2012 news

Up Close and Personal with the Human Brain

Posted on Monday 10 December 2012

MSc Cognitive Neuroscience students visited the Hull-York Medical School, where Professor Tim Andrews led them through a human brain dissection.

Studying Primate Communication

Posted on Thursday 22 November 2012

A student’s guide to the basics in a new YouTube video.

Love or money?

Posted on Tuesday 11 September 2012

York study shows men and women’s criteria for choosing a partner are less different in societies with greater equality.

P.Thompson(pt2)-75w
BPS award for top teaching

Posted on Wednesday 22 August 2012

The British Psychological Society’s Award for Excellence in Psychology Education 2012 has been given to Dr Peter Thompson.

Graduates 2012
Graduation Day

Posted on Friday 20 July 2012

Well done to our BSc Psychology students who graduated on 13th July.

2013 PhD Studentships Available

Posted on Wednesday 18 July 2012

Apply now for funding to support your PhD in Psychology at the University of York

New honour for Prof Alan Baddeley

Posted on Friday 13 July 2012

Professor Alan Baddeley has received the British Psychological Society's Lifetime Achievement award.

Honorary Graduand, Prof. William Marslen-Wilson

Posted on Friday 6 July 2012

Professor William Marslen-Wilson was presented with an honorary doctorate at the University’s graduation ceremony on 13th July 2012.

Dr Peter Thompson carries Olympic Torch

Posted on Wednesday 20 June 2012

Professor Steve Tipper joins the Department

Posted on Wednesday 20 June 2012

Professor Steve Tipper will join the Department of Psychology at the University of York in January 2013.

Sven Mattys
Prof Sven Mattys joins the Department

Posted on Tuesday 8 May 2012

Professor Sven Mattys will join the Department of Psychology at the University of York in September 2012.

Dr Peter Thompson
Honey, I shrunk the VC!

Posted on Tuesday 8 May 2012

PhD for Neural Network: Predicts Reoffending

Posted on Tuesday 8 May 2012

Congratulations to Dominic Pearson who successfully completed his PhD last week.

70w
BPS Awards for Lifetime Achievement and Best PhD

Posted on Thursday 26 April 2012

Third year students speak at BPS Conference

Posted on Wednesday 28 March 2012

Natalie catches a ball
Psychology welcomes local year 10 pupils.

Posted on Tuesday 27 March 2012

Natalie North attempting to catch a ball while wearing prisms

Natalie catches a ball
Psychology welcomes local year 10 pupils.

Posted on Tuesday 27 March 2012

Natalie North attempting to catch a ball while wearing prisms

brain showing areas of activation during face priocessing
Research brings new insights into face recognition

Posted on Wednesday 7 March 2012

New research shows that responses to changing images of familiar and unfamiliar faces are surprisingly similar...

PhD student wins American Psychology-Law Society prize

Posted on Thursday 16 February 2012

New ESRC grant to study memory consolidation in sleep

Posted on Thursday 16 February 2012

Psychology students win 'Apprentice' challenge

Posted on Thursday 19 January 2012

News archive