Accessibility statement

Equality & Diversity Group

Membership & Contact

Kevin Cowtan Acting Deputy Chair*
Katherine Manfred Acting Co-Chair*
Leonie Jones Employability & Diversity Officer ex officio and Acting Co-Chair*
Caroline Dessent Head of Department ex officio
David Barrett Department Manager ex officio
Hester de Groot HR Administrator ex officio
Julia Sarju Disability Officer ex officio
David Smith Academic Rep
Avtar Matharu Academic Rep
Derek Wann Academic Rep
Suranjana Bose Technical Staff Rep
(position vacant) Administrative Staff Rep
Mia Shandell PDRA Rep
Aminata Sakho Postgraduate Student Rep
Stuart Smith Postgraduate Student Rep
Bella Byrne Undergraduate Student Rep
Harshita Janjani Undergraduate Student Rep
Abby Stock-Duerdoth Undergraduate Student Rep
Lorna Warnock University Athena SWAN Coordinator

*Between February and May 2022, Leonie Jones ( and Katherine Manfred ( will be acting as co-chairs of EDG.

Equality and diversity enquiries may be directed to the Chair, Deputy Chair, or Employability & Diversity Officer.

Please contact regarding any other queries or agenda items.

Equality & Diversity Group Objectives

  1. To lead on Departmental promotion, celebration and awareness raising of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion issues
  2. To provide an effective forum for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion discussions
  3. To oversee the writing and submission of Athena SWAN award renewals, liaising with the HoD and DMT as appropriate
  4. To advise the HoD and DMT on the contents, implications and implementation of the AS Action Plan
  5. To hold regular meetings as a full committee and working groups to promote Equality, Diversity and Inclusion in the Department
  6. To collate and analyse Equality, Diversity and Inclusion data
  7. To support the work of the Department’s Equality and Diversity officer
  8. Through the chair, to inform and influence directly Departmental management practices to ensure embedding of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion principles
  9. To oversee the Equality and Diversity budget annually
  10. To act as a Beacon Department and promulgate good Equality, Diversity and Inclusion practice outside of the Department
  11. To advise the BoS on issues of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion practices in teaching and support BoS on issues of implementation
  12. Terms of membership will be three years, renewable once for staff members.  Terms of membership will be 2 years for students and PDRAs to encourage wider representation.   There is flexibility to adjust terms by up to twelve months to accommodate deadlines for Athena SWAN submissions and to ensure rolling turnover.

Meeting dates & Minutes

Previous minutes of the E&D Group can be found on the Chemistry Intranet Pages and can be accessed by anyone with a University of York login.