PURE training & support

Who can I contact for training and support?

A series of user guides to help with using PURE are available. Additionally, in order to better ensure a support service that is more tailored to users needs, departmental administrators (see table below) have kindly agreed to act as local PURE contacts and should preferably be the first port of call for queries.

If your department is not listed or if your query is more general please contact the Research Systems Support Hub (for PURE: reo-pure-support@york.ac.uk; tel 5394 or 5395) and we’ll do our best to assist. We aim to respond to most queries within 2 working days but please be aware this may vary during holidays or busy periods. Users of Slack can also contact the research system support group on our channel @research-sys-support.

For enquiries on Open Access, White Rose Research Online (WRRO – York’s publications repository), Research Data Management and ORCID you can also contact the Library Research Support Team (lib-research-support@york.ac.uk).

DepartmentPURE contactEmailPhone extension
Archaeology Jo Tozer/Rhys Williams jo.tozer@york.ac.uk / rhys.williams@york.ac.uk 3921 / 3972
Biology Jane McCarthy/Tom Feasby biol-research-office@york.ac.uk 8502 / 8507
Chemistry Fiona Shaw chem-research@york.ac.uk 2602
Computer Science Bob French/Becky Polson/Ruth Weatherill cs-rso@york.ac.uk 5417 / 5669 / 5498
Electronic Engineering Paul Rosen/TBA elec-research-support@york.ac.uk 2230
English Helen Barrett helen.barrett@york.ac.uk 3336
Environment and Geography Annabel Jenkins/Andy Poyer environment-research@york.ac.uk 4063
History Caroline Edwards caroline.edwards@york.ac.uk 2980
Language & Linguistic Science Marianne McNeill marianne.mcneill@york.ac.uk 2651
Management Eric Swales eric.swales@york.ac.uk 5016
Mathematics Annabel Jenkins/Andy Poyer annabel.jenkins@york.ac.uk 3895 / 3071
Physics Iain Larmour/Jenni Priestley phys-research-support@york.ac.uk 6498 / 4315
Politics Bob Brown bob.brown@york.ac.uk

2694

Psychology Laura Tissiman laura.tissiman@york.ac.uk 3185
Sociology Sophie Bramley sophie.bramley@york.ac.uk 4736
Social Policy and Social Work Nicola Moody nicola.moody@york.ac.uk 1476
Theatre, Film & Television Marieke Nauta marieke.nauta@york.ac.uk 5237

What other guidance is available?

The "PURE Academy" provides online training session courses for PURE users, guided by Elsevier’s PURE support team:

https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/pure/campaigns/pure-academy

Launched in April 2017, the courses range from those designed to support personal users add content to PURE to those focused on ‘behind the scenes’ technical elements.  

If you attend any of these, please do let us know how you found them. Please also be assured that the Academy complements the existing guides and documentation. The PURE Support team will continue to answer questions and provide support.

Departmental training sessions tailored to your requirements can be arranged where sufficient demand exists.  Please contact the Research Systems Support Hub (for PURE: reo-pure-support@york.ac.uk; tel 5394) for further details.