Accessibility statement

Our inspirational research leaders

Posted on 9 January 2019

The appointment of eight world-class academics marks an important milestone for York research.

An image of fireworks and night sky.

Research excellence defines York; our research is dynamic, inspirational and life-changing. It makes a difference for individuals and communities around the globe. Our vision is that York should provide a home for some of the best research in the world, and be regarded as one of the best places in the world to do research.

Through targeted senior academic appointments and investment in research facilities, we have recruited eight world-class researchers who will make a major contribution to achieving our objectives. These individuals are acknowledged experts in their fields. They are international research leaders who will inspire and strengthen our academic community.

  • Professor Asifa Majid - Department of Psychology
  • Dr Benoit Vicedo - Department of Mathematics
  • Professor Christina van der Feltz-Cornelis - Department of Health Sciences
  • Professor Daniel Watts - Department of Physics
  • Professor Dawn Hadley - Department of Archaeology
  • Professor Matthew Ratcliffe - Department of Philosophy
  • Professor Gillian Russell - Department of English and Related Literature
  • Professor Tom McLeish - Chair of Natural Philosophy (interdisciplinary role)

Read more about each of our new research leaders, and how they will contribute to maintaining our position as an international centre of excellence: