Accessibility statement

Events archive

CPD webinar for English Language A level teachers

Friday 10 July 2020

The Department of Language and Linguistic Science will run a free webinar for English Language A level teachers on Friday 10th July 2020 3.30 - 5:00pm. The event is part of The York English Language Toolkit’s workshop series.

BAAP (British Association of Academic Phoneticians) Colloquium

Wednesday 1 April 2020

The British Association of Academic Phoneticians (BAAP) colloquium 2020 is being hosted by the Department of Language and Linguistic Science at the University of York.

Language and Linguistic Science Alumni event 2020

Friday 28 February 2020

On Friday 28th February 2020 the Department of Language and Linguistic Science will host The Alumni Event ‘What can you do with a degree in Language and Linguistics?'

Definite articles in ancient Greek

Thursday 20 February 2020

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 7) - Cristina Guardiano, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia

Syllable deletion and restoration in speech tempo perception

Wednesday 19 February 2020

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 7) - Rachel Smith, University of Glasgow

Sequences, scenes and syntax: towards a neural model of working memory representations in language comprehension

Thursday 6 February 2020

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 5) - Ellen Lau, University of Maryland

‘Foreign Scoundrels’ and ‘Adopted Citizens’ Acquiring Sociolinguistic Variation in Northern Ireland

Wednesday 29 January 2020

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 4) - Karen Corrigan, Newcastle University

The British-German Friendship in the Context of Brexit and the Role of Diplomacy for Europe.

Monday 7 October 2019

Darius Rahimi will speak about the British and German perspectives on the EU and the future of Europe in a world which is dominated by the US and increasingly China.

Individual Differences in Phonetic Plasticity: Rate, Accent, and Learning

Wednesday 4 September 2019

Departmental Colloquium - Christopher Heffner (University of Connecticut/ University of Buffalo)

Continuing Professional Development workshop for English Language A-level teachers

Friday 5 July 2019

The Department of Language and Linguistic Science is pleased to announce that we are offering a free CPD workshop for English Language A-level teachers on Friday 5 July 2019 from 10:30 AM to 4:30 PM at the University of York.

Subject Conference Day

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Want to know what it’s really like to study Language and Linguistic Science, here at the University of York? Come join us for our Subject Conference Day on Wednesday 19 June for an exciting look into the hidden mysteries of language and to experience how we teach modern foreign languages and linguistics.

CANCELLED Comparing language and music: the diachronic dimension

Wednesday 12 June 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 9) - Graeme Trousdale, University of Edinburgh

Phase theory and the A/A-bar distinction

Wednesday 5 June 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 8) - Michelle Sheehan, Anglia Ruskin University

Diagnosing grammatical change in English: looking back and looking forward

Thursday 23 May 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 6) -Tine Breban, University of Manchester

The evolution of language: what do chimps have to say?

Wednesday 15 May 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 5) - Katie Slocombe, University of York

Participles

Wednesday 8 May 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 4) - Andrew Spencer, University of Essex

CANCELLED

Wednesday 24 April 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 2) - Rachel Smith, University of Glasgow

CANCELLED

Wednesday 17 April 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Summer Week 1) - Shirley-Ann Rueschemeyer, University of York

The Dialogic Co-construction of Sexual Abuse: The role of the adult interlocutor in facilitating children and young people’s disclosures

Wednesday 6 March 2019

‌‌Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 9) - Samuel Larner, Manchester Metropolitan University

Studying low-frequency grammatical variables on Twitter: Methods, findings, and problems

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 8) - Chris Strelluf, University of Warwick

Normativity and the discourse of ‘normal’ in an LGBT youth group

Monday 25 February 2019

York LGBT History Month: Special lecture (Spring Week 8) - Lucy Jones, University of Nottingham

Speech tempo measurement and perception

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 7) - Leendert Plug & Robert Lennon, University of Leeds

Constructionalization and network reconfiguration: Investigating Old English NP ecology and the development of the article system

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 6) - Lotte Sommerer, University of Vienna

Linguistic diversity in South America: multi-disciplinary perspectives

Friday 8 February 2019

Dr Rik van Gijn, University of Zurich

Promoting infants’ language development in socio-economically diverse populations

Wednesday 6 February 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 5) - Michelle McGillion, University of Warwick

The acquisition and evolution of linguistic variation

Wednesday 23 January 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 3) - Kenny Smith, University of Edinburgh

From babble to words: Infants’ early productions match input speech and attended objects

Wednesday 16 January 2019

Departmental Colloquium (Spring Week 2) - Catherine Laing, University of Cardiff

Topics in comparative and theoretical syntax

Thursday 29 November 2018

Mini-Workshop (Cornilescu, Tsoulas & De Vries, Pesetsky, Longobardi)

Sound systems in contact: Heritage bilingualism and the development of contact varieties

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 10) - Sam Kirkham, University of Lancaster

The emergence of word order: from cognitive preferences to cultural mechanisms

Wednesday 21 November 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 9) - Marieke Schouwstra, University of Edinburgh

Workshop 'Phylogenetic Linguistics and Linguistic Theory'

Friday 16 November 2018

Workshop organised by the York Centre for Linguistic History and Diversity, Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Workshop 'Phylogenetic Linguistics and Linguistic Theory'

Thursday 15 November 2018

Workshop organised by the York Centre for Linguistic History and Diversity, Department of Language and Linguistic Science

The expression of proper locations and beyond: the motion-to and state-in Italian spatial prepositions

Wednesday 14 November 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 8) - Paolo Lorusso, IUSS Pavia

The horse raced faster when embedded

Wednesday 7 November 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 7) - Nino Grillo, University of York

‌‌Cyclical change with epistemic indefinites

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 6) - Chiara Gianollo, University of Bologna

The screening of 'In Pursuit of Silence'

Thursday 25 October 2018

A meditative film exploring our relationship with silence, sound and the impact of noise on our lives.

Difficult but essential outward-looking collaboration: Combining variationist, interactional, and ethnographic methods in urban youth language research

Wednesday 24 October 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 5) - Rob Drummond, Manchester Metropolitan University

A Case of Generative-Constructionalist Convergence – and a Historical-Contrastive Response

Wednesday 17 October 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 4) - Torsten Leuschner, Ghent University

Segmental versus prosodic cues in Tunisian Arabic polar questions (or: the influence of indexical information on gradient prosodic categories)

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Departmental Colloquium (Autumn Week 3) - Sam Hellmuth, University of York

Differences in the learning of content words and function words at the start of language development

Monday 10 September 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Anat Ninio (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

University Open Day

Sunday 1 July 2018

Thinking of studying languages and linguistics? Come and meet us on 29 June or 1 July!

Portions and countability: a crosslinguistic investigation

Wednesday 13 June 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Hanna De Vries (University of York)

The Principle of no synonymy in language change: the facts and the fiction

Tuesday 12 June 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Lauren Fonteyn (University of Manchester)

Synthesising dynamic speech elements using a 3D model of vocal tract acoustics

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Amelia Gully (University of York)

Control constructions in Middle Norwegian

Wednesday 30 May 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Endre Mørck (University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway)

Relationship between lexical and phonological development in French-speaking children: A longitudinal study

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Margaret Kehoe (University of Geneva)

Analysing advertising through linguistics

Wednesday 9 May 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Peter Sells (University of York)

Towards a new approach to obligatory control

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Hazel Pearson (Queen Mary University of London)

Child templates and their relation to productive adult word formation

Wednesday 18 April 2018

Departmental Colloquium - Marilyn Vihman (University of York)

Alumni panel event (Cancelled)

Friday 2 March 2018

Due to a severe weather warning, this event is now cancelled.