Our staff

Centre StaffResearch Interests 

Professor Victoria Robinson
Director 

vicki.robinson@york.ac.uk 

Feminist theory, gender and sexualities (especially heterosexualities), men and masculinities, fashion and footwear cultures; risk sports; debates in women’s, gender and masculinity studies in the academy; feminist sociology of everyday life

 

Dr Clare Bielby 
Senior Lecturer/Chair Board of Studies 

clare.beilby@york.ac.uk

Violence, representation and gender; violence, subjectivity and affect/emotion; terrorism and gender; the field of perpetrator studies.
History of feminisms, particularly German feminisms; queer studies and feminist queer theory; subjectivity and narratives of the self; gender, sexuality and representation

 

Dr Rachel Alsop

Lecturer

rachel.alsop@york.ac.uk

Contemporary developments in feminist theory; issues of body image (particularly in relation to aesthetic surgery); gender based violence and refugee and migrant women; and girls’ rights.  

Dr Boriana Alexandrova

Lecturer

boriana.alexandrova@york.ac.uk

   

Dr Evangeline Tsao
Associate Lecturer

evangeline.tsao@york.ac.uk

Visual methodologies; theories of gender and sexuality; popular culture and representation  

 

Dr Ann Kaloski-Naylor 
Lecturer

 

ann.kaloski-naylor@york.ac.uk

 

 Vice-Chancellor’s Teaching Award, 2012
Contemporary fiction and culture; with special interests in death, digital texts & popular culture; feminist cultural politics & production; lesbian, bisexual & queer studies; feminist pedagogy & elearning
 
Professor Stevi Jackson

stevi.jackson@york.ac.uk

Feminist theory; theories of gender and sexuality; women's and family relationships; sociology of childhood  

Ms Victoria Hill
Centre Administrator


+44 (0)1904 323671
cws@york.ac.uk

 All enquiries   
 CWS Associate Staff    

Professor Ellen Annandale
Sociology

ellen.annandale@york.ac.uk

Sociology of health and illness; sociology of gender; gender, occupations and professions 

 

Dr Siân Beynon-Jones
Sociology

sian.beynon-jones@york.ac.uk

Science and technology studies; reproductive technologies; gender; time; feminist theory  

Dr Trev Broughton
English

trev.broughton@york.ac.uk 

Gender in nineteenth-century prose; women's life-writing (biography, autobiography, diaries etc); Victorian masculinities; auto/photography (with Ann Kaloski), The Victorian Governess; Fathers and fatherhood in the Victorian period; letters and gender.   

Dr Claire Chambers
English

claire.chambers@york.ac.uk

British and South Asian literature; religion; Muslims; migration   

Dr Joanna de Groot
History

joanna.degroot@york.ac.uk

Research interests centre around the intersections of gender, culture and colonialism with other forms of difference and inequality and include, specifically, 19th and 20th-century women's history; the history of socialist and feminist ideas and movements and Iranian and Middle Eastern Indian history in the 19th and 20th centuries

 

Dr Anna Einarsdóttir
Management

anna.einarsdottir@york.ac.uk

Gender and sexual minority workers; sexualised and organisational spaces  

Dr Laurie Hanquinet
Sociology

laurie.hanquinet@york.ac.uk

Cultural sociology; sociology of immigration; social science methodology   

Dr Mark Jenner
History and Centre for Eighteenth-Century Studies 

mark.jenner@york.ac.uk

The social and cultural history of Britain c.1550-c.1780; social history of medicine; history of the body; gender, medicine, religious and political culture in 17th and 18th century England. Currently on the Editorial Board of Urban History  

Professor Paul Johnson
Head of Department
Sociology

paul.johnson@york.ac.uk

Relationship between law, human rights, sexual orientation and intimacy  

Dr Nisha Kapoor
Sociology

nisha.kapoor@york.ac.uk

Race and ethnicity; neoliberalism  

Dr Steph Lawler
Sociology

steph.lawler@york.ac.uk

Social equalities and social identities; particularly class, gender and generation  

Dr Xiaodong Lin
Sociology

xiaodong.lin@york.ac.uk

Gender and migration; men and masculinities; identity; intersectionality of gender and class  

Professor Karen Mumford
Economics

karen.mumford@york.ac.uk

Labour economics, and the interface between public policy and labour economics; wage bargaining; industrial disputation; employment dynamics; the relative employment opportunities of men and women; job turnover, tenure and security; training; wage equality; the effectiveness of family friendly work practices  

Professor Sarah Nettleton
Sociology

sarah.nettleton@york.ac.uk

Sociology of health and illness; sociology of the body  

Professor Maggie O'Neill
Sociology

maggie.oneill@york.ac.uk

Sex work, sexual exploitation, forced migration and the asylum-migration nexus; innovative participatory, biographical, performative and visual methodologies  

Dr Ruth Penfold-Mounce
Sociology/ Chair CWS Board of Examiners

ruth.penfold-mounce@york.ac.uk

Sociology of celebrity, crime and deviance; seducation; fascination and spectacle  

Dr Amanda Rees
Sociology

amanda.rees@york.ac.uk

Sociology of science; social theory; feminism and science; post-colonialism; science and popular culture  

Dr Katy Sian
Sociology

katy.sian@york.ac.uk

Critical race theory; semantics of tolerance and anti-racism   

Professor Vanita Sundaram
Educational Studies

vanita.sundaram@york.ac.uk

Gender and sexuality; gender-based violence; equity issues in education; inclusive/feminist methodology  

Professor Christine Skinner
Social Policy and Social Work

christine.skinner@york.ac.uk

UK family policy; childcare; early education   

Dr Merran Toerien
Sociology

merran.toerien@york.ac.uk

Conversation analysis; institutional discourse; health professional-patient interaction; feminism   
Honorary Professor    
Professor Sue Scott

sue.j.scott@york.ac.uk
Gender, sexuality and risk; young people's sexual behaviour; sex education; practice theory for the sociology of sexuality