Accessibility statement

John Stringer
Senior Lecturer



Born in Newcastle, John Stringer studied at Huddersfield and York. As a composer, his work has been performed by ensembles such as the Philharmonia and BBC Symphony Orchestras, Basel Soloists, Corrente Ensemble, Black Hair, New Music Players, de ereprijs, Ensemble 10/10, Apollo Saxophone Quartet and 4Mality Percussion Quartet. As a conductor he has conducted contemporary music ensembles such as Black Hair and the New Music Players as well as groups such as the Philharmonia Orchestra. He has worked with Jonathan Harvey, James Wood, Hanna Kulenty, Richard Ayres, Hans Abrahamsen, Stephen Montague, Robert Saxton and Karlheinz Stockhausen amongst others. His recent works include Disquiet for piano which was premiered in Rome (2008) and Nocturnal (2010) which was premiered at Buffalo University by Rohan da Saram, Pascal Gallois and Magnus Andersson. He is published by the University of York Music Press (UYMP).

Departmental roles

  • Chair of Exceptional Circumstances Committee
  • Performance Supervisor
  • Orchestra Committee
  • Staff Representative for Chimera
  • Percussion Curator



  • Composition
  • Conducting
  • Contemporary performance
  • Birtwistle


Full publications list

View John Stringer's full publications list at the York Research Database.



  • Composition
  • Conducting
  • Birtwistle
  • Mahler
  • Music Post 1945

Dr John Stringer

Contact details

Dr John Stringer
Department of Music
University of York
YO10 5DD

Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4447

External links