Clinical Commissioning Group projects)
    MHRN - Mental Health Research Network
    CSO - Chief Scientist Office, Scotland
    PHE - Public Health England
    MONITOR
 Anna Payne

Elizabeth Hewan
Administrator
elizabeth.hewan@york.ac.uk
x 2122

  • administrative support
 Elizabeth Hewan

Anya Millington
(Wednesday-Friday)
Grant Coordinator
anya.millington@york.ac.uk
x 2121

  • UK Government & Industry for the following:
    • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
    • Faculty of Social Sciences
    • Department of Computer Science 
    • Department of Health Sciences
 

Sasha Oakden
Grant Coordinator
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
x 2118

  • DoH Policy Research Programme (DOH PRP)
    All PRP grants, including PHRC and PRU (ESHCRU and EEPRU)
  • NETSCC
    HTA, HS&DR, EME and PHR
  • NIHR SSCR (School for Social Care Research)
    All grants
  • NIHR CCF
    CLAHRC (and CLAHRC-RCF)
  • Any related Clinical Research Network (CRN) and Research Capability Funding (RCF)

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
(Monday-Wednesday)
Grant Coordinator
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk
x 4318

  • UK Government & Industry for the Faculty of Sciences, except for Computer Science and Health Sciences
 Sarah Ventress Woolford

Grant coordinator team for Non-EC overseas funders and Charities (inc Wellcome)

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
Phil Wiles
Grant Team Leader
phil.wiles@york.ac.uk 
x 4404
  • all overseas (non-EC) sponsors, including overseas charities, Govt & Industry
 Phil Wiles
Shirley Foster 
(Tuesday-Friday)
Grant Coordinator
shirley.foster@york.ac.uk 
x 2111
  • Royal Society
  • Leverhulme Trust
  • The Wellcome Trust
  • British Heart Foundation
 
Anita Sharma
Grant Coordinator
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk 
x 2110
  • All other UK Charities not handled by Shirley
 Anita Sharma
vacancy
Administrator

x
  • Administrative support
 

 

Staff in the Research Grants and Contracts Office work closely with

ContactRole Description

 

 

Matthew Just
Intellectual Property and Legal Manager
matthew.just@york.ac.uk
9435191

Please dial 943 from campus as Matthew is based on York Science Park

 

Michael Barber
Contracts and Sponsorship Manager
michael.barber@york.ac.uk
9435154

Please dial 943 from campus as Michael is based on York Science Park

 

Eoghan Gannon
Contracts Officer
eoghan.gannon@york.ac.uk
9567643

Please dial 956 from campus as Eoghan is based on York Science Park