Whom to contact in Research Grants & Contracts

Research Grants and Contracts (RGC) is part of Research and Enterprise. It has 4 teams, 3 of which are based in Heslington Hall. The EU Team is based in the Innovation Centre (York Science Park). 

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate grant co-ordinator. If you are unsure about whom to contact, please telephone General Enquiries on 2479 or e-mail research-grants@york.ac.uk

View the list of services provided by Research Grants & Contracts

 ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
Kirsty Dillingham
RGC Operations Manager
kirsty.dillingham@york.ac.uk 
x 4208
  • RGC operations and university research administration
  • processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
  • university signatory for contracts and grants
 
Pete Broadley
RGC PA/Administrator
pete.broadley@york.ac.uk
x 4416
  • PA to Operations Manager
  • administrative support
 ‌Pete Broadley

Grant coordinator team for the UK Research Councils

 ContactResponsibilities                                       Photo

Melanie Macrae
Team leader
melanie.macrae@york.ac.uk 
x 4413

  • team leader
  • Je-S administration
 

Dr Rachel Adamson
Grant Coordinator
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk
x 2128

  • NERC
 ‌Rachel Adamson

Alyson Cowen
Grant Coordinator
alyson.cowen@york.ac.uk
x 4408

  • BBSRC
 

Chris Walker
Grant Coordinator
chris.walker@york.ac.uk 
x 4415

  • EPSRC 
  • STFC
 Chris Walker

Hayley Stocks
Grant Coordinator

x 4419

  • ESRC
  • MRC (incl. NC3Rs)
 

Dawn Machnik
dawn.machnik@york.ac.uk

Administrator
2125

  • administrative support
Dawn Machnik 

Polly Brown
polly.brown@york.ac.uk
Administrator
x 2125

  • administrative support
 Polly Brown

Grant coordinator team for UK Health, Government and Industry

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Anna Payne
Grant Team Leader
anna.payne@york.ac.uk 
x 4263

  • NETSCC
    Systematic Review Programme Grants
    CTU Infrastructure award 
    NICE - National Institute for Clinical Excellence (TARS)
  • NIHR TCC - ​All​ Fellowships
  • NIHR CCF
    Senior Investigator Awards
    PGfAR - Programme Grants for Applied Research
    RfPB - Research for Patient Benefit
  • Any other miscellaneous funders, for example:
    NHS - National Health Service (any Trust/Clinical Commissioning Group projects)
    MHRN - Mental Health Research Network
    CSO - Chief Scientist Office, Scotland
    PHE - Public Health England
    MONITOR
 Anna Payne

Anya Millington
(Wednesday-Friday)
Grant Coordinator
anya.millington@york.ac.uk
x 2121

  • UK Government & Industry for the following:
    • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
    • Faculty of Social Sciences
    • Department of Computer Science 
    • Department of Health Sciences
 

Sasha Oakden
Grant Coordinator
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
x 2118

  • DoH Policy Research Programme (DOH PRP)
    All PRP grants, including PHRC and PRU (ESHCRU and EEPRU)
  • NETSCC
    HTA, HS&DR, EME and PHR
  • NIHR SSCR (School for Social Care Research)
    All grants
  • NIHR CCF
    CLAHRC (and CLAHRC-RCF)
  • Any related Clinical Research Network (CRN) and Research Capability Funding (RCF)

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
(Monday-Wednesday)
Grant Coordinator
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk
x 4318

  • UK Government & Industry for the Faculty of Sciences, except for Computer Science and Health Sciences
 Sarah Ventress Woolford

Simon Johnson
Grant Coordinator
simon.johnson@york.ac.uk
x 4319

  Simon Johnson photo 

Rachel Wilkinson
Grant Coordinator
 

 

 

Jen Mayne
Grant Coordinator

x 2122

  Jen Mayne

Grant coordinator team for Charities and International (non EC) funders

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
David Hudson 
Grant Team Leader
david.hudson@york.ac.uk 
x4404
  David Hudson
Shirley Foster 
(Tuesday-Friday)
Grant Coordinator
shirley.foster@york.ac.uk 
x 2111
  • Royal Society
  • Leverhulme Trust
  • The Wellcome Trust
  • British Heart Foundation
Anita Sharma
Grant Coordinator
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk 
x 2110
  • All other UK Charities not handled by Shirley
Anita Sharma

Lisa Lack
Grant Coordinator
lisa.lack@york.ac.uk
x2108

  • all International (non-EC/Federal government) funders
  • pre award international industry
Lisa Lack
Estelle Brown
Grant Officer
estelle.brown@york.ac.uk
x 3126
  Estelle Brown
Michelle Rowland
Administrator
michelle.rowland@york.ac.uk
x 2479
  • Administrative support
Michelle Rowland

 

EU Research and Development Team

Contact Departments / Activity areasPhoto
Phil Wiles
EU Grant Team Leader
phil.wiles@york.ac.uk
01904 435336
   Phil Wiles

Belen Rebollo

EU Research Projects Manager
belen.rebollo@york.ac.uk 
01904 567927

  • Archaeology
 ‌‌

Chris Barber

EU Research Projects Manager
chris.barber@york.ac.uk 
01904 567664

 

  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Psychology
 

Michèle P. Inman

(Monday to Thursday)
Administrator

michele.inman@york.ac.uk
01904 567663

  • Administrative and Financial Support

 Michele Inman

David Lauder
EU Research Projects Manager
david.lauder@york.ac.uk
01904 567925
  • Centre for Health Economics
  • Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Health Sciences
  • Politics
  • Sociology
  • Social Policy and Social Work
  • York Law School
  • York Management School
David Lauder

 Caroline Moore
(Monday-Thursday)
EU Research Projects Manager
caroline.m.moore@york.ac.uk 
01904 567922 

  • Environment
  • Electronics
  • Physics
 

Gemma Moy
EU Research Projects Manager
gemma.moy@york.ac.uk
01904 567926

  • Biology
  • Computer Science
  • English and Related Literature
  • History
  • History of Art
  • Language and Linguistics
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Theatre, Film and Television
 ‌

Staff in the Research Grants and Contracts Office work closely with

ContactRole Description

 

 

Matthew Just
Intellectual Property and Legal Manager
matthew.just@york.ac.uk
9435191

Please dial 943 from campus as Matthew is based on York Science Park

 

Michael Barber
Contracts and Sponsorship Manager
michael.barber@york.ac.uk
9435154

Please dial 943 from campus as Michael is based on York Science Park

 

Eoghan Gannon
Contracts Officer
eoghan.gannon@york.ac.uk
9567643

Please dial 956 from campus as Eoghan is based on York Science Park