Accessibility statement

2014 events

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 25 November 2014

'Pandemonium: soundscapes of radicalism in the Romantic period' All Welcome

CECS Postgraduate Forum

Tuesday 25 November 2014

All students interested in the 18th century welcome

CECS Postgraduate Forum

Tuesday 18 November 2014

All students interested in the 18th Century welcome

CECS Postgraduate Forum

Tuesday 11 November 2014

All students interested in the long 18th century welcome

CECS Postgraduate Forum

Tuesday 4 November 2014

All students interested on the long 18th century welcome

Anglo-Scottish Relations in the Eighteenth Century

Saturday 1 November 2014

CECS Day Conference

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 28 October 2014

'...Women, politics and the 1723 oaths to George I' All Welcome

CECS Postgraduate Forum

Tuesday 28 October 2014

All students interested in the 18th century welcome

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 21 October 2014

'Rethinking Religion in 18th-century Paris', - all welcome

CECS Day Conference

Saturday 28 June 2014

Portraiture: Exchanges, debates and performances 1700-1840. CECS Summer Conference

'Electrick communication everywhere': Order and Chaos in the Arts and Sciences 1740-1840 II

Friday 20 June 2014

The second of a pair of lectures offered by CECS for the Festival of Ideas 2014

‘The Return of the Mummy: Napoleon’s Funeral, History and the July Monarchy’

Tuesday 3 June 2014

Open to all students and staff interested in the long eighteenth century

‘Captain Morris in Full Glee, Or, The Poetics of Conviviality’

Tuesday 27 May 2014

Open to all staff and students interested in the long eighteenth century

CECS Colloquium

Saturday 17 May 2014

CECS Colloquium to celebrate the work of Harriet Guest

‘Rational Marriage and Erotic Love: Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Thomas Holcroft, and Isabelle de Montolieu's Caroline de Lichtfield’

Tuesday 13 May 2014

Open to all students and staff interested in the long eighteenth century

'The Sea Triumph of Charles II'

Tuesday 29 April 2014

Open to all staff and students interested in the long eighteenth century

CECS Day Conference

Saturday 8 March 2014

CECS Day conference at the King' Manor

Annual Stephen Copley Lecture

Wednesday 5 March 2014

Paper title: 'Border Trouble: Scottish Balladry, Mediality and World Literature'

PG Forum

Tuesday 4 March 2014

'Eighteenth-century Funerary Sculpture', Rebecca Senior, University of York. All PG Students welcome

Michael Eaton and the Good Humour Club

Wednesday 26 February 2014

All welcome.

TBC

Tuesday 25 February 2014

'Painting the Bourgeosie: Chardin and the Domestic Woman',Emma Barker, Art Historian, Open University. All welcome

PG Forum

Tuesday 18 February 2014

'Cook and Scurvy', Duncan Robertson, University of York. All PG students welcome

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 11 February 2014

'Discovering frauds: Corruption, informing and print culture in late 17th and early 18th century England' Natasha Glaisyer, University of York.All Welcome

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 28 January 2014

'Pursuing and Publishing Frances Burney d'Arblay's Journals and Letters, 1768-1840' Peter Sabor, McGill University. All Welcome

PG forum

Tuesday 21 January 2014

'Transpennine Enlightenment: literary and philosophical societies as regional network, 1780-1800' Jennifer Wilkes, University of York. All PG Students Welcome

CECS Research Seminar

Tuesday 14 January 2014

'Forgetting 1798: the struggle over 'living memory' in Ulster' Guy Beiner, Ben-Gurion University. All Welcome

Events archive