People in YSBL

The tabs below show YSBL personnel by category, and within each category in alphabetical order.  A small number of people may appear in more than one category.

Academic & senior staff

‌ NameContactRole
A
Dr Jon Agirre Dr Jon Agirre jon.agirre@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328252
Room B/K065
Royal Society University Research Fellow
Integrative carbohydrate structure determination

 

Professor Fred Antson Professor Fred Antson fred.antson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328255
Room B/L018
Professor
Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow
Protein-nucleic acid interactions
B
Dr Jamie Blaza Dr Jamie Blaza jamie.blaza@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 325887
Room B/K174
Lecturer
Cryo-Electron Microscopy
Professor Marek Brzozowski Professor Andrzej Marek Brzozowski marek.brzozowski@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328265
Room B/K152
Professor
Structural endocrinology; membrane proteins; development of methods for protein crystallisation
C
Dr Kevin Cowtan Professor Kevin Cowtan

kevin.cowtan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328271
Room B/K265

Professor
Automated protein structure solution
D
Professor Gideon Davies Professor Gideon Davies gideon.davies@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328260
Room B/K168
Professor
Structural enzymology and carbohydrate chemistry
Professor Eleanor Dodson Professor Eleanor Dodson eleanor.dodson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328253
Room B/K264
Professor emerita
Methods for x-ray structure determination
F
Dr Martin Fascione Dr Martin Fascione

martin.fascione@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328822
Room C/B024

Lecturer
Chemical Biology

G
Dr Gideon Grogan Professor Gideon Grogan gideon.grogan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328256
Room B/M221
Professor
Structure, function and application of novel biocatalysts
H
Professor Rod Hubbard Professor Rod Hubbard roderick.hubbard@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328267
Room B/K173
Professor
Structure-based drug discovery
P
Dr Michael Plevin Dr Michael Plevin michael.plevin@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328682
Room B/L113
Senior Lecturer, Department of Biology
Molecular Biophysics
Jen Potts Professor Jennifer Potts

jennifer.potts@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328679
Room B/L105

Professor, Head of Department of Biology
Molecular Biophysics
S
Dr Seishi Shimizu Dr Seishi Shimizu seishi.shimizu@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328281
Room B/K064
Senior Lecturer
Solvents, solvation, and solubility; Statistical thermodynamics of biomolecules, drugs, and food
W
Professor Tony Wilkinson Professor Tony Wilkinson tony.wilkinson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328261
Room B/K169
Professor
Structural analysis of proteins involved in cell fate and disease processes
Dr Lianne Willems Dr Lianne Willems

lianne.willems@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1094 321293
Room C/B026

Lecturer
Chemical Biology of Carbohydrates and Carbohydrate-Processing Enzymes
Professor Keith Wilson Professor Keith Wilson keith.wilson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 328262
Room B/K170
Professor
Structure-function relationships of biological macromolecules using protein crystallographic techniques 

Research & Technical

.

 NameContactRole
A
Zach Armstrong Dr Zach Armstrong zach.armstrong@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

B
 Oliver Bayfield Oliver Bayfield oliver.bayfield@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Antson Group

Dr Elena Blagova Dr Elena Blagova lena.blagova@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Wilson Group

Juliet Borgia Juliet Borgia juliet.borgia@york.ac.uk

Research Support Technician

Wet lab technical team

Dr Jim Brannigan Jim Brannigan jim.brannigan@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Wilkinson Group

C
Maria Chechik Maria Chechik maria.chechik@york.ac.uk

Research Technician

Antson Group

 Anibal Cuetos Anibal Cuetos anibal.cuetosfernandez

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Grogan Group

D
‌‌      
F
Orsolya Frittmann Orsolya Frittmann orsolya.frittmann@york.ac.uk

Research Technician

Brzozowski Group

G
Dr Sandra Greive Dr Sandra Greive sandra.greive@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Antson Group

Simon Grist Simon Grist simon.grist@york.ac.uk

Chief Technician

Wet lab technical team

H
Louise Haigh Louise Haigh louise.haigh@york.ac.uk

Research Support Technician

Wet lab technical team

Sam Hart Sam Hart sam.hart@york.ac.uk

X-ray Technician

X-ray lab technical team

 Scott Hoh (soonwen.hoh@york.ac.uk) Dr Scott Hoh soonwen.hoh@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Cowtan Group

J
Dr Huw Jenkins Dr Huw Jenkins huw.jenkins@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Antson Group

K
Tim Kirk Tim Kirk tim.kirk@york.ac.uk

Computing Manager

IT support

L
Dr Vladimir Levdikov Dr Vladimir Levdikov vladimir.levdikov@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Antson Group

M
 Alexandra Males Alexandra Males alexandra.males@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

 Richard Meek Dr Richard Meek richard.meek@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

Nicholas McGregor Dr Nicholas McGregor nicholas.mcgregor@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

Dr Stuart McNicholas Dr Stuart McNicholas stuart.mcnicholas@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Wilson Group

Dr Olga Moroz Dr Olga Moroz olga.moroz@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Wilson Group

O
Wendy Offen Wendy Offen wendy.offen@york.ac.uk

Research Technician

Davies Group

R
       
S
 ‌Mahima Sharma 70-90 Oct 2018 Dr Mahima Sharma mahima.sharma@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

T
Dr Johan Turkenburg Dr Johan Turkenburg johan.turkenburg@york.ac.uk

X-ray Facilities Manager

X-ray lab technical team

U
Saioa Urresti Dr Saioa Urresti saioa.urresti@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

V
Dr Cristina Viola Dr Cristina Viola cristina.viola@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Brzozowski Group

W
Dr Liang Wu Dr Liang Wu liang.wu@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Davies Group

Admin & Support

 NameContactRole
Administrative staff
Kate Ball ysbl-admin@york.ac.uk YSBL Group Administrator 
Jane Harrison Jane Harrison ysbl-admin@york.ac.uk YSBL Administrative Assistant
Technical staff - wet lab
Simon Grist Simon Grist simon.grist@york.ac.uk Chief Technician (Wet Lab)
Juliet Borgia Juliet Borgia juliet.borgia@york.ac.uk Research Support Technician (wet lab)
Louise Haigh Louise Haigh louise.haigh@york.ac.uk Research Support Technician (wet lab)
Technical staff - X-ray
Dr Johan Turkenburg Johan Turkenburg johan.turkenburg@york.ac.uk X-ray Facilities Manager
Sam Hart Sam Hart sam.hart@york.ac.uk X-ray technician
Support to x-ray facilities
Technical staff - computing
Tim Kirk Tim Kirk tim.kirk@york.ac.uk Computing Manager
& IT support

Students

NameContactRoleGroup
Manal Alzahrani mmaa514@york.ac.uk PhD Student Agirre
Mihaela Atanasova ma766@york.ac.uk PhD Student Agirre
Haroldas Bagdonas hb1115@york.ac.uk PhD Student Agirre
Lily Bailey larb500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Antson
Verity Barber vb716@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Megan Bennett mlb533@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Paul Bond paul.bond@york.ac.uk PhD Student Cowtan
Rosalind Booth rlb583@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilson
Robin Brabham rb847@york.ac.uk PhD Student Fascione
Ginevra Camboni gc1058@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Thomas Downes tdd510@york.ac.uk PhD Student Hubbard
Cristiana, Furlan cf1059@york.ac.uk PhD Student Blaza
Mengyu Ge mg1067@york.ac.uk PhD Student Antson
Amelia Gilio akg522@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Dorothy Hawkins dh1108@york.ac.uk PhD Student Antson
Zoe Ingold zii500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Jenny Hayes jah599@york.ac.uk PhD Student Fascione
Nathaniel Holman nh661@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilkinson
Katie Huxley keh536@york.ac.uk PhD Student Willems
De-Sheng Ker dk882@york.ac.uk PhD Student Antson
Hanna Klein hfk505@york.ac.uk PhD Student Hubbard
Paul Jones spj504@york.ac.uk PhD Student Hubbard
Bas Lamoree bl944@york.ac.uk PhD Student Hubbard
Peter Lindley pl683@york.ac.uk PhD Student Davies
Angelo Lopez al1510@york.ac.uk PhD Student Willems
Eleni Makraki em1230@york.ac.uk PhD Student Hubbard
John Nabarro jjnn500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Fascione
Thomas Nicol twjn500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Shimizu
Mateusz Olek mjo508@york.ac.uk PhD Student Cowtan
Alessandro Paradisi ap1548@york.ac.uk PhD Student Davies
Mark Petchey mp828@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Balazs Pogranyi bp826@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Wendy Robinson wxqr500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
William Rochira wjr510@york.ac.uk PhD Student Cowtan
Matthew Rose mr1316@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilkinson
Rhianna Rowland rjr519@york.ac.uk PhD Student Davies
Benjamin Rowlinson br674@york.ac.uk PhD Student Grogan
Catherine Russell cr831@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilkinson
Sonam Sidhu ss2596@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilkinson
Alexander Snow ajds502@york.ac.uk PhD Student Davies
James Southwell jws522@york.ac.uk PhD Student Wilson
Martin Steward mjs552@york.ac.uk PhD Student Davies
Emily Thompson et763@york.ac.uk PhD Student Jenkins/Antson
Tom Ward trw507@york.ac.uk PhD Student Willems
Nick Yates ndjy500@york.ac.uk PhD Student Fascione

Associates and visitors

 NameContactRoleHome institution
  Zeynep Ziylan Visiting Assoc University of Groningen, The Netherlands