ICNS People

 Contact detailsInterests

Richard Walsh

Richard Walsh
Centre Director 
English and Related Literature

York research database
Academia.edu
Google Scholar

01904 323338
richard.walsh@york.ac.uk 

  • narrative theory
  • fictionality
  • complex systems
  • interactive narrative
  • narrative cognition
  • early film
  • music and narrative
  • graphic narrative
 

Paul Andrews
NarCS 
Computer Science

YCCSA 

01904 325374
paul.andrews@york.ac.uk

  • agent-based simulations of complex systems
  • immunology
  • socio-technical systems
 

Henry Bainton
Fictionality group 
English and Related Literature

Centre for Medieval Studies
York research database 

01904 323912
henry.bainton@york.ac.uk

  • Latin and French literature of the high middle ages
  • historical writing
  • literary and documentary culture
  • performance
 ‌

Mildrid Bjerke
Narrative humanities 
English and Related Literature

mhab500@york.ac.uk

  • literary study guides
  • humanist education and the discipline of English

William Brooks
Narrative humanities 
Music

York research database 

01904 324449
w.f.brooks@york.ac.uk

  • American, popular and experimantal music
  • music and culture
  • music and memory
  • musical theatre and film musicals

Leo Caves
NarCS 
Biology

YCCSA
York research database 

01904 325335
leo.caves@york.ac.uk

  • modelling & simulation of complex systems
  • simulation of complex biosystems
  • emergent properties of artificial chemistries

Peter Cowling
Interactive narrative 
Computer Science

York research database 

01904 325355
peter.cowling@york.ac.uk

  • decisions in games
  • resource optimisation
  • AI in games of hidden information and uncertainty
  • modelling and metaheuristic approaches to real-world scheduling problems

Jason Edwards
NarCS 
History of Art

Centre for Modern Studies
York research database 

01904 324250
jason.edwards@york.ac.uk

  • British sculpture, c. 1769-1940: Global Contexts
  • queer theory, especially Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick
  • animal studies
 

Ziad Elmarsafy
Fictionality group 
English and Related Literature

York research database 

01904 323342
ziad.elmarsafy@york.ac.uk

  • literatures of the Middle East and North Africa (Arabic, French, English)
  • post-colonial literature writ large
  • literature and religion

John Forrester
NarCS 
Stockholm Environment Institute

YCCSA
York research database 

01904 325336
john.forrester@york.ac.uk 

  • How different stakeholders such as citizens, policy actors, and experts perceive environmental social and ecological research science, and how it is communicated between them
franks

Dan Franks
Narcs 
Biology

YCCSA
York research database 

01904 325342
daniel.franks@york.ac.uk

  • computational models of ecology and evolution
  • network analysis
  • animal social networks
  • predator-prey interactions

Daniel Kudenko
Interactive narrative 
Computer Science

York research database 

01904 325679
daniel.kudenko@york.ac.uk

  • machine (reinforcement) learning
  • multi-agent systems
  • user modeling
  • artificial intelligence for games and interactive entertainment

Catherine Laws
Narrative humanities 
Music

York research database 

01904 322453
catherine.laws@york.ac.uk

  • musicologist and pianist
  • contemporary music
  • the relationship between music, language and meaning
  • musicality of the work of Samuel Beckett and composers’ responses to his texts

Nicola McDonald
Fictionality group 
English and Related Literature

Centre for Medieval Studies
York research database
 

01904 323920
nicola.mcdonald@york.ac.uk

  • Middle English popular romance
  • medieval women at play
  • England’s immigrants, 1330-1550
  • Gower and Chaucer
  • manuscript illumination
  • the practice of fiction
  • crossing boundaries
  • the obscene

Emilie Morin
Narrative humanities, Fictionality group
English and Related Literature

York research database 

01904 324219
emilie.morin@york.ac.uk

  • British and Irish modernism
  • 20th-century theatre history
  • radio drama and radio history
  • technology and occultism

Elva Robinson
NarCS 
Biology

YCCSA
York research database 

01904 325338
elva.robinson@york.ac.uk

  • organisation of ant societies, specifically how the simple behavioural rules followed by individual ants interact to produce adaptive colony-level behaviours

Susan Stepney
NarCS 
Computer Science

YCCSA
York research database 

01904 325377
susan.stepney@york.ac.uk

  • Bio-inspired computation
  • Complex dynamical systems and their emergent properties
  • Cellular automata
  • Grand challenge in non-classical computation

Elizabeth Tyler
Fictionality group 
English and Related Literature

Centre for Medieval Studies
York research database 

01904 323915
elizabeth.tyler@york.ac.uk

  • the literary culture of England from the end of the 9th to the 12th century
  • poetry and history-writing in Old English and Latin
  • the intersection of literary study with intellectual, social and political history
 

Geoff Wall
Narrative humanities 
English and Related Literature

York research database 

01904 323334
geoffrey.wall@york.ac.uk

  • Shakespeare
  • Milton
  • Napoleon
  • Flaubert
  • Freud
  • life-writing

Claire Westall
NarCS, Fictionality group, Narrative humanities 
English and Related Literature

Centre for Modern Studies
York research database
 

01904 323350
claire.westall@york.ac.uk

  • legacies of the British Empire
  • postcolonial literature and theory
  • anglophone Caribbean literature and culture
  • literary representations of sport, particularly cricket
  • questions of Englishness
  • English Literature and devolution in Britain

David Zendle
Interactive narrative 
Computer Science

diz500@york.ac.uk

  • trying to reconcile the seemingly terminal differences of perspective between narrative theory and computer theory in the creation of interactive narrative systems

 

General enquiries

Interdisciplinary Centre for Narrative Studies
Humanities Research Centre
Berrick Saul Building
University of York
Heslington
York YO10 5DD
UK

icns-enquiries@york.ac.uk 
Tel: 01904 323338 

Associate members

Associate members are listed under the research themes with which they are involved, as well as in alphabetical order on the associate members page.

Links

For information on associated centres and organizations, see the links page.