Events in 2018

Previous events in 2018

Political Liberals' Respect

Tuesday 27 November 2018

Talk by Rossella De Bernardi

IGDC Photographic Competition Awards Ceremony

Thursday 22 November 2018

Find out the competition winners and view all the shortlisted entries!

Women's right to stand for office in the UK: 100 years on

Wednesday 21 November 2018

Come and join this interesting roundtable discussion

How to Rig Elections

Monday 19 November 2018

Come and join this PEP event!

Animal Rights without the Abolition of Animal Agriculture

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Talk by Josh Milburn

The future of war

Monday 12 November 2018

Come along to hear this talk and ask your own questions

Post-Trump? Reflections on the US Mid-Term Elections

Wednesday 7 November 2018

Talk by Richard Johnson

The US, NATO, Russia and the risk of nuclear conflict

Tuesday 6 November 2018

Come and join this talk and discussion

Developing a Situationist Global Justice Theory

Tuesday 30 October 2018

Talk by Dr Joe Hoover

Austerity and After: The Domestic Subnational Agenda

Wednesday 17 October 2018

Talk by Nicola Headlam

Politics of the poor: Negotiating democracy in contemporary India

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Indrajit Roy will talk about the central arguments in his recently published book

IGDC Career Development Networking Event

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Be part of an interdisciplinary networking event!

Unchallenged democracy? The political legacy of the economic crisis in Europe.

Thursday 28 June 2018

Workshop to be held on 28-29 June 2018

Regional Power Contestation and Political Violence in the Af-Pak Region

Wednesday 13 June 2018

Regional Power Contestation and Political Violence in the Af-Pak Region: From “Great Game” to the “New Great Game.”

The Political Economy of Global Development: Some Themes

Wednesday 13 June 2018

Talk by Ingrid Kvangraven and Philip Roberts

Political Power and Magic

Wednesday 6 June 2018

Talk by Elizabeth Frazer

John Stuart Mill and Property-Owning Democracy

Tuesday 5 June 2018

Talk by Dr Helen McCabe

IGDC: New website & Summer Launch

Monday 4 June 2018

Come and participate in an afternoon of activities and a debate about interdisciplinary research for development.

Narrative Structure and the Political Imagination

Wednesday 30 May 2018

Using insights from the humanities to challenge dominant framings in international politics and development and to uncover alternatives.

Workplace Democracy, Market Competition, and Republican Self-Respect

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Talk by Professor Chris Neuhäuser

Social Movements and International Relations: Recognising complex interactions

Wednesday 16 May 2018

We will begin this seminar with a brief discussion on how we want to use the research cluster, before moving on to Alejandro’s presentation and discussion.

Connecting the home and the international: Circuitry as an analytical tool in peace and conflict studies

Friday 11 May 2018

Public lecture by Professor Roger Mac Ginty: ‘Connecting the home and the international: Circuitry as an analytical tool in peace and conflict studies'.

Locke vs Filmer, revisited

Tuesday 8 May 2018

Talk by Professor James Harris

The crisis of political rhetoric and the 'post-truth' society

Wednesday 2 May 2018

Talk by Alan Finlayson

Negotiating Brexit

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Talk by Professor Anand Menon

CANCELLED - Moral Agency at the Front Lines of Public Service

Tuesday 27 February 2018

Talk by Dr Bernardo Zacka

BREXIT: Article 50 one year on (roundtable)

Wednesday 21 February 2018

Come and join the roundtable discussion

Sharing the Costs of Fighting Justly

Tuesday 13 February 2018

Talk by Sara Van Goozen

The Preferability Problem

Tuesday 30 January 2018

Talk by Dr Mollie Gerver

After Hobbes: Pufendorf and Locke on esteem-seeking and the foundations of civil society

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Talk by Heikki Haara and Tim Stuart-Buttle

Past events