Athena Initiative Award

The Athena Initiative Award recognises staff members who have implemented or extended the Athena Swan principles of gender equality in their teaching, administrative tasks and citizenship in the Department.

The winner of the award is decided by the Athena Swan Committee that will review all the submissions. Staff members can nominate other colleagues or themselves for the Award. To nominate someone, please submit, up to one page, outlining the initiative undertaken and provide some evidence (where applicable).

Submissions should be sent to Lisa Webster by 13 May 2019.


The Athena Swan Committee decided to give the inaugural Athena Initiative Award to Dr Claire Smith for her contribution to and leading role in the Athena Swan Bronze Award submission’.