Accessibility statement

News

Distance 2020 features in the Eighteenth Century Theory and Interpretation Journal

Wednesday 23 September 2020

The CECS PG Forum committee discusses Distance 2020, online conferences and reimagining the international academic landscape


Distance 2020

Friday 11 September 2020

An International Online Conference in conjunction with the University of Melbourne, 3-14 August 2020. Read the full report!


CFP: CECS Postgraduate Forum

Friday 4 September 2020

Working on a new chapter? Want to improve your presentation skills? Want to workshop your ideas with peers? Then we would love to hear from you!


Congratulations to our academics with Leverhulme Research Fellowships

Monday 17 August 2020

Catriona Kennedy and Jasper Heinzen, CECS and Department of History lecturers, have been awarded Leverhulme Research Fellowships.


Publication news! The Cambridge History of the Gothic

Wednesday 29 July 2020

CECS and Department of English and Related Literature academics Jim Watt and Deborah Russell have contributed chapters to this publication.


Congratulations to our CECS staff with promotions

Tuesday 23 June 2020

The University Senate has approved promotions for five of our CECS colleagues.


Distance Conference 2020

Sunday 7 June 2020

Call for Papers for this CECS International Postgraduate Conference 3-14 August 2020


CECS PG Forum goes online

Wednesday 29 April 2020

All postgraduate students are welcome to join us for a term of events, including seminars, reading groups, William Blake reading group, Palaeography club, creative hours and online socials.


#CANCELLED# Cordial Spirits: Drinking and Sociability in the very long eighteenth century

Thursday 23 January 2020

We regret that this conference has now been cancelled.


J. Paul Hunter Prize winner

Tuesday 22 October 2019

We are delighted that Jenny Buckley (English & CECS PhD student) has won The Defoe Society J. Paul Hunter prize


CALL FOR PAPERS

Thursday 26 September 2019

THE ORGANISERS OF THE CECS POSTGRADUATE FORUM Are excited to announce our CALL FOR PAPERS 2019/2020


By a Lady: Women and Natural History in the Americas, 1650-1830

Tuesday 24 September 2019

Lilian Tabois, English & CECS PhD student, has an online exhibition of her recent WRoCAH placement at the John Carter Brown Library


Publication of Jim Watt's new book

Thursday 12 September 2019

CECS & English academic's book on British Orientalisms, 1759–1835 is now released


Publication of Anna Mercer's new book

Friday 30 August 2019

CECS & English PhD graduate's book on The Collaborative Literary Relationship of Percy Bysshe Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley is now out!


PhD Student's Prize-winning Paper

Thursday 29 August 2019

Congratulations to Alice Rhodes, who was awarded the Lore Metzger Prize for the best graduate student paper at the International Conference on Romanticism in Manchester.


Crusoe at 300 conference report

Monday 19 August 2019

With the words “I was Born in the Year 1632, in the City of York” opening Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe, it was only fitting that as we celebrate the 300th anniversary of this work Crusoe should come home to York.


BBC Radio 4 interview with Helen Cowie

Monday 24 June 2019

Helen Cowie (Senior Lecturer in History & CECS) joins Melvyn Bragg to discuss the South American people who dominated from the Andes to the Pacific coast until the arrival of the Spanish Conquistadors.


Thomas Almeroth-Williams book on the role of animals in Georgian London published

Wednesday 5 June 2019

Research Associates book City of Beasts is now available.


German Historical Society Bursary Winner

Tuesday 4 June 2019

Kurt Baird (History and CECS PhD student) has been awarded a bursary to visit the War Archive in Vienna


Radio 4 interview with CECS Director

Wednesday 8 May 2019

Catriona Kennedy sheds light on the destructive Gordon Riots in a Radio 4 interview.


News Archive