York Graduate Research School Board

York Graduate Research School Board reports to Senate via University Research Committee.

Terms of reference

The York Graduate Research School Board (YGRSB) oversees the work of York Graduate Research School which is responsible for postgraduate research provision at the University.

Contact us

Chair: Professor Kate Arnold
Dean of York Graduate Research School

For agendas and minutes: PGR Quality and Governance


2a) Strategic development, planning, performance monitoring and resourcing: items for consideration and/or decision

  1. To develop, monitor the implementation of, and review the vision and strategy for YGRS.
  2. To champion postgraduate researchers (PGRs) within the University, including the contribution that PGRs make to the University's research strategy, and to promote a research culture, at all levels within the institution, that is supportive of PGRs.
  3. To identify national and international developments relating to postgraduate research (PGR) provision and ensure that appropriate action is taken so that York remains competitive with other research intensive institutions.
  4. Through the work of its sub-committees, to:
    • develop, monitor and review regulations, policies and guidance on PGR matters, including Regulation 2 and the Policy on Research Degrees;
    • ensure accountability, transparency and consistency with respect to the funding and recruitment of PGRs;
    • assure the standards of PGR programmes, and to monitor and promote the enhancement of the quality of the academic experience of PGRs;
    • coordinate and oversee matters relating to the personal and professional development of PGRs and their wellbeing.
  5. To monitor the development and delivery of strategic PGR initiatives including Doctoral Training Partnerships, Centres for Doctoral Training and similar, and international collaborations with a significant PGR component to ensure they meet their objectives.
  6. To act as a Board of Studies for interdisciplinary PGR programmes (in accordance with the supplementary terms of reference).
  7. To promote equality, diversity and inclusion in relation to all the above.

Ex officio members

Student representatives

  • Mardan Nasier, President of the GSA
  • Cytheria Shen, GSA Vice-President (Academic) or Aurora Zhang, GSA Vice-President (Welfare) 

Appointed academic members


  • Tom Banham, Interim Academic Registrar
  • Justine Daniels (from January 2024), Director of Research and Enterprise
  • Jonny Exon, CEO of GSA
  • Professor Jonathan Finch, Faculty PGR Lead for Arts and Humanities
  • Professor Alison Laird, Faculty PGR Lead for Sciences
  • Dr Daryl Martin, Faculty PGR Lead for Social Sciences
  • Tom Richens, Deputy Head of Student Administration (PGRs and Casework) (Secretary)


  • Jess Main, PGRA Student Services Officer (Minute Secretary) 


One third of members including at least two at PVC, Dean or Associate Dean level.

Membership review

Elected members are elected by Faculty Executive Groups following a nomination process.

Elected members should be current or former Graduate Chairs (or similar, eg DTP/CDT leads) and/or have considerable experience of supervising PGRs.

For elected members, the standard term of office is three years and maximum term is six years.

Meeting dates 2023/2024

Date Time
Monday 11 December 10am to 12 noon
Thursday 21 March 10am to 12 noon
Thursday 13 June 10am to 12 noon

Meeting frequency

Three times per academic year

Meeting modes

Meetings may be in person or via Zoom.

Meeting Regular items of business Source
Semester 1
~ week 11
  • Update on YGRS vision and strategy
  • Risk register
  • Minutes of sub-committees
  • Annual YGRS Report
  • Board of Studies (BoS) business for any interdisciplinary PhD programmes where YGRS is serving as BoS (BMS)
  • PGR Outcomes report, Supervision Compliance report and Annual Complaints Report all to be Category II papers.
  • Dean
  • Dean
  • BoS(s)
Semester 2
~ week 6
  • Summary PRES (biennial) and PGR annual review reports
  • Minutes of sub-committees
  • Interdisciplinary PhD BoS business
  • Research Special Cases Report
  • PPPC
  • BoS(s)
  • PGRA
Summer Vacation
~ July
  • Annual report on CITY College PhD Programme
  • Minutes of sub-committees including PoRD changes
  • Interdisciplinary PhD BoS business
  • JDEC
  • BoS(s)

Parent committee and associated committees

Contact us

Chair: Professor Kate Arnold
Dean of York Graduate Research School

For agendas and minutes: PGR Quality and Governance