Staff at the Centre for Women's Studies

 

Name Research Email
Centre Staff    
Professor Victoria Robinson
Director
Feminist theory, gender and sexualities (especially heterosexualities), men and masculinities, fashion and footwear cultures; risk sports; debates in women’s, gender and masculinity studies in the academy; feminist sociology of everyday life vicki.robinson@york.ac.uk
Professor Stevi Jackson
Feminist theory; theories of gender and sexuality; women's and family relationships; sociology of childhood stevi.jackson@york.ac.uk
Dr Clare Bielby
Senior Lecturer/Chair Board of Studies
Violence, representation and gender; violence, subjectivity and affect/emotion; terrorism and gender; the field of perpetrator studies.
History of feminisms, particularly German feminisms; queer studies and feminist queer theory; subjectivity and narratives of the self; gender, sexuality and representation
clare.bielby@york.ac.uk
Dr Ann Kaloski-Naylor
Lecturer/Admissions Tutor
Vice-Chancellor’s Teaching Award, 2012
Contemporary fiction and culture; with special interests in death, digital texts & popular culture; feminist cultural politics & production; lesbian, bisexual & queer studies; feminist pedagogy & elearning
ann.kaloski-naylor@york.ac.uk
Dr Evangeline Tsao
Associate Lecturer
Visual methodologies; theories of gender and sexuality; popular culture and representation evangeline.tsao@york.ac.uk
Harriet Badger
Centre Administrator
All enquiries harriet.badger@york.ac.uk
CWS Associate Staff    
Dr Siân Beynon-Jones
Sociology
Science and technology studies; reproductive technologies; gender; time; feminist theory sian.beynon-jones@york.ac.uk
Dr Trev Broughton
English
Gender in nineteenth-century prose; women's life-writing (biography, autobiography, diaries etc); Victorian masculinities; auto/photography (with Ann Kaloski), The Victorian Governess; Fathers and fatherhood in the Victorian period; letters and gender. trev.broughton@york.ac.uk
Dr Claire Chambers
English
British and South Asian literature; religion; Muslims; migration claire.chambers@york.ac.uk
Dr Joanna de Groot
History
Research interests centre around the intersections of gender, culture and colonialism with other forms of difference and inequality and include, specifically, 19th and 2Oth century women's history; the history of socialist and feminist ideas and movements and Iranian and Middle Eastern Indian history in the 19th and 20th centuries
joanna.degroot@york.ac.uk
Dr Anna Einarsdóttir
Management
Gender and sexual minority workers; sexualised and organisational spaces anna.einarsdottir@york.ac.uk
Dr Sue Grace Vice-Chancellor’s Teaching Award, 2008
Teaching and learning in Higher Education; reflective accounts of life as academics in relation to the student experience; 19th century criminal history; 19th century social and women's history; 19th century novel and 19th century literature on crime; 20th century feminist criminology.
sg10@york.ac.uk
Dr Laurie Hanquinet
Sociology
Cultural sociology; sociology of immigration; social science methodology laurie.hanquinet@york.ac.uk
Dr Carol Ann Hooper
Social Policy and Social Work
Women and social policy; child abuse and child protection; violence against women; gender, crime and justice carol-ann.hooper@york.ac.uk
Dr Mark Jenner
History and Centre for Eighteenth Century Studies
The social and cultural history of Britain c.1550-c.1780; social history of medicine; history of the body; gender, medicine, religious and political culture in 17th and 18th century England. Currently on the Editorial Board of Urban History mark.jenner@york.ac.uk
Professor Paul Johnson
Sociology
Relationship between law, human rights, sexual orientation and intimacy paul.johnson@york.ac.uk
Dr Nisha Kapoor
Sociology
Race and ethnicity; neoliberalism nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk
Professor Celia Kitzinger
Sociology
Sexuality, gender and talk-in-interaction; childbirth; same-sex marriage; LGBTQI; human rights issues; helplines; any research using conversation analysis with naturalistic data celia.kitzinger@york.ac.uk
Dr Steph Lawler
Sociology
Social equalities and social identities; particularly class, gender and generation steph.lawler@york.ac.uk
Dr Xiaodong Lin
Sociology
Gender and migration; men and masculinities; identity; intersectionality of gender and class xiaodong.lin@york.ac.uk
Professor Karen Mumford
Economics
Labour economics, and the interface between public policy and labour economics; wage bargaining; industrial disputation; employment dynamics; the relative employment opportunities of men and women; job turnover, tenure and security; training; wage equality; the effectiveness of family friendly work practices karen.mumford@york.ac.uk
Professor Sarah Nettleton
Sociology
Sociology of health and illness; sociology of the body sarah.nettleton@york.ac.uk
Professor Maggie O'Neill
Sociology
Sex work, sexual exploitation, forced migration and the asylum-migration nexus; innovative participatory, biographical, performative and visual methodologies maggie.oneill@york.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce
Sociology/Chair CWS Board of Examiners
Sociology of celebrity, crime and deviance; seducation; fascination and spectacle ruth.penfold-mounce@york.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Rees
Sociology
Sociology of science; social theory; feminism and science; post-colonialism; science and popular culture amanda.rees@york.ac.uk
Dr Katy Sian
Sociology
Critical race theory; semantics of tolerance and anti-rascism katy.sian@york.ac.uk
Dr Vanita Sundaram
Educational Studies
Gender and sexuality; gender-based violence; equity issues in education; inclusive/feminist methodology
vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk
Dr Christine Skinner
Social Policy and Social Work
UK family policy; childcare; early education christine.skinner@york.ac.uk
Dr Merran Toerien
Sociology
Conversation analysis; institutional discourse; health professional-patient interaction; feminsim merran.toerien@york.ac.uk
Honorary Professors    
Professor Sue Scott Gender, sexuality and risk; young people's sexual behaviour; sex education; practice theory for the sociology of sexuality sue.j.scott@york.ac.uk

 

Last Updated: February 9, 2017 | hb14@york.ac.uk

Back to the Top