Accessibility statement

Emerging Areas of Photochemistry: From Fundamentals to Applications Symposium

Posted on 28 March 2017

Over 130 researchers from across UK and overseas gathered at the Department of Chemistry of the University of York on 16th and 17th March 2017 for the Emerging Areas of Photochemistry: From Fundamentals to Applications symposium.

Attracting over 75 delegates from outside York, the conference brought together members of the national and international photochemistry and photophysics community to highlight and discuss the most recent innovations.

Reflecting the diverse research interests and expertise offered at the Department of Chemistry, the meeting provided an excellent platform for networking and bringing insight to topics such as high level theory, time-resolved magnetic resonance, artificial photosynthesis and biomedical applications. With a strong focus on triggering lively discussions and interaction among a wide audience of academics, PhD students, postdoctoral researchers and industrialists, the conference hosted an outstanding programme of stimulating presentations from renowned scientists within the field.

The invited external speakers were: Andrée Kirsch-De Mesmaeker (Free University of Brussels), Peter Seeberger (Max Planck Institute & Free University of Berlin), Ally Aukauloo (University of Paris-Sud), Chantal Daniel (University of Strasbourg), Robert Bittl (Free University of Berlin), Christian Bressler (European X-Ray Free Electron Laser, Germany), Julia Weinstein (University of Sheffield), Erwin Reisner (University of Cambridge), Christiane Timmel (University of Oxford) and Cvetelin Vasilev (University of Sheffield).

l:r Christian Bressler, Chantal Daniel, Ally Aukauloo, Jason Lynam, Julia Weinstein & Elizabeth Gibsonl:r Christopher Unsworth, Anne Duhme-Klair, Andrée Kirsch-De Mesmaeker, Cvetelin Vasilev, Erwin Reisner & Peter Seeberger

The conference also included talks by Department members, including Jason Lynam, Anne Duhme-Klair, Barbara Procacci, Chris Unsworth, Edward Matthews, and Pedro Nunes.

We would like to congratulate Yvonne Choo (Newcastle University) who won the best poster presentation, and Ben Coulson (University of York) and Nils Põldme (Newcastle University) who won the Solar Fuels Network poster prizes (first prize and runner-up, respectively).

l:r Yvonne Choo, Ben Coulson & Nils Põldme

Reflecting the high calibre of scientists who have supported this event, we thank Elizabeth Gibson (Newcastle University) and Martin Paterson (Heriot-Watt University) for joining us as external chairs and Robin Perutz, Caroline Dessent and Meghan Halse for acting as our internal chairs. We also thank our sponsors the University of York, EPSRC, Solar Fuels Network, Alvatek, Asynt and Uniqsis for allowing us to put together a research showcase for the photochemistry community.