Accessibility statement

Members of the GCCE


The Green Chemistry group, headed by Professor Helen Sneddon, has over 90 members including students taking the MSc in Green Chemistry & Sustainable Industrial Technology. Research, educational and networking activities are lead by the academic staff and supported by postdoctoral researchers. The group also welcomes a number of international visitors carrying out collaborative research in the area of green chemistry. The running of research, teaching and other activities of the group are supported by administrative and technical staff.

Academic & Senior Staff

 NameContactRole
Director
Helen Sneddon Professor Helen Sneddon

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322840
Email: helen.sneddon@york.ac.uk

Director of the Green Chemistry Centre of Excellence

Academic & Senior Staff
Avtar Matharu Professor Avtar Matharu Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324187
Email: avtar.matharu@york.ac.uk
Deputy Director of the Green Chemistry Centre of Excellence
James Clark Professor James Clark Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322559
Email: james.clark@york.ac.uk
Professor of Chemistry and Founding Director of the GCCE
Mike North Professor Mike North Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324545
Email: michael.north@york.ac.uk
Professor of Green Chemistry
Duncan MacQuarrie Dr Duncan Macquarrie Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324533
Email: duncan.macquarrie@york.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
Dr Alice Fan Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324456
Email: alice.fan@york.ac.uk
Senior Researcher & Microwave TP Leader
Dr Thomas Farmer  Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324479
Email: thomas.farmer@york.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow & Clean Synthesis TP Leader
Glenn Hurst Dr Glenn Hurst Tel: + 44(0) 1904 322842
Email: glenn.hurst@york.ac.uk
Associate Professor Green Chemistry Education
Tom Dugmore Dr Tom Dugmore Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 325893
Email: tom.dugmore@york.ac.uk
Lecturer
Professor Vania Zuin Zeidler Email: vania.zuin@york.ac.uk
Visiting Professor

Research

 NameContactRole
Dr Daniel Day Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: 
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Kirsten Hawkins Dr Kirsten Hawkins

Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: kirsten.hawkins@york.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Janice Lofthouse Mrs Janice Lofthouse Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324550
Email: janice.lofthouse@york.ac.uk
EU Research Project Manager
Rob McElroy Dr Rob McElroy Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: rob.mcelroy@york.ac.uk
RenewChem Project Manager
Dr James Sherwood Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324547
Email: james.sherwood@york.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Technical

 NameContactRole
Hannah Briers Dr Hannah Briers Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 322567
Email: hannah.briers@york.ac.uk
Green Chemistry Technical Manager
Richard Gammons Dr Richard Gammons Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324549
Email: richard.gammons@york.ac.uk
Green Chemistry MSc Support Technician
Suranjana Bose Dr Suranjana Bose

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 324549
Email: suranjana.bose@york.ac.uk

Green Chemistry Research Technician 
Emma Dux Dr Emma Dux

Tel: +44 (0) 1904 322673
Email: emma.dux@york.ac.uk

Green Chemistry Research Technician

Admin

 NameContactRole
Katy Brooke Katy Brooke Tel: + 44 (0) 1904 324477
Email: katy.brooke@york.ac.uk
Green Chemistry Administrator

Graduate Students

Majed Almuqhim Caterina Mapelli
Ryan Barker Harry Maslen
Fiona Brannan James Metcalf
Hannah Chapman Eksuree Saksornchai
Rashmi Deshpande Sikirat Kehinde Sheu
Rebecca Donovan Oliver Stevens
Nicholas Garland Benjamin Trowse
Natthamon Inthalaeng Ewan Ward
Parul Johar Victor Zanchi
Jutarat Kavinchan Frederik Zitzmann
Julie Lynch