Accessibility statement

Awards and other opportunities

As a technician, there are many opportunities to have your skills recognised with awards and similar schemes, nationally, regionally, and locally. Some current opportunities are detailed here.

Times Higher Education Awards 2021 - Outstanding Technician of the Year

The Times Higher Education (THE) Awards have returned, and nominations are open for the prestigious Outstanding Technician of the Year Award, sponsored by the Technician Commitment.

This award will be given to an individual whose exceptional practical skills, commitment and vision have enabled the highest quality teaching, research or knowledge transfer. The deadline is Wednesday 9 June 2021.

Find out more


The Papin Prizes recognise the invaluable role played by technicians in higher education and research. Their aim is:
  • To provide national recognition and reward for excellence in technical services
  • To raise the professional status of technician
Categories include: 
  1. Contribution to Teaching
  2. Contribution to Research
  3. Newcomer (individuals must have embarked on a technical career within the past 4 years - for example, this may be a trainee or apprentice technician who has shown exceptional promise.)
  4. Core Research Facility
  5. Covid-19 Recognition (an individual or team who has played a significant role in the response of their institution to Covid-19)
  6. Outreach/Community
  7. Contribution to Infrastructure (for example, technical staff who look after building facilities or staff that provide key services to support day to day laboratory/workshop activities)
  8. Technical Team
  9. The Professor Lord Bhattacharyya Lifetime Achievement Award

Submit a nomination

Nominations close on Thursday 1 July 2021. The winners will be announced and the awards will be presented at the 2021 UK Higher Educations Technician Summit.

HE Bioscience Technician of the Year Award

About the award 

The Higher Education Bioscience Technician of the Year is an annual award seeks to recognise the superb work of technical staff, which underpins the bioscience research and teaching at all levels in universities across the UK and Ireland.

The award recognises technical staff who are:

  • Applying professional technical knowledge and expertise 
  • Acquiring & effectively applying personal/professional development 
  • Making a positive impact and inspiring others 
  • Demonstrating leadership & collaboration 
  • Delivering innovation and efficiency

Find out more

IOP Technician Award

The IOP Technician Award enables the community to recognise and celebrate the skills and experience of technicians and their contribution to physics.

Find out more 

WISE Technician Award

The purpose of this award is to raise the profile of a technician as a career path for girls who want a hands-on practical role. Are you a technician working in STEM who loves what you do? Will your story help inspire the next generation of technicians? You might be working in a business, a school, a university, a research institution or a hospital – wherever you work, if you love what you do and want to share your story with girls and women who might find their niche as a technician then nominate yourself, or someone you know, below.

Over 1.5 million technicians are employed in the UK working across engineering, science, health and technology. They are integral to overcoming some of the great challenges of the coming years and decades, and yet many career paths are not visible to girls. We want to change this – to show the role model technicians in industry and healthcare as well as those in universities.

Sponsored by The RAF.

Download the Award Application Form.

Find out more

IET Technician of the Year Award

The Institution of Engineering and Technology Technician of the Year Award is to recognise individuals who stand out from their peers and have made noteworthy achievements in their area of expertise. This award celebrates individuals who are role models to others and who are passionate about engineering. 

Find out more