Accessibility statement

2024 News

You said, we did

Thursday 29 February 2024

Listening to our students


Ill-gotten gains: Partisan alignment, politicised grant transfers and English local election outcomes

Tuesday 27 February 2024

New article by Liam Clegg and Graeme Davies


Where MPs sit in social networks matters

Monday 26 February 2024

Blog post by PhD student Grace Cooper


Week 3: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 26 February 2024

All the latest from the department



Call for Papers: Digital politics and social movements: shifting modes of representation and governance

Tuesday 20 February 2024

Workshop on Digital politics and social movements: shifting modes of representation and governance


Week 2: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 19 February 2024

All the latest from the department


Final year undergraduates: Give your feedback

Monday 5 February 2024

The National Student Survey (NSS) opens to all final year undergraduates on Monday 5 February.


How to prepare for a Select Committee

Tuesday 16 January 2024

Advice from Professor Tony Heron


Revision Week: Learning Community Newsletter

Wednesday 10 January 2024

All the latest from the department


Winter Break : Learning Community Newsletter

Wednesday 3 January 2024

All the latest from the department


Week 11: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 11 December 2023

All the latest from the department


Stuart Hall studentships

Friday 8 December 2023

Supporting Black British students.


Week 10: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 5 December 2023

All the latest from the department


Department of Politics and International Relations Studentships

Thursday 30 November 2023

Did you know if you hold an offer from the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of York, you are automatically considered for a studentship?


Week 9: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 28 November 2023

All the latest from the department


Servicewomen’s Experiences of the Aftermath of Sexual Assault in the British Military

Tuesday 28 November 2023

First peer-reviewed, empirical academic study that explores servicewomen’s lived experiences of sexual assault



Award for the Anti-Racism Working Group

Thursday 23 November 2023

Congratulations to Mel and Susy


Conference Blog

Thursday 23 November 2023

Two of our PhD researchers tell us about their recent experience of running a conference


Awards for PhD student Haddi Malik

Wednesday 22 November 2023

Asian Young Achiever Award for Haddi



Week 8: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 21 November 2023

All the latest from the department


Alcohol harms: the UK government is missing in action

Friday 17 November 2023

New article by Dr Matt Lesch


Roger Owen Book Award

Tuesday 14 November 2023

Award for lecturer José Ciro Martínez


A warm welcome to our Department Community Coordinator

Tuesday 7 November 2023

A big welcome to Victoria Ellison our new DCC


Week 6: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 6 November 2023

All the latest from the department


‘Don’t ignore us’: Afghans awaiting UK relocation fear time is running out

Wednesday 1 November 2023

Professor Sara de Jong quoted in The Guardian


Consolidation Week: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 30 October 2023

All the latest from the department


Week 5: Learning Community Newsletter

Monday 23 October 2023

All the latest from the department


Week 4: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 17 October 2023

All the latest from the department


Week 3: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 10 October 2023

All the latest from the department


Week 1: Learning Community Newsletter

Tuesday 26 September 2023

All the latest from the department


Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowship scheme.

Tuesday 5 September 2023

Invitation for submission of expression of interest for the Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowship scheme.


News archive