Accessibility statement

3 minute thesis competition

Posted on 20 June 2016

We are proud that Education PhD students Veronica Garcia Castro, Laura Louise Nicklin and Laura Oxley qualified for the 3 Minute Thesis Final 2016.

To reach this point in the University of York competition, research students submitted abstracts about their research and attend an audition in April.  Ten finalists were selected and attended a training event on 27 May.

Students are assessed against the following judging criteria for the competition:

  • Comprehension and content
  • Engagement
  • Communication



Judges include:

Andrew Barton

BBC Radio York

Dr Karen Clegg

Director of Research Development, UoY (Chair)

Professor Tom Stoneham

York Graduate Research School Dean, UoY

Caryn Douglas

White Rose College of the Arts & Humanities (WRoCASH)  Manager, UoY

Karen Bloor

Research Champion, UoY

James Stachan

2015 3MT winner, Psychology, UoY


The semi-finals are in July 2016 and final in September 2016. 

We wish best of luck to the representatives of the Department!