Accessibility statement

2017 events

Institutions as Actors

Friday 1 December 2017

The third workshop of the AHRC-funded 'Institutions of Literatures, 1700-1900' research network

Living in the (Eighteenth Century) Material World: Female Collectors, Enlightenment Education and the Country House

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Postgraduate Forum Lizzie Rogers (University of Hull)

Erasmus Darwin's Speaking Machine

Tuesday 21 November 2017

Alice Rhodes (University of York

How Novels Begin: Some Nineteenth-Century Test-Cases

Wednesday 15 November 2017

Isobel Armstrong (Birkbeck, University of London)

Authentic Dross: Irish Poetry and Song - Moore, Mangan and (Jack) Yeats

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Matthew Campbell (University of York)

Fibres and Fashion in the British Industrial Revolution, 1700-1800

Tuesday 7 November 2017

John Styles (University of Hertfordshire)

Contested Inheritances, 1750-1830

Saturday 28 October 2017

A one-day conference hosted by the Centre for Eighteenth-Century Studies

The Reform Debates of 1830-32: A 'Four Nations' Approach

Tuesday 24 October 2017

Postgraduate Forum James Smith (University of York)

Gender and Things in Pope and Austen

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Barbara Benedict (Trinity College)

How Turner Walked to Class

Monday 16 October 2017

Martin Myrone (Tate) Part of the History of Art research seminar series

The Influence of the Epic Genre in Eighteenth-Century History Writing

Tuesday 10 October 2017

Postgraduate Forum Alexandra Anderson (University of Leeds)

So You Want to Submit a Journal Article! Strategies for Navigating Peer Review

Wednesday 4 October 2017

Eugenia Zuroski (McMaster University)

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 6 June 2017

‘The Experimental Imagination: Literary Knowledge and Science in the British Enlightenment’

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 23 May 2017

'Dangerous Spectacles: the Convulsionnaires and the Anti-Philosophical Movement in 1760s Paris'

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 9 May 2017

‘The Magdalens and the Performance of Virtue: Kelly, Sterne and Crebillon’

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 25 April 2017

‘Are you talking to me? Questions of audience in Voltaire’s Letters Concerning the English Nation or Philosophical Letters?’

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Confronting Loss in Eighteenth- and Early Nineteenth-Century Britain

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 14 February 2017

The Army of Joseph II and the Coming of the French Revolutionary Wars

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 31 January 2017

Adam Budd - Publishing, Patronage, and the Library of Liberty: Andrew Millar and Thomas Hollis in 1765

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 17 January 2017

Crafting the Past in Sarah Scott's Millenium Hall

Events archive