This event has now finished.
  • Date and time: Wednesday 24 May 2023, 6.30pm to 7.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    RCH/037, Ron Cooke Hub, Campus East, University of York (Map)
  • Audience: Open to alumni, staff, students, the public
  • Admission: Free admission, booking required

Event details

York Ideas Lecture

Join us in conversation Amish Tripathi, as he discusses his journey from banker to author of the fastest-selling & second-fastest-selling book series in Indian publishing history.  His Shiva Trilogy and Ram Chandra series have introduced a new generation in India to their mythology, and also brought that mythology to a global audience. With his latest book, War of Lanka, recently published, Amish will join University of York professor of Global Literature, Claire Chambers, to discuss what inspired him to write; the challenges he has faced; his interest in mythology, and the place of India in today’s world.

There will be an opportunity to buy War of Lanka and a selection of other books by Amish from independent book-seller, Fox Lane Books; Amish will also be signing books.

This event will be followed by a drinks reception. 

About the speaker

Amish Tripathi is a diplomat and author.

Amish published his first book in 2010 and has written 10 books (both fiction and non-fiction) till date. His books have sold 6.5 million copies and been translated into 20 Indian and international languages. His Shiva Trilogy is the fastest-selling book series in Indian publishing history. His Ram Chandra Series (4 of 5 books released) is the second-fastest-selling book series in Indian publishing history. Critics have said that his books are backed by tremendous research, deep thought, a rooted-pride in India, and a liberal progressive outlook.

Forbes India has regularly ranked Amish among the top 100 most influential celebrities in India. Amish was also selected as an Eisenhower Fellow, a prestigious American programme for outstanding leaders from around the world, in 2014. He won the 21st Century Icon Award in the UK in 2021 and the Golden Book award for his novel Suheldev in 2022.

He is also a host for TV documentaries, including for Discovery TV’s highly acclaimed and award-winning Legends of the Ramayan with Amish.

In his diplomatic role, Amish works as the Minister (Culture and Education) at the Indian High Commission to the UK and the Director of The Nehru Centre in London.

Amish is an alumnus of the prestigious Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Calcutta; He received the Eminent Alumnus Award from IIM-Calcutta in 2017. He worked for 14 years in the financial services industry before turning to writing.

Amish is a voracious reader, reading 5-6 books on average every month. He is a music aficionado and was the lead singer in his college band in IIM-C. He was an active sportsperson, particularly in boxing and gymnastics, in his school and college days.

Claire Chambers is professor of Global Literature in the Department of English and Related Literature at the University of York. She is an expert in contemporary South Asian literature written in English and literary representations of British Muslims.

A brief introduction to the Ram Chandra Series

The first three books in the Ram Chandra Series are Ram-Scion of Ikshvaku, Sita-Warrior of Mithila and Raavan-Enemy of Aryavarta. These three books are written in a multi-line arnarrative form of storytelling. What is that? Essentially, it’s parallel story lines from the perspective of different characters. A story moves on the shoulders of its principal characters and the three main ones of the Ram Chandra Series are Lord Ram, Goddess Sita and Raavan. So then, the three books follow three parallel story lines which converge at one common cataclysmic event. Ram-Scion of Ikshvaku, tells the story of Lord Ram from his birth to the kidnapping of Goddess Sita. Sita-Warrior of Mithila chronicles the tale of Goddess Sita from her birth to her kidnapping. And lastly, Raavan-Enemy of Aryavarta follows the story of Raavan from his birth to when he kidnaps Goddess Sita. From the fourth book i.e., War of  Lanka onwards, all these narratives merge into one common strand. The first three books of the Ram Chandra Series will immerse you with a deep understanding of the three principal characters of the tale, so that you are well prepared for what is to follow: War of Lanka!

War of Lanka as the name suggests is a tale of the great epic and slaughterous war fought between Lord Ram and Raavan. This book begins where the first three end- at the kidnapping of Lady Sita. The main three characters stand for their beliefs as the war begins- Lord Ram for Dharma and Justice, Lady Sita for Love and Honour, Raavan for Greed and Pride.

Will Ram defeat the ruthless and fiendish Raavan, constrained as he is by the laws of Dharma? Will Lanka burn to a cinder or fight back like a cornered tiger? Will the terrible costs of war be worth the victory?