Accessibility statement

2020 events

Exploring Constellations

Friday 11 December 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Persianisms: Cultural Encounters in the Anglophone World

Thursday 10 December 2020

Registration is now open for this online colloquium

Exploring Constellations

Friday 4 December 2020

A William Black Virtual "Reading" Group

Q&A with Lynn Festa (Rutgers)

Wednesday 2 December 2020

Join us for a Q&A with the author of Fiction without Humanity: Person, Animal, Thing in Early Enlightenment Literature and Culture (2019).

Pro Bono Publico: James Ashley, Punch and the Alcoholic Drinks Trade in Eighteenth-Century London

Tuesday 1 December 2020

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Tyler Rainford (University of Bristol)

Exploring Constellations

Friday 27 November 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Transformation of Royal Progresses and Royal Image in Britain, 1760-1830

Tuesday 24 November 2020

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Paige Emerick (University of Leicester)

Exploring Constellations

Friday 20 November 2020

A William Black Virtual "Reading" Group

Fiction without Humanity: Person, Animal, Thing in Early Enlightenment Literature and Culture (2019)

Wednesday 18 November 2020

A reading group with Lynn Festa, Rutgers

"Republican Countess”: Lady Londonderry and the Irish Rebellion of 1798

Saturday 14 November 2020

York Georgian Society lecture with Dr. Catriona Kennedy

Exploring Constellations

Friday 13 November 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Alexander Walker, Historical Knowledge and Service in British India, 1791-1831

Tuesday 10 November 2020

CECS PG Forum with Hannah Kelly (University of Liverpool)

Exploring Constellations

Friday 6 November 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Colonialism and the idea of 'sex' in eighteenth-century Enlightenment thought

Tuesday 3 November 2020

CECS Research Seminar with Onni Gust, University of Nottingham

Queens at the Spa: Catherine of Braganza and Mary of Modena at Bath and Tunbridge Wells

Tuesday 3 November 2020

CECS PG Forum with Susannah Whaley (University of Auckland)

Exploring Constellations

Friday 30 October 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Lewis Todd, Fossil Talk: Coleridge, Hutton, and the Geo-logic of Language

Tuesday 27 October 2020

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Lewis Todd (University of Cambridge)

Exploring Constellations

Friday 23 October 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

‘Sublime Archimedean Art’: Shelley’s Steam Engine

Wednesday 21 October 2020

CECS Research Seminar with John Gardner, Anglia Ruskin University

Exploring Constellations

Friday 16 October 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

The Heroines of Harris' List: Narratives of Rape, Seduction and Debauchery in London's 1790s Bawdy Pamphlets

Tuesday 13 October 2020

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Francesca Killoran (University of York)

New Insights into the Restoration of Fairfax House

Saturday 10 October 2020

York Georgian Society Lecture with Dr. Ralph Harrington

Exploring Constellations

Friday 9 October 2020

A William Black Virtual "Reading" Group

William Godwin and Capacity

Tuesday 6 October 2020

CECS Research Seminar with Essaka Joshua, University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Exploring Constellations

Friday 2 October 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Exploring Constellations

Friday 25 September 2020

A William Blake Virtual "Reading" Group

Distance Conference 2020

Monday 3 August 2020

The Centre for Eighteenth Century Studies at York presents their inaugural postgraduate conference on 'Distance' from 3-14 August 2020.

#CANCELLED# Plantation Islands? Landscape Design in Eighteenth-century Ireland, Jamaica and San Domingue

Thursday 11 June 2020

CECS Annual Stephen Copley Lecture with Finola O’Kane (University College Dublin)

Approaches to Researching Material Culture

Tuesday 2 June 2020

CECS Online Research Seminar with Chloe Wigston Smith (York)

'From "pleasant Remedy" to "odious Practice": Female Masturbation in the works of John Marten'

Tuesday 26 May 2020

CECS online PG Forum with Ellie Schlappa (Newcastle University)

Hannah Greg in the Age of Manufactures: Gender, Politics, and Class

Tuesday 19 May 2020

CECS Online Research Seminar with Jon Mee (York)

Women on the margins: Blended families and legal practices in the courts of early modern Scotland

Monday 18 May 2020

CREMS Cabinet of Curiosities online seminar with Rebecca Mason (Institute of Historical Research, University of London)

Using news: newsletter writers and readers in early modern England

Thursday 14 May 2020

CREMS Online Research Seminar with Lena Liapi (University of Keele and CREMS Research Associate)

'Oeconomizing Matter and Mind: Mining and the "Psychological Policy" behind Alexander von Humboldt's Sustainability'

Tuesday 12 May 2020

CECS online PG Forum with Patrick Anthony, Vanderbilt University

Reading and Researching a Correspondence: Reflections on Martha McTier

Tuesday 5 May 2020

CECS research discussion with Catriona Kennedy and Gillian Russell (York)

'Linton had a very bad night': The Sleep of the Heir of Traquair, 1783

Tuesday 28 April 2020

CECS PG Forum with Frances Long (York)

#CANCELLED# Cordial Spirits: Drinking and Sociability in the very long eighteenth century

Saturday 4 April 2020

This conference has been CANCELLED. We hope to run it on a future date.

High Hair: From the Duchess of Devonshire to Amy Winehouse

Thursday 12 March 2020

In support of York International Women's Week 2020, York Mansion House is delighted to welcome Professor Gillian Russell, who will be exploring the enduring power of the high hairstyle.

Wren, beauty, and Trinity College Library

Monday 9 March 2020

Anthony Geraghty (University of York)

Attack and Capture: Aspects of Space-time and the Threshold in 18th-century Indian Captivity Narratives

Tuesday 3 March 2020

*CHANGE OF VENUE* CECS PG Forum with Eva-Maria Mosser (University of Manchester)

The Art and Mystery of Horse-Drawn Carriages: What Can They Tell Us About Georgian Society and Culture?

Thursday 20 February 2020

York Georgian Society Patrick Nuttgens Lecture Speaker: Gabriella Barnard-Edmunds (University of York) Please note the change in venue!

New Contexts for Remarks on Clarissa: Dialogues, Book Reviewing, and 'Scenes of Criticism'

Tuesday 18 February 2020

CECS PG Forum with Crystal Biggins (University of Leicester)

The Libraries and Reading Habits of British Prisoners of War in Napoleonic France and Mauritius

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Elodie Duché (York St John University)

“Burying our Money in Stone Walls”: Fortification and the East India Company, c. 1690–1740

Wednesday 5 February 2020

Department of History Research Seminar Speaker: Tim Riding (University of York)

'The True State of Our Condition,’ Or, Where are Robinson Crusoe’s Insect Companions?

Tuesday 4 February 2020

Elizabeth Kowaleski Wallace (Boston College)

The Rise and Fall and Rise (?) of Thomas Campbell

Tuesday 4 February 2020

CECS PG Forum with Amy Wilcockson (University of Nottingham)

'Queen of the Needle': Miss Linwood and her Embroidered Pictures

Tuesday 21 January 2020

CECS PG Forum with Samantha Scott (University of York)

Towards a Theatre of the Aesthetic

Tuesday 14 January 2020

David Taylor (University of Oxford)

Riley in Cairo: British art and Egypt in the 1980s

Monday 13 January 2020

Richard Johns (University of York)

Events archive