Borthwick news: 2014

Collections development and Christmas service

Posted on Thursday 27 November 2014

The main searchroom will be closed for one week commencing Monday 8th December for collection development.

Early closure, Tuesday 25 November

Posted on Monday 24 November 2014

On Tuesday 25 November the searchroom will close early at 3.00pm.

Our enquiry and reprographics service

Posted on Wednesday 12 November 2014

Due to an extraordinarily high demand, users of our enquiry and reprographics service may experience a longer response time than normal.

Access to the Retreat archive

Posted on Friday 17 October 2014

As we prepare the Retreat archive for digitisation, some disruption to access to the documents via the searchroom will be unavoidable.

Parish Records online

Posted on Tuesday 30 September 2014

Over 3.2 million entries from the historic Parish Registers and Bishops' transcripts which we care for are now available online in conjunction with Findmypast

Who were the Aero Girls?

Posted on Thursday 25 September 2014

An exciting new virtual exhibition about the Aero Girls is now available

Service notice

Posted on Monday 22 September 2014

On Monday 10 November please note that the searchroom will be closed for staff training and development.

Japanese collector donates medieval manuscripts

Posted on Wednesday 3 September 2014

A prominent Japanese academic has donated fragments of Latin medieval manuscripts and seven fragments of early printed books to the University of York.

Bank Holiday service

Posted on Wednesday 20 August 2014

On Monday 25 August the main searchroom will be closed for the Bank Holiday.

Searchroom Closure

Posted on Friday 25 July 2014

During the morning on Monday 18 August the searchroom will be closed due to staff meetings.

Searchroom closures

Posted on Monday 7 July 2014

Our main searchroom will be closed between 9-11 July.

Customer Service Excellence award for Library, IT and Archives

Posted on Tuesday 1 July 2014

The Information Directorate - Library, IT and Archives - has recently been accredited with the Customer Services Excellence (CSE) award.

War Memorials exhibition

Posted on Thursday 26 June 2014

An exhibition of architectural material from the Atkinson Brierley archive takes in the different forms in which First World War memorials were conceived and realised

Work Experience Placements available

Posted on Friday 20 June 2014

The Borthwick Institute for Archives has an opportunity for University of York students interested in buildings history to work in a stimulating and fast-paced environment.

The Pity of War

Posted on Wednesday 7 May 2014

Conflict and remembrance in the Special Collections at the University of York

Searchroom closures

Posted on Monday 17 March 2014

Over the Easter break and select days in May our main searchroom will be closed.

New Borthwick website launched

Posted on Tuesday 25 February 2014

We have redesigned our website and hope you will find the new structure clear and easy to navigate.

Who were the Aero Girls?

Posted on Tuesday 25 February 2014

Talk & discussion exploring the mystery behind 20 enigmatic portraits used in Rowntree's 1950s Aero chocolate adverts