Borthwick news: 2019

New Digital Preservation Archivist

Posted on Tuesday 29 October 2019

Dorothy Waugh has been appointed as the Borthwick Institute's new digital preservation archivist.

Seasonal Opening Hours

Posted on Tuesday 8 October 2019

If you’re planning to visit us across December and the festive season, please be aware of the following closures.

Searchroom Closure - 3rd September 2019

Posted on Monday 19 August 2019

On Tuesday 3rd September 2019 the main searchroom will be closed until 2pm for a general staff meeting.

Publications news

Posted on Tuesday 13 August 2019

We’re pleased to announce three new exciting publications, available to purchase via our online shop.

New Keeper of Archives and Special Collections

Posted on Thursday 1 August 2019

Gary Brannan has been appointed as the new Keeper of Archives and Special Collections at the University of York.

Searchroom Refurbishment, Temporary Service Changes and Graduation: W/C 15th July 2019

Posted on Thursday 11 July 2019

The Searchroom will be closed on 15th July, with temporary service changes until 22nd July, owing to refurbishment work. Graduation ceremonies will be taking place on Campus from 17th to 20th July.

Lascelles Slavery Archive Website Downtime - Wednesday 17th July

Posted on Thursday 11 July 2019

The Lascelles Slavery Archive website will be unavailable on Wednesday 17th July owing to essential maintenance.

Wartime love story discovered in the archives

Posted on Wednesday 19 June 2019

Archivists at the University of York have discovered a record of the wartime romance of Margaret and Sidney who met in York in 1943 and married the following year.

Forthcoming Searchroom Closures

Posted on Friday 3 May 2019

The Borthwick Institute will be closed on Monday 6th May, Monday 27th May and the morning of Tuesday 21st May.

Chris and Katherine Webb

Posted on Wednesday 3 April 2019

Chris and Katherine Webb retire from The Borthwick Institute on 5th April 2019.

Launch of The Northern Way

Posted on Monday 4 February 2019

A 3 year project funded by AHRC and run in partnership with the National Archives to investigate the political role of the 14th century archbishops of York.

Yorkshire Historical Dictionary Launch Event

Posted on Wednesday 2 January 2019

Friday 11 January 2019, 7.00pm to 8.45pm, Room RCH/037, Ron Cooke Hub