Accessibility statement

Our Staff

Situated in the state of the art, award-winning Piazza Building, the IPC comprises highly skilled, qualified and experienced staff in the following teams: 

Leadership and Management

Our Leadership and Management team comprises Academic, Professional Support, and Student Support colleagues, who oversee the IPC and work towards our continued success. These colleagues work very closely together, along with all other members of the IPC, as well as colleagues from the wider University, our partners at Kaplan, and external third parties.

Academic Teaching

Our Academic Teaching colleagues are all highly skilled, well-experienced and trained teachers. They work very closely with our students and other staff, both inside and outside of the IPC, to develop students’ skills and knowledge in order to prepare them for their onwards degree programmes. Many of our Academic Teaching colleagues have lived and worked abroad and are familiar with what it is like for our students to be living and studying in another country.

Professional and Academic Support

This team provides a range of administrative support to the department. This includes Exam and Assessment support, managing Pre-Sessional enquiries and data, procurement and servicing of the various departmental committees and boards.

Student Support

Starting a new life in a different country can be a daunting prospect. Student Support are here to help you with all aspects of your life and studies from pre—arrival, welcome, support during your studies, progression to your onward degree and beyond. We help with everything from accommodation, settling into your new life in the UK, making friends and becoming part of the student community at the University of York as well as professional development and taking the first steps into your chosen future career. Our dedicated team will help you make the most of your studies and we are there to support you through each step of your journey.

The Board

Chair(s) of Board of Studies: Claire Speck and Zander Lee

Chair of Ethics Committee: Matthew Perry

Chair of Exceptional Circumstances Affecting Assessment Committee: Louise Rudd

Chair of the Staff Student Liaison Committee: Iain Brennan

Athena Swan Leader: Julia Lancaster

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Leader: Sandra Jeffrey

Department Safety Officer: Ben Flowerdew