Accessibility statement

What are the Staff Digital Skills?

There are 24 core skills, split into the following six themes: 

  1. IT essentials

  2. Innovation, adaptability and problem solving 

  3. Ethics and security 

  4. Personal effectiveness, teamwork and collaboration 

  5. Information, media and data 

  6. Creation and communication

The framework covers a range of areas including how to set up your computer to suit your way of working, selecting the best digital tools for the task, keeping up-to-date with new features, troubleshooting problems, understanding legal and ethical issues, and combating information overload. 

Working to a shared skill set has benefits for staff progression and your ability to move between departments and roles. The framework can be used for training and development, for job description and recruitment criteria and for lifelong learning.

Find out more