Members of the GCCE


The Green Chemistry group, headed by Professor James Clark, has over 90 members including students taking the Masters Degree in Green Chemistry & Sustainable Industrial Technology. Research, Educational and Networking activities are lead by the academic staff and supported by postdoctoral researchers. The group also welcomes a number of international visitors carrying out collaborative research in the area of clean technology. The running of research, teaching and other activities of the group are supported by administrative and technical staff.

Academic & Senior Staff

 NameContactRole
Director
James Clark Professor James Clark

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322559
Email: james.clark@york.ac.uk
Room: F/110

Director of the Green Chemistry Centre

Deputy Director
Avtar Matharu Dr Avtar Matharu

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324187
Email: avtar.matharu@york.ac.uk
Room: F/123

Deputy Director of the Green Chemistry Centre & Renewable Materials TP Leader
Academic & Senior Staff
Vitaly Budarin Dr Vitaliy Budarin Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322546
Email: vitaliy.budarin@york.ac.uk
Room: F/125
Senior Research Fellow & Microwave TP Leader
Dr Thomas Farmer Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324479
Email: thomas.farmer@york.ac.uk
Room: F/126
Senior Research Fellow & Clean Synthesis TP Leader
Andy Hunt Dr Andrew Hunt Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324456
Email: andrew.hunt@york.ac.uk
Room: F/125
Senior Research Fellow & Alternative Solvents TP Leader
Duncan MacQuarrie Dr Duncan Macquarrie Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324533
Email: duncan.macquarrie@york.ac.uk
Room: F/124
Senior Lecturer
Mike North Professor Mike North Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324545
Email: michael.north@york.ac.uk
Room: F/122
Professor of Green Chemistry
Moray Stark Dr Moray Stark Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322537
Email: moray.stark@york.ac.uk
Room: A/126
Safety Officer
Louise Summerton Louise Summerton Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324546
Email: louise.summerton@york.ac.uk
Room: F/109
Training, Education & Networks (TEN) Manager
Professor Vania Zuin Professor Vania Zuin Email: vania.zuin@york.ac.uk
Visiting Professor

Research

 NameContactRole
Fergal Byrne Mr Fergal Byrne Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: fergal.byrne@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate
‌‌James Comerford Dr James Comerford Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: james.comerford@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Alice Fan Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: alice.fan@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Ian Ingram Dr Ian Ingram Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: ian.ingram@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Janice Lofthouse Mrs Janice Lofthouse Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324550
Email: janice.lofthouse@york.ac.uk
EU Research Project Manager
Kadambari Lokesh

Dr Kadambari Lokesh 

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: kadambari.lokesh@york.ac.uk

 Postdoctoral Research Associate
Rob McElroy Dr Rob McElroy Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: rob.mcelroy@york.ac.uk
RenewChem Project Manager
Javier Remon Nunez Dr Javier Remon Nunez

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: javier.remonnunez@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr James Sherwood Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: james.sherwood@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Xiao Wu Dr Xiao Wu Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324967
Email: 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Tom Dugmore Dr Tom Dugmore

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: tom.dugmore@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Technical

 NameContactRole
Paul Elliot Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322552
Email: paul.elliott@york.ac.uk
Chief Technician
Tom Attard Dr Thomas Attard

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: thomas.attard@york.ac.uk

Research Technician 
Hannah Briers Dr Hannah Briers Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324970
Email: hannah.briers@york.ac.uk
Research Technician
Maria Garcia Maria Garcia Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324549
Email: maria.garcia@york.ac.uk
Research Technician

Training, Education & Networks

 NameContactRole
Louise Summerton Louise Summerton Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324546
Email: louise.summerton@york.ac.uk
Training, Education & Networks (TEN) Manager

Admin

 NameContactRole
Alison Edmonds Alison Edmonds Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322567
Email: alison.edmonds@york.ac.uk
Green Chemistry Centre Administrator
Katy Holiday Katy Brooke Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324477
Email: katy.brooke@york.ac.uk
Marketing & Events Administrator
Sophie Palmer Sophie Palmer Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324970
Email: sophie.palmer@york.ac.uk
Administrative Assistant & PA to Prof North

Graduate Students

NameContact
Suleiman Ahmed sa1043@york.ac.uk
Abdul Alweihaibi aa621@york.ac.uk
Karima Al-Bulushi kaab501@york.ac.uk
Jennifer Attard ja1024@york.ac.uk
Mohammed Chowdhury mzhc500@york.ac.uk
Alisa Doroshenko ad1263@york.ac.uk
Mark Dowsett md770@york.ac.uk
Yang Gao yg1042@york.ac.uk
Joe Houghton jah534@york.ac.uk
Katie Lamb kjl502@york.ac.uk
Stefan Lawrenson sbl506@york.ac.uk
Tianzong Li tl706@york.ac.uk
Yann Lie yl2864@york.ac.uk
Andrew Maneffa ajm617@york.ac.uk
Eduardo Melo emdm500@york.ac.uk
Xiangju Meng xm657@york.ac.uk
Eddie Monteith em883@york.ac.uk
Andrea Munoz Garcia amg537@york.ac.uk
Thomas Nicol twjn500@york.ac.uk
Tabitha Petchey thmp500@york.ac.uk
Jonathan Ruffell jer519@york.ac.uk
Chanetee Sikhom cs1398@york.ac.uk
James Shannon jms582@york.ac.uk
Konstantina Sotiriou ks987@york.ac.uk
Allyn Sulaeman aps529@york.ac.uk
Keisuke Tomono kt646@york.ac.uk
Cheng-Yu Tsai
Hao Xia hx596@york.ac.uk
Anna Zhenova ai665@york.ac.uk
Long Zhou lz973@york.ac.uk