Accessibility statement

2021 News

Public Reason, Partisanship and the Containment of the Populist Radical Right

Wednesday 5 May 2021

Journal article by Gabriele Badano and Alasia Nuti


Future of Capitalism #12: Renewing the welfare state

Tuesday 4 May 2021

Professor Louise Haagh debate


Learning Community Newsletter Week 3

Tuesday 4 May 2021

All the latest from the department


Why COVID-19 Will Not Lead to Major Restructuring of Global Value Chains

Wednesday 28 April 2021

Dr Jappe Eckhardt's latest opinion piece


Learning Community Newsletter Week 2

Monday 26 April 2021

All the latest from the department


On the State as Political Form of Society

Thursday 22 April 2021

Professor Werner Bonefeld's opinion piece in Science and Society


The EU’s mysterious missing lobbyists: why haven’t firms been more active arguing against protectionism?

Wednesday 21 April 2021

Dr Jappe Eckhardt's opinion piece in The Conversation


Afghanistan pullout: Nato betrays its own values if interpreters and other local staff are left at risk

Wednesday 21 April 2021

Dr Sara De Jong's opinion piece in The Conversation


Laidlaw Scholarships

Wednesday 21 April 2021

Congratulations to four of our students


Learning Community Newsletter Week 1

Wednesday 21 April 2021

All the latest from the department


Academic Skills Courses

Tuesday 20 April 2021

See whats on offer


72nd Political Studies Association Conference 2022

Monday 19 April 2021

The Department of Politics is to host the 72nd PSA Conference


York Politics Review - writers wanted

Thursday 8 April 2021

Fancy yourself as a political writer?


Politics Society of the Year

Wednesday 31 March 2021

Congratulations to PolSoc



New plan for immigration could threaten a more hostile environment for asylum seekers

Friday 26 March 2021

Home secretary Priti Patel has announced plans to overhaul asylum rules - in this article, Professor Simon Parker from our Department of Politics explains why the move sets a worrying precedent.



Taking one for the team: Partisan alignment and planning outcomes in England

Thursday 25 March 2021

Liam Clegg's latest article


Global Development in the Top 100:

Monday 15 March 2021

Good news for the BA in Global Development and the IGDC



Learning Community Newsletter Week 9

Monday 8 March 2021

All the latest from the department


Living Liminal Lives: Army Partners’ Spatiotemporal Experiences of Deployment

Thursday 4 March 2021

Journal article by Dr Emma Long


Departmental Community Coordinators

Tuesday 2 March 2021

Welcome Ruby and Gemma


Learning Community Newsletter Week 8

Monday 1 March 2021

All the latest from the department


Learning Community Newsletter Week 7

Monday 22 February 2021

All the latest from the department


How racial hierarchies are determined by economics

Wednesday 17 February 2021

The latest piece by Remi Adekoya


Learning Community Newsletter Week 6

Monday 15 February 2021

All the latest from the department


Learning Community Newsletter Week 5

Monday 8 February 2021

All the latest from the department


PGR publishes article in PSA journal

Wednesday 27 January 2021

Soraya Hamdaoui, PGR, publishes article in The British Journal of Politics and International Relations


Argentina’s legalisation of abortion

Wednesday 27 January 2021

Blog by Professor Jean Grugel


Learning Community Newsletter Week 2

Monday 25 January 2021

All the latest from the department


ESRC New Investigator Grant for Dr Harriet Gray

Tuesday 19 January 2021

Project funding awarded


Learning Community Newsletter Week 1

Monday 18 January 2021

The latest from the department




PGR publishes article in international journal

Friday 8 January 2021

Soraya Hamdaoui, PGR, publishes article in International Journal of Cultural Policy


Biracial Britain

Thursday 7 January 2021

Best new books for 2021



Is it fair to select immigrants based on skill?

Tuesday 5 January 2021

Blog post by Dr Sara Van Goozen


The Burning Question

Monday 4 January 2021

Professor Neil Carter interviewed on Radio 4


News archive