Skip to content Accessibility statement
Home>Chancellor's Inauguration

Chancellor's Inauguration

On Tuesday 27 October 2015, we celebrated a key milestone in our history when we formally welcomed our sixth Chancellor, Professor Sir Malcolm Grant, to the University of York community.

The Inauguration Day featured events celebrating excellence found throughout the University community – rigorous research, world-class teaching, global connections, a vibrant student life and a strong community spirit.

Inauguration Ceremony

The inauguration ceremony took place in Central Hall. During the ceremony our new Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, our new honorary graduates reflected on our theme of excellence.

The Department of Music performed a range of stunning choral, orchestral and operatic pieces by Mozart, Monteverdi, Eric Whitacre and Handel.

Watch the Inauguration Ceremony

Introducing our Research Champions

The celebrations began at the National Science Learning Centre, offering the first opportunity to hear from our newly appointed Research Champions. Each Champion outlined their vision for the future, opportunities for collaboration and the key strengths inherent in each research theme.

This was followed by a buffet lunch where guests had the opportunity to engage with our diverse and dynamic student professional and vocational clubs and societies.

Research Champions' showcase

Inauguration highlights

Celebrating our Community and Fireworks Display

The University’s diverse and dynamic student performance clubs and societies delivered a vibrant family-friendly programme of events to celebrate our strong community spirit.

The evening concluded with a choreographed fireworks display, sponsored by Evans Property Group.

Honorary Graduate Master-classes

As is the York tradition, Sir Malcolm took the opportunity to confer degrees on three exemplars of our theme of excellence:

  • Robert Chote, Chair of the Office for Budgetary Responsibility
  • Hermann Hauser, technologist and entrepreneur
  • Sharon White, newly appointed Director of Ofcom.

All three of our honorary graduates delivered master-classes to our students.