2015 News

Q.Summerfield(aqs1)-75w
Head of Department to visit Hong Kong in January 2016

Posted on Monday 21 December 2015

Professor Quentin Summerfield will visit Hong Kong from 18th-25th January 2016. You can meet him and learn about Psychology at York at the British Council on 19th January and at other events during the week.


Eight PhD Studentships

Posted on Friday 13 November 2015

Eight fully funded PhD studentships are available for October 2016, deadline for applications: January 11th 2016


Four New Posts Available in the Department

Posted on Monday 12 October 2015

Three research posts and one administrative job are currently available, following the recent award of a four-year £1.3M ESRC research grant to Dr Lisa Henderson and Professor Gareth Gaskell at York, in collaboration with Professor Courtenay Norbury from University College London.


earthrise thumb
International Students excel in Psychology at York

Posted on Monday 6 July 2015

Eight gain 1st class Honours


Face recognition specialists meet at York

Posted on Sunday 5 July 2015

The department recently hosted an event for face recognition researchers and practitioners.


Three New Lectureships in Psychology

Posted on Monday 29 June 2015

Three lecturers to be appointed as Department expands following REF success and introduction of 4-year MPsych Programme


Artistic Autistic triumphs at national competition

Posted on Monday 22 June 2015

Artistic Autistic represented the University of York at national competition Uni Popshop and won three out of four prizes.


G.Phillips(gdp1)-75w
Dr Gavin Phillips wins ‘Inspirational Lecturer’ award

Posted on Tuesday 16 June 2015

Student led excellence awards votes Gavin most inspirational lecturer of the year.


Cycologists complete YuCycle 2015

Posted on Tuesday 9 June 2015

Seven keen cycologists from York Psychology completed this year's YuCycle challenge.


Prestigious Award for founding Head of Department

Posted on Friday 8 May 2015

Professor Peter Venables receives his Lifetime Achievement Award at BPS conference


K.Slocombe(ks553)-75w
‘Real-life Dr Dolittles’

Posted on Tuesday 28 April 2015

Dr Katie Slocombe takes part in a Nature podcast about animal communication.


Smartphone face recognition improved by copying the brain

Posted on Tuesday 31 March 2015

Face recognition security on smartphones can be significantly improved if users store an ‘average’ photo of themselves.


‘Face Facts’ say ScienceGrrl Psychologists

Posted on Wednesday 11 March 2015

In celebration of International Women’s Day, Dr Kay Ritchie and Eilidh Noyes challenge visitors’ face perception skills at the Yorkshire Museum


Dr Jonny Smallwood wins €1.8M European Research Council grant

Posted on Wednesday 4 March 2015

Jonny’s project, entitled “Not all minds that wander are lost”, will explore the mechanisms that support our capacity to generate conscious thoughts.


Nick_Barraclough_020
Dr Nick Barraclough secures multimillion pound interdisciplinary grant

Posted on Thursday 26 February 2015

A University of York interdisciplinary collaboration has led to a large research grant being secured.


Specialist neuroimaging workshop announced.

Posted on Monday 23 February 2015

Two day course in Multivariate Pattern Analysis tools, May 11-12 2015.


University of York seeks Professor of Clinical/Forensic Psychology

Posted on Friday 20 February 2015

The Department aims to appoint a leading academic to develop world-class research and extend our teaching excellence in these areas.


Dr Rob Jenkins speaks to UN

Posted on Thursday 19 February 2015

Dr Rob Jenkins sets out the importance of Science in achieving the UN’s goals.


Psychology student to address national conference

Posted on Tuesday 17 February 2015

Ellie Whittaker will help Women’s Football Festival to boost cancer charity.


A fearful chimp responds to the snake Budongo Forest, Uganda. Credit: Anne Schel
Chimps learn to share calls that refer to specific foods

Posted on Thursday 5 February 2015

Sounds converge when two communities collide


Royal Institution talk

Posted on Monday 12 January 2015

Professor Sven Mattys delivered a public talk on his research on understanding speech.


How do we perceive and understand faces?

Posted on Friday 9 January 2015

Face expert Professor Andy Young explains.


News archive